We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arundell Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
hampshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed at The Arundell Arms as part of a Travelzoo deal which was for a one night stay with breakfast and dinner. The deal was incredible value for money. The hotel was warm, welcoming, spotlessly clean and extremely well run. The meal was unforgettable, beautifully presented and cooked. The whole experience was outstanding. The bedroom was comfortable, it could have been bigger, but after all we were on a special deal. If we go again I think we would have preferred to pay extra for a larger room. But the whole experience was extremely enjoyable and we would highly recommend the place.

Room Tip: As for a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birdwatcherhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foxy1307, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
I really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and meal with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    129
    29
    11
    7
See reviews for
54
289
11
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salcombe
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I was lucky enough to stay recently at the Arundell Arms. Staff very welcoming, hotel very comfortable and relaxing. Spotlessly clean. Our evening meal was out of this world - the best I have ever had tasted. Would love to stay again. Thoroughly recommend it.

Lesley B

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Welcoming and efficient staff but perhaps because it was a Wednesday the hotel and restaurant seemed to lack any atmosphere.
A great place to go if you don't want to be contacted on your mobile as the phone signal is very poor.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBagCarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bickington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We paid £149 for a pakage offered via Travelzoo - overnight stay, pre-dinner champagne, 5 course tasting dinner, free bottle of house wine and breakfast (said to be worth £340+).
We booked 2 months beforehand. On arrival we were shown to a TINY room with no character, colour or charm. When we expressed our disappointment, we were told there were no other doubles available (we were shown 2 twin rooms which were equally unattractive, although slightly bigger).
As the trip was a birthday celebration for my wife, we decided not to stay in such a depressing room and drove home.
In subsequent conversations with the hotel owner, he was unwilling to give us a full refund but said, IF WE PAID AGAIN, we would be given a better room next time!! I eventually accepted, with reluctance, his best offer of a £50 refund.
MY ADVICE? DON'T PAY FOR A STAY AT THIS HOTEL UNTIL YOU HAVE SEEN YOUR ROOM. THE BEDROOM PHOTOS IN THE WEBSITE GROSSLY MISREPRESENT MANY OF THE ROOMS IN USE AND THE ATTITUDE OF THE OWNER IN REFUSING US A REASONABLE REFUND SMACKS OF SHARP PRACTICE.

Room Tip: As stated above, do not pay until you have been allocated a room you are happy with. If not, you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maurice020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foxy1307, Owner at Arundell Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
You have neither stayed or eaten at the hotel nor indeed have even been into the main part of the hotel.

You only saw the car park, Reception and 2 of the 3 rooms that you were offered and yet posted this review as a guide to others as though it accurately reflects the standards of the hotel.

Your post is inaccurate in that your booking was 2 weeks prior not 2 months as you claim. The Travelzoo offer was only launched in mid February.

When you booked, we were already busy on the Saturday you requested. You took the last and only double room available.

Your room, although our smallest double, is to AA 3 Star standard and has a garden view, new carpets, new digital TV, free WiFi and a newly refurbished bathroom. You were offered alternative twin rooms but you left after just seeing one of them and before you could be shown a third.

You were abrupt with our staff and within 2 hours of your departure you called, demanded a refund and threatened a bad review on TripAdvisor unless we did so.

Although in breach of our 48 hour cancellation policy, we offered you a complimentary upgrade to our best room and a 100% rebate of your charge towards another stay or £50 as a goodwill gesture as an alternative.

Value is of course subjective but a double room with breakfast, 2 glasses of Premier Cru champagne, a 5 course dinner for two in an AA 2 rosette restaurant and a bottle of wine for a total of £149 would seem good value to most, yet you scored us 1/5.

I am saddened that you were able to enjoy the Arundell Arms on this occasion. This Travelzoo offer has been a big success and all feedback that we have had from those who have experienced it has been positive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2012

What a fabulous place! The chef is utterly genius - the food we feasted on was amongst the best I have ever tasted. Everything was superbly done, locally sourced and homemade. It was wonderful to have a three course dinner without feeling overly full at the end - not an easy feat, but such a treat.

The staff were friendly, smiley and welcoming - they couldn't have done more to assist us. The rooms were clean, and cosy; they didn't feel too "hotelish", which was lovely.

I would go back tomorrow and live there, but fear for my waistline if I did!!

Room Tip: If you are tall, the best option is to upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lifton
0.4 km away
Lifton Hall Hotel
Lifton Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
7.3 km away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
32.9 km away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.2 km away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
13.1 km away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
39.8 km away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arundell Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arundell Arms Hotel

Property: Arundell Arms Hotel
Address: 1 Fore Street, Lifton PL16 0AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Lifton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Price range (per night): RM611 - RM1,098
Hotel Class:3 star — Arundell Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Arundell Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arundell Arms Lifton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing