We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, comfortable & excellent breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Swallows Guest House
Ranked #3 of 20 Exmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 August 2015

This is a great place to stay in Exmouth. Rachel and David are great hosts, very friendly. The room was very clean and was serviced by them each day of our stay. A welcome touch was the provision of bottled water each day.
The guest house is in a great position, being 3minutes walk to the seafront and just ten minutes from the town centre with it's restaurants, pubs and shops.
Breakfasts are excellent, with a good selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurts and David's superb cooked full English.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank banburybadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coulson-Lowes, Owner at The Swallows Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2015

Many thanks for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2015

The location to the seafront was very good 3 or 4 minutes walk. The accomodation was very clean and fresh looking and although the room was not large it was comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities and toilitries provided in the bathroom. The dining room was bright and airy and the breakfasts were very good with a good choice of full english and cereals,fruit,yougurts croisants and toast. All dietary needs were met. David and Rachel made us feel very welcome,nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms available,if you like a large room the superior twin at the front would be mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coulson-Lowes, Owner at The Swallows Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2015

Many thanks for your review, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay and your tip about room 2 - our superior suite, is often used by returning guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2015

Visiting this b+b was a delight. The welcome was warmand friendly. The room was perfect for us. Plenty of tea and coffee in the room with the choice of fresh milk, fab.
We both had a great sleep.
Breakfast was the best i have had away in years with the benefit of locally sourced ingredients.
This place is well worth visiting.
Thanks for the stay.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coulson-Lowes, Owner at The Swallows Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2015

Many thanks for your review James, it's always nice to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2015

We stayed for one night on 8th May and we were greeted with a warm and friendly welcome from David and Rachel the owners. They had lots of information on the area to hand in the dining room, including maps and books. Our room was spotless, warm and cosy. We had a lovely tea tray and a very comfortable bed. The breakfast was great, all local products and plenty of it. It was just a short walk down to the sea front. The town has plenty of restaurants and cafes to choose from and a lovely flat promenade. We would definately recommend this bed and breakfast to our friends and family. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travelferm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coulson-Lowes, Owner at The Swallows Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2015

We really appreciate your review - hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2015

We had a lovely weekend away at The Swallows. The breakfast was very nice. It's just a 5 minute walk to the beach so a very good location to visit Exmouth and the surrounding area. The owners were very attentive and happy to offer advice for best places to eat or places to visit.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank green5762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coulson-Lowes, Owner at The Swallows Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2015

We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the information we provided about local services was useful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
1.6 km away
Rohaven Guest House
Rohaven Guest House
#1 of 20 in Exmouth
183 reviews
0.9 km away
Ash Hotel
Ash Hotel
#15 of 20 in Exmouth
123 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.4 km away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
201 reviews
0.5 km away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swallows Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swallows Guest House

Address: 11 Carlton Hill, Exmouth EX8 2AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Exmouth
Price Range: RM 427 - RM 572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swallows Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Late Georgian Bed and Breakfast in a secluded part of Exmouth, Devon. Four minutes from a glorious sandy beach and great places to eat.Enjoy the summer sunshine on Exmouth beach, coastal walking, cycling, bird watching or see your son pass out and receive his Royal Marine green beret, you can be sure of a warm, friendly stay at The Swallows B&B. We also make an excellent base to explore Exeter, the Exe valley, coastal East Devon, Woodbury Common, National Trust properties and the many award winning Devon vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Swallows Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swallows Guest House Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing