We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing and Beautiful”
other travellers have booked this property
Windover Farm Cottage, with ample gravelled parking area and wooden gates to the rear of the cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Windover Farm Cottage, with ample gravelled parking area and wooden gates to the rear of the cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Windover Farm Cottage, with ample gravelled parking area and wooden gates to the rear of the cottage
the comfy sitting room with inglenook and woodburner
view from the front door
I am very keen on cooking and therefore you'll find a well equipped and practical kitchen in the cot
wellies by the back door
pigs at Windovers
Beer beach around 30 minutes drive from the cottage
you are welcome to look after the hens collect their eggs and enjoy eating them (the eggs, that is)
are whole area is great for walking and enjoying the countryside - walking books and maps are suppli
Rush hour!
views across the farmland to Dunkeswell Abbey
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hemyock, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Sarah C
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Relaxing and Beautiful”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A lovely place in the country. We stayed for two weeks (myself, my husband and our two sons aged 6 and 7). The cottage has everything you need and more. Sarah and her family were very helpful but non obtrusive. Our online grocery delivery was unpacked and ready for us when we arrived as was a delicious victoria sponge cake. The cottage is more spacious than the photos depict and so a two week stay was a delight.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neal P
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A fantastic holiday cottage, with everything you could wish for including a excellent array of toys for the kids. The extra treats on arrival make any long journey memories disappear. The adoption of the chicken was a holiday memory our children will always have as is laying in bed listening to a horse clip clopping down the lane in front of the house.The owners are friendly and there to answer your questions but not over whelming. If you want a holiday set in the Devon countryside this is the place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home from home feeling
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel897
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab..Fab....Fab”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A fantastic cottage in a wonderful setting.The cottage itself holds everything you could possibly need.We went with a ten year old and a fourteen year old and they loved it.The garden was large and spacious - ideal for football and we all enjoyed the daily eggs from the chickens.All in all I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone who wanted a relaxing,peaceful holiday with a touch of the 'Good life'.The Machen family's advice on farming and days out was very helpful too.Fantastic house,plenty to see in the area ,- lots of helpful brochures within the cottage.Can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large garden for the children
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daisyflow...
derbyshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful cottage in an idyllic location”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Beautiful cottage fully equipped with all you could possibly need. Sarah and her family make you most welcome and are always there should you need anything and there is gorgeous cake and sausages to welcome you on arrival.

The cottage is situated in the most idyllic location, perfect to get away from the hassle and bustle of daily life and relax in peace with beautiful views of the countryside although only about a 20 minute drive to the nearest seaside town of Beer and about 40 minutes from Lyme Regis.

It is close to the pretty town of Honiton and you must ask Sarah or Saemus for directions to Otter Vally Dairy where you can get the best ice cream outside of Italy.

We would highly recommend this cottage to anyone looking for a peaceful getaway, we return each year for a rest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelH73...
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A magical country cottage that won't disappoint”
Reviewed 2 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Having read the reviews and viewed the website we made a last minute booking to stay over New Year. The process was simple and the confirmation email contained useful info and easy to follow directions. The cottage more than met our expectations and the photographs really don't do it justice. We arrived on a frosty day to find the log burner laid, the Christmas Tree still decorated, home produced eggs and sausages in the fridge and the most scrummy cake waiting to be devoured. The owner, Sarah,was warm and welcoming, attentive without being intrusive. The girls adored having their own chickens to care for, as well as making friends with the two pigs, ducks and geese. The birds on the feeders were plentiful this time of year and our id skills have improved greatly following numerous games of " bird bingo"! When we did manage to persuade the girls to come inside there were plenty of toys, books and DVD 's to entertain them. We did find a DVD was missing from it's case, this was mentioned to Sarah and a replacement appeared by the end of the day. All this activity meant that the girls slept like logs, allowing us some much appreciated grown up time. We treated ourselves to a great takeaway curry, delivered by the nearby Viceroy. We also ventured into nearby Hemyock for dinner at the Catherine Wheel, also very good. We could happily have spent all our time in the immediate vicinity but we made the half hour car journey to Sidmouth and the nearby Donkey Sanctuary which the girls loved.
All in all we had a magical, memorable holiday and can't wait to visit again to experience Windover in the summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was just the perfect retreat
Liked least: Would like to have stayed longer
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing