We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Need a break? You can't do better than this.....”
other travellers have booked this property
Our 33ft indoor pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our 33ft indoor pool
The Smithy lounge View from the Smithy garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Our 33ft indoor pool
The Smithy lounge
View from the Smithy garden
The Smithy conservatory
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom 1
Twin bedroom 2
On-site sauna
Our play area & 12ft trampoline
The Smithy
Feeding the chickens
Our neighbours
The Smithy garden
Our fitness room
Floorplan of the Smithy
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tiverton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pam P
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Need a break? You can't do better than this.....”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed in The Smithy at Three Gates Farm for one precious week. If only we could have stayed longer! The Cottage itself was very clean and comfortable with plenty of space for 6 of us. The amenities were fabulous for 3 adults and 3 children. Many very competitive games of badminton, table tennis and table football played and many happy hours in the lovely indoor swimming pool. Then of course you have the amazing surrounding views and walks to be had from the farm. We didn't need to drive anywhere really-it was all on the doorstep. And finally, our hosts - Lynn and Jonathan, such a nice couple who were always on hand if needed. The younger children enjoyed feeding the chickens and had a great time, coming back with an egg each. They were so thrilled. We'd ordered a supermarket delivery for our arrival and so didn't need to shop at all during our week. There is plenty of freezer and fridge space, which is a bonus. A Big thank you to Lynn and Jonathan-we hope to see you again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The indoor swimming pool
Liked least: Leaving to come home!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R
Manacor, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Three Gates Farm has 5 holiday cottages all grouped around around the owner's cottage. The owners Jonathan and Lynne will greet you on arrival and show you around. And they welcome everybody with a cream tea in your cottage (scones and clotted cream).
We were 4 adults and 5 children and used three bedrooms each having its own en-suite bathroom. Outside there are splendid views of the Devon landscape, and toys for the children (trampoline, see saw, swings, table tennis, snooker table, and a superb indoor swimming pool.
There are also chickens (you can buy the eggs), and cows in the neighbouring fields.
We had a very enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The swimming Pool
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calhoneyb...
South Wales
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Superb! Highly Recommended!”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Stayed at The Smithy. Spotlessly clean, probably the cleanest cottage we have stayed in! Cream tea on arrival was a lovely touch, as were the towels for the dog! Well equipped cottage, everything we needed we found there, and more! Great enclosed garden with stunning countryside views, ideal for sitting out & for the dog! Cosy log burner. Swimming pool on site was clean, warm, & had a box of inflatable toys, floats etc available. Great Sauna. Nice Gym, only looked at it, didnt use it! Outdoor table tennis was great fun! Also pool table available. Nice childrens play area, & pond with ducks, chickens, rabbits etc. Only 5 cottages in the complex, so still felt quiet & peaceful. Greeted on arrival by owner Lynne, great host, nothing was too much trouble. Narrow lanes but not much traffic, so not a problem. Couldnt find any faults at all, would recommend to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness of the cottage and the pool
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A. D
1 review
“Splendid week with the family”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

With a family of six we have spent a fantastic week at the Three Gates Farm (in the Smithy). Our hosts Jonathan & Lynn were very kind and helpful. The cottage was clean, spacious and convenient with three bed and bath rooms. The kids loved the swimming pool, the pool table and the farm animals. We have explored the Exmoor National Park, which is within 30 minutes driving with superb views and walks.

Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire...
Wiltshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation”
Reviewed 6 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We spent 4 nights at Three Gates Farm and can thoroughly recommend
it. We stayed in "The Smithy" which was warm, cosy and spotlessly clean. Its 3 bedrooms all have ensuites. The kitchen is well equipped and the tv lounge is of a good size. The on site large indoor swimming pool was lovely. Three Gates is in a superb quiet location with lovely views over the surrounding countryside. We hope to return later this year.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$187
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing