We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel(Exmouth)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Royal Beacon Hotel(Exmouth)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$77
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$91/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
US$117
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$93
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$98
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$80
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$100/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$75
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$609
US$587
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
50
19
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
19
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior twin roombus stoptwo nightstea trayperfect locationcar parkon arrivalrachelhostsseafrontbreakfastwalkableluggage
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2015

Return visit,found everything as good as first time. Warm welcome, warm room,comfy beds, lovely breakfast. Will return on our next visit to Exmouth.. Parking is available at the rear , any problems just ask David and he will advise. The owners are a lovely couple

Room Tip: We like the twin room at the front, although back is quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nmw495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coulson-Lowes, Owner at The Swallows Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2015

Thanks for choosing to stay again with us again, we really appreciate your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2015

We usually stay in buddleigh but every where was full due to the food festival.
I booked the swallows for one night. Our hosts were very welcoming.but parking could of been a problem, as to get through to the spaces was impossible for a larger cars , And the couple of spaces along the wall may not be available. So finding a space on a road nearby in the busy months may be quite difficult.
Our room was very small and small ensuite, but adequate for our 1 nights stay.tea/coffee/milk were plentiful.but oh my goodness the bed and pillows , the springs of the mattress made such a noise even just sitting down on the bed?and the pillows were hard and flat so I knew we were in for a bad nights sleep. On top of that I feel very strongly that guests should chose if we have the heating on or not. We both woke up at 2am very cold, we should NOT have had to get up a put a blanket on the bed?, we don't live like that at home and see no reason why when we pay for a room it should be at the owners choice as to how much heating we get! A thoroughly unpleasant night was had by both of us. Breakfast was good but we have had better for less money. I don't believe that £85 for a poor nights sleep was value.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bettyboo737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coulson-Lowes, Owner at The Swallows Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2015

Many thanks for your review and feedback. We're sorry that there were some issues with your stay and will use your comments to continue to improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2014

Suited our requirements perfectly as we only wanted to stay overnight, somewhere nice and close to the sea.

Great location. Bedroom we stayed in clean and cosy. Best bit was the breakfast which was brilliant. Best reason to stay here!

Our hosts were very nice and accommodating.

There is parking round the back, which is useful but be warned it is a bit of a squeeze so if you have a people carrier not sure it would fit! Fine for me though. And there's only 3 rooms available so not one for big groups.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coulson-Lowes, Owner at The Swallows Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2014

Many thanks for you your feedback, it's great to hear you enjoyed your stay. It's worth noting that in addition to the private, secure parking at the back of the B&B, we also have off-street parking available for any guests with larger cars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 23 October 2014 via mobile

David and Rachel are excellent hosts the room that I had for my stay was superbly appointed with all that you could need. Breakfast was outstanding and the friendly welcome unsurpassed. Truly an enjoyable stay I shall definitely return it's just a matter of when. Great value for money

The Major

Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coulson-Lowes, Owner at The Swallows Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2014

We really appreciate your feedback, it's always nice to know we've helped someone enjoy their holiday. Hope to see you again soon. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2014

We have just returned from a short break at The Swallows in Exmouth. It was a lovely place with a very welcoming feel given by David and Rachel the landlords. The B&B is comfortable and spotlessly clean with a very nice breakfast. The location is excellent and its only a few minutes walk from the seafront or the town centre so we were able to ditch the car(The Swallows have a free carpark) and walk everywhere. Plenty going on in the town and lovely walks along this fantastic coastline, even had a whole day of sunshine! Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janecetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coulson-Lowes, Owner at The Swallows Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Many thanks for such a lovely review. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews