We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon delight”
Review of Stokeley Cafe

Stokeley Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Stokeley has everything you would expect from a country farm shop, a deli, butchery, restaurant cafe & plant centre. In addition we stock everyday groceries and a wide selection of alcohol, including beer from our own brewery. At Stokeley Café we are busy cooking up some exciting new dishes for the season ahead, taking full advantage of all the fantastic produce we have available here at Stokeley Farm Shop to create a menu that is full of great taste and offers excellent value. Come along and meet Phil and the crew, who look forward to serving you breakfast lunch and afternoon tea - whatever time you come, you can be sure of a warm Stokeley welcome.
Reviewed 30 July 2016

Came to idyllic Stokeley Barton about 18 years ago for our first of many holidays with the children to pick our own plums and strawberries on the hillside overlooking Start Bay.

Sadly, we're now empty nesters and this return visit revealed great strides in the cafe menu and bakery but the garden centre has shrunk and PYO seems to have disappeared altogether.

In its place, there's now a much bigger farm shop with sizeable deli, butchery and food market as well as microbrewery and, much to our delight, extremely clean toilets.

Adam served us the all day Stokeley cream tea (£3.60) which comprised excellent home baked, warm scone with good quality strawberry jam and local clotted cream. A decent pot of tea hit the spot too.

Thanks for cheering us up, mate. We enjoyed the banter but missed our plums and strawberries.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank utterlybutters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate H, General Manager at Stokeley Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Thank you for your review - wow I bet you really did see some changes from the first time you visited. The shop has certainly evolved and so glad you enjoyed your cream tea with us, the scones from the Bakehouse in Salcombe are freshly delivered daily and really hit the spot!
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Stokeley Cafe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2016

Sat in the lovely outside area, glad of the shade they have provided in the recent hot sun. They make an excellent coffee and we enjoyed the high quality burgers, one from local sourced beef and the other grilled chicken breast. The skinny chips are highly recommended. Then we could browse the farmshop and source local cheeses and bread for supper. Staff are lovely and friendly and it's good to see the local craft brewery on site.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gaggie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate H, General Manager at Stokeley Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Thank you for your review - we're glad you could enjoy the local produce we have at the farm. We're really lucky to work with some fantastic local producers and of course our very own brewery too.
We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Excellent coffee, lovely outside area, well stocked deli with helpful staff.

I returned to this place several times during my trip

Thank Sunkissed089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate H, General Manager at Stokeley Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

We're really glad you enjoyed your time with us during your trip and would love to welcome you again when you are next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

This is a lovely farmshop and café. The café has improved immensely from recent times and both the staff and food are a simply delightful. We love to go all year round - in winter the breakfasts are delicious and set us up for the day!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate H, General Manager at Stokeley Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Thank you for your kind review - I must agree the breakfasts do really set you up for the day - Phil and the team certainly know what they're doing!
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

we called in here a couple of times for a cooked breakfast while we were in the area and I can honestly say it was the best of the options we tried including the trendy place in Dartmouth by the lower ferry where people are happy to queue in the road for a table and the cafe at Blackpool sands neither of which were as good as this. Our meals were freshly prepared and served on a hot plate( others mentioned take note) and it was nicely presented with a friendly smile with trained staff.Plus they trusted their customers to pay on leaving rather than up front which we always appreciate.Why would you want to pay for something you hadn't seen it isn't ebay? The garden centre itself is a bit tired and the plants have all seen better days and there is an overdose of those ubiquitous wooden ducks for sale which have had their moment of glory and for some reason an old toilet on display as you go in but other than that its a winner.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ALF P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate H, General Manager at Stokeley Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Thank you very much for your review - we're glad you enjoyed your breakfast experience and hope to welcome you again soon.
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stokeley Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Stokeley Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing