We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service for late arrivals”
Review of Commodore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Instow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Commodore Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Instow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 February 2012

A colleague and I were working at a site in Bideford and were recommended this hotel (there were rumours of a discount if you said where you were working!). We duly arrived at 9.20pm having had a long and tiring (but ultimately successful) day and realising belatedly that our options for eating had dwindled (the hotel restaurant only takes orders up to 9pm).

However, with no prompting, the Reception Manager offered to get us food from the bar menu - a limited range, but we were tired and hungry so were very grateful.

I should also mention that the location is stunning - on the estuary. A pity we were only there for the night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the estuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 269 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2012

I have used the resturant on many ocassions, so it must be good. Relatives have stayed there time and time again, so that must be good. I have booked parties there - always successful.
A fine hotel in a superb location. The staff also show the best example of local hospitality!

Room Tip: Book very, very early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3akwasi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I stayed with a group of work colleagues as we had a meeting in Bideford the following day. Good welcome to the hotel but a bit chaotic at check in. I had room 5 which had a small balcony over looking the beach and over to Appledore which I'm sure would be lovely in summer. Unfortunately we arrived and left in the dark. Room had plenty of space and had 2 armchairs tv etc. Bathroom was on the small side and was carpeted which I personally don't like but was clean, crack in the washbasin but to be honest I think the rooms were decorated in the late 80's in terms of decorative style. Well maintained generally though apart from that point.

We did not have dinner in the hotel and ate in The Boathouse which is just along the beach and is very good. There seemed to be a number of guests in the dining room however.

Breakfast the following day started at 7.30 but as we needed to leave at 7.45 they started early for us and provided a cooked breakfast which was very good.

All in all a comfortable hotel a touch on the old fashioned side which may suit its usual customer base but a lovely location which I am sure is beautiful in the summer.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lozza70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stayed 4days at this lovely hotel in North Devon with friends. Gary and James always on hand to welcome guests. Good Food and lovely atmosphere. All guests say they really love it here. Carry on the good work!!
Many thanks from Gord Heather Sandra and John domino experts!!

Room Tip: Go for front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

For a start, it always amazes me when a hotel does not take Amex, but they do not. (It is their perogative). The position and views - lovely. Staff - ok - but lacking personality or charm. Hotel - clean but a little bland. Room - (14) - Tiny - fine for 1 but cramped for 2. Food at dinner and breakfast - very good, especially the Turbot. Drinks prices very reasonable. Silly things - the place seems to be set up to do things in 1 way only and lacks flexibility. Such as: No offer of help with our bags; a tepid welcome; no afternoon tea on offer - juist tea and biscuits; staff almost invisible; bar closed at 10.50pm when we had a small private dinner and would have spent a lot more at the bar; breakfast things laid out when we were having dinner. Staff who were more interested in their own conversations than in their guests. It felt like it was being run on a "to-do" list basis, rather than with any feel for real "hospitality". It just lacks personality and feels bland which is sad as it is in a superb position with commanding views across to Appledore. It would take very little to make a big difference - a focus on guests and their needs would be a place to start, rather than the list of things that have to be done.

Room Tip: Avoid room 14 if you are a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bazzer_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Instow
3.0 km away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
749 reviews
2.7 km away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
514 reviews
4.3 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bideford
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
418 reviews
7.8 km away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,822 reviews
3.4 km away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bideford
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Address: Marine Parade, Instow, Bideford EX39 4JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford > Instow
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Instow
Hotel Class:3 star — Commodore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Instow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing