We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Swallows Guest House
Ranked #2 of 20 Exmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 May 2015

Visiting this b+b was a delight. The welcome was warmand friendly. The room was perfect for us. Plenty of tea and coffee in the room with the choice of fresh milk, fab.
We both had a great sleep.
Breakfast was the best i have had away in years with the benefit of locally sourced ingredients.
This place is well worth visiting.
Thanks for the stay.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coulson-Lowes, Owner at The Swallows Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2015

Many thanks for your review James, it's always nice to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2015

We stayed for one night on 8th May and we were greeted with a warm and friendly welcome from David and Rachel the owners. They had lots of information on the area to hand in the dining room, including maps and books. Our room was spotless, warm and cosy. We had a lovely tea tray and a very comfortable bed. The breakfast was great, all local products and plenty of it. It was just a short walk down to the sea front. The town has plenty of restaurants and cafes to choose from and a lovely flat promenade. We would definately recommend this bed and breakfast to our friends and family. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travelferm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coulson-Lowes, Owner at The Swallows Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2015

We really appreciate your review - hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2015

We had a lovely weekend away at The Swallows. The breakfast was very nice. It's just a 5 minute walk to the beach so a very good location to visit Exmouth and the surrounding area. The owners were very attentive and happy to offer advice for best places to eat or places to visit.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank green5762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coulson-Lowes, Owner at The Swallows Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2015

We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the information we provided about local services was useful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2015

Return visit,found everything as good as first time. Warm welcome, warm room,comfy beds, lovely breakfast. Will return on our next visit to Exmouth.. Parking is available at the rear , any problems just ask David and he will advise. The owners are a lovely couple

Room Tip: We like the twin room at the front, although back is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nmw495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coulson-Lowes, Owner at The Swallows Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2015

Thanks for choosing to stay again with us again, we really appreciate your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2015

We usually stay in buddleigh but every where was full due to the food festival.
I booked the swallows for one night. Our hosts were very welcoming.but parking could of been a problem, as to get through to the spaces was impossible for a larger cars , And the couple of spaces along the wall may not be available. So finding a space on a road nearby in the busy months may be quite difficult.
Our room was very small and small ensuite, but adequate for our 1 nights stay.tea/coffee/milk were plentiful.but oh my goodness the bed and pillows , the springs of the mattress made such a noise even just sitting down on the bed?and the pillows were hard and flat so I knew we were in for a bad nights sleep. On top of that I feel very strongly that guests should chose if we have the heating on or not. We both woke up at 2am very cold, we should NOT have had to get up a put a blanket on the bed?, we don't live like that at home and see no reason why when we pay for a room it should be at the owners choice as to how much heating we get! A thoroughly unpleasant night was had by both of us. Breakfast was good but we have had better for less money. I don't believe that £85 for a poor nights sleep was value.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bettyboo737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coulson-Lowes, Owner at The Swallows Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2015

Many thanks for your review and feedback. We're sorry that there were some issues with your stay and will use your comments to continue to improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
1.6 km away
Rohaven Guest House
Rohaven Guest House
#1 of 20 in Exmouth
183 reviews
0.9 km away
Ash Hotel
Ash Hotel
#15 of 20 in Exmouth
123 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.4 km away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
201 reviews
0.5 km away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swallows Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swallows Guest House

Address: 11 Carlton Hill, Exmouth EX8 2AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Exmouth
Price Range: RM 425 - RM 569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swallows Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Late Georgian Bed and Breakfast in a secluded part of Exmouth, Devon. Four minutes from a glorious sandy beach and great places to eat.Enjoy the summer sunshine on Exmouth beach, coastal walking, cycling, bird watching or see your son pass out and receive his Royal Marine green beret, you can be sure of a warm, friendly stay at The Swallows B&B. We also make an excellent base to explore Exeter, the Exe valley, coastal East Devon, Woodbury Common, National Trust properties and the many award winning Devon vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Swallows Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swallows Guest House Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing