We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Christmas with friends”
other travellers have booked this property
Hand Built Kitchen And Stove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hand Built Kitchen And Stove
Second Dining Room with Fireplace Main Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Hand Built Kitchen And Stove
Second Dining Room with Fireplace
Main Living Room
Living Room Leading On To Patio
Dining Room One/Snug And Stove
Dining Room One/Snug
Double Bedroom Two
Double Bedroom Two
Twin Bedroom Three
Bunk Bed Room Four
Family Bathroom
Master Bedroom One
Master Bedroom One Looking Out Onto The Garden
Master Bedroom One En-Suite
Annexe Bedroom Five
Rosemary Cottage Front Elevation
View From The Garden Across To The Village Cricket Pitch In The Distance
View From The Master Bedroom Across The Gardens
View Up To The Rear Elevation Of Cottage From The Cottage From The Garden
View Down The Gardens
The Pergola - Perfect For Contemplation Time!
View Down The Garden Through The Lilac Tree
View Of The Patio From The Kitchen, Leading Out To The Gardens
Part Of The Annexe
View Of The Gardens From The Master Bedroom
View Across The Gardens To The Ancient Village Church
Garden In July 2016
Back garden looking up to the main house - July 2016
Patio Area - July 2016
Jasmine Clad Summer House In The Back Garden - July 2016
View From The Master Bedroom - July 2016
View Of The Village Church From The Back Garden - July 2016
View Up To The Main House From The Back Garden - July 2016
Main Patio - July 2016
Back Garden - July 2016
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Instow, Bideford, Torridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Amanda W
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Christmas with friends”
Reviewed 2 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We rented the cottage for the Christmas period. There were 9 of us in total and we all thoroughly enjoyed the cottage. It was very well presented, clean and comfortable. The owners were fantastic and responded to any questions we had within the hour. We had fun walking into Instow along the estuary path and spent boxing day on the beach at westward Ho! Which is 10 mins away. We all had a fantastic time and were sorry to leave the cottage. We would all thoroughly recommend this cottage to friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2016
Thanks so much for your wonderful review. We try very hard to make Rosemary Cottage the very best destination we can and to be as responsive and honest as possible when responding to questions. We truly appreciate your kind words and you are welcome back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann D
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely family holiday”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Cottage was in lovely peaceful surroundings, very clean but a few areas in need of attention handrail and stair gate on stairs as very steep and narrow carpets in need of cleaning or replacing with something more serviceable Lovely patio area and garden if these areas were sorted would love to stay again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable peaceful and clean
Liked least: Stairs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2015
Thank you for your valued feedback. Unfortunately the carpets got trashed this Summer due to all of the wet weather we've had. In fact they are only 2 years old so we have decided to replace them all with oak floors this Winter once the season is over. The handrail is a no no unfortunately due to health & safety guidelines because the installation would make the stairwell too narrow. Thanks & we hope to see you again.
Tony & Andrea.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic B
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage, great kitchen and nice touches”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at rosemary cottage with my daughter and one grandma. There was ample space for all and a great kitchen, which lead to regular 'home cooking'. Nice to have private parking in a location which had a lot of local places to visit, especially for the little one.

Everything was clean and well prepared for our arrival, despite it being a very late booking. Nice to have some extra kids toys and buckets and spades. A lovely 3 stage garden/patio for evening alfresco dining/drinking. Tony was helpful and there were nice guides at the cottage.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write us a lovely review. We built the garden and kitchen originally specifically for our own children when they were little, so that there were no big drops, it was safely enclosed & we could see them at all times. We are so glad you had a nice time with us & we hope to welcome you back again.
Best wishes
Tony & Andrea.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dollyod
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely house, beautiful location”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a lovely stay. The house was well equipped and the perfect size for 5 adults , 3 children and dog ! The annexe was a perfect retreat for the grandparents to escape and the location was great.
Instow is a lovely village with friendly locals and a great dog friendly beach. The deli in Instow was a big hit as were the locally made Hockings ice creams.
The information pack left by the householders was really useful and the personal touch helped us greatly in deciding where to go . The owners couldn't have been more helpful. We all loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: We didn't really use the dining room
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2015
We are so pleased you had a lovely time & enjoyed staying at Rosemary Cottage. John's Deli can be a godsend if you just need that bottle of milk or loaf of bread on a Sunday morning & cant be bothered to queue/drive to Tesco's. They also do fantastic rolls if you want to grab a bite to eat on the beach. Totally with you on Hockings ice cream, which you can even buy in big tubs now! You are very welcome back any time. Best wishes.
Tony & Andrea.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George651
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent for Large Family”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Rented Rosemary Cottage for a week in August for 6 adults, two small children and dog. This was an ideal cottage for this size of group as there were enough bedrooms for all of us, with the grandparents using the separate annex. Kitchen was very well equipped and the dining and sitting rooms big enough for all. Outside patio is enclosed and equipped with barbecue, table and chairs and when the weather permitted we sat outside to eat. Additionally there is an enclosed garden with lawns and shrubs which was very pleasant with lovely views. We liked the short walk to the local pub and enjoyed the food and drink and friendly atmosphere. In the locality the beach at Instow is great for children. We used the bus service from the main road to go to Westward Ho! (short journey) as the parking there is difficult

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space, safety and location
Liked least: As previously mentioned, cream carpets showed marks.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for the lovely review - we are delighted you had a super stay with us at Rosemary Cottage. We are really lucky to be in such a wonderfully quintessential Devon village so close to the great beaches, but far enough away to enjoy the peace of the Devon countryside! You are welcome back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing