We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (553)
Filter reviews
553 results
Traveller rating
128
224
138
35
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
128
224
138
35
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea front shearings coach holiday sea view self drive shearings bay sister hotel premier room shearings hotels weekend break three courses refurbished room single room coach driver waitress service course evening meal small lift the ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 553 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

Only 1.5 hrs from home so no lengthy journey. Hotel situated in a convenient spot so places within walking distance into town through the park. It was traditions day with great entertainment in the centre. Easy access to Sidmouth and Budleigh Salterton plus other nearby places to visit. Friendly, clean hotel but basic as the only toiletries is a mini bar of soap. We had a ground floor room. No view but it was vast with a walk in shower. Very comfortable beds. The food was OK for the price you pay. Not a lot of choice but adequate. Entertainment of course Bingo, Quiz, and singer. There are other lounges to escape too if you wish. All in all a no frills hotel typical of Shearings. No complaints as it did what it said on the tin.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank TuppenceHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Thank you for your review.
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

nice 4 day break lovely food 1st class service fantastic driver brian very calm along some narrow roads.incredible value for money dont know how they do it for the money
world of country life and sidmouth

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Esther B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Thank you for your review.
Glad you enjoyed your stay and found it great value for money.
Hope to see you again sometime.

Regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Brilliant food was served by foreign waitresses - hotel position/company was great . Lovely short walks to centre of Exmouth through the park or along the sea front - Marina in other direction just a short walk long the front

Room Tip: We booked through Shearings
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumdadjustine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Thank you for your review.
The hotel is in a great location. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

The public rooms were very airy and nicely decorated. They are in the process of refurbishing bedrooms but we found our room was quite adequate for a weekend. The thing that lets them down is the restaurant. The food portions are very small. Apart from that the hotel staff were friendly and helpful, and the best bit is that the hotel is overlooking the beach. a good weekend.

Stayed: May 2018
1  Thank mumanddaughter2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thank you for your review.
I will pass on your comments to the rest of the Team.
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Stayed Friday to Monday 11Th May. Had A Twin Room. nice size, plenty of room, Very clean and tidy, good sized bathroom and shower. Clean all around the hotel and staff very pleasant , Vali the table waiter very good. 2 comfortable lounges and an entertainment room with entertainment all week end.
Why I say Disappointing This was with the Evening Meal on the Friday and Saturday Nights. They were bland and lacked flavor, i think some of the veg was frozen , the Sunday Night was excellent as was also the Breakfasts. This is our second foray at a Bay Hotel the first at Valley Of Rocks in north Devon, were the food their was much more flavorsome and wholesome and they prided themselves on trying to use Local Produce.
Overall Had A Good Break

Stayed: May 2018
Thank djsarichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thank you for your review.
Sorry to hear you were not happy with the food, we do our best to ensure we provide a great service to our guests.
We do like to hear all comments good or bad because this enables us to improve, once again thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews