We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maltsters Arm (and leg of lamb)”
Review of The Maltsters Arms

The Maltsters Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Tuckenhay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$65
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Riverside Devonshire Pub/Restaurant and B&B. Located alongside the river dart the Maltsters is the perfect location for you to moor your boat alongside to enjoy some delicious food with fantastic views. Great selection of wines, ales and anything else you fancy!
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed the Sunday roast at this riverside pub. The lamb and vegetables were splendid. Disappointingly the beef was not quite up to expectations. Service very polite and attentive, and deserts delicious and nicely presented- especially the sticky toffee pudding. Would visit again if in the area.

Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2018

The Maltsters accommodated quite a large party in one of their private rooms and did us proud. A lovely open fire on a cold day, good food and service. Thoroughly recommend.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jean r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D, Front Office Manager at The Maltsters Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thank you very much. We are very glad you enjoyed your time with us, we hope to see you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

A really great local pub serving the freshest caught fish or locally sourced meats
Great service and choices from very varied menu
Excellent value, had friends with us this time and they were equally impressed
Well stocked bar with impressive selection of Gins and Vodka

Thank TONYDIVER1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D, General Manager at The Maltsters Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are very glad you enjoyed your meal, and that your companions did also. We look forward to seeing you many more times in 2018.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

A wonderful meal and I would echo remarks by Bob from Michigan. Great service and we were given as a group of 10 the ‘Keith Floyd’ room which was a particular treat as my wife and I are real Foodies and Keith is one of our heroes. We had one vegetarian in our group who found the Goats Cheese starter superb, followed by the Nut Roast which tasted delicious. Perhaps an additional choice would have been good for Vegetarians although it was New Year’s Day. Portions enormous so make sure you skip breakfast the day you go!
Well done, Maltsters, you’re a credit to the restaurant trade and to Keith Floyd and your staff were all faultless. The Haines party.

1  Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D, General Manager at The Maltsters Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thank you very much for these very kind words. We are overjoyed you hear you enjoyed your meal with us on New Years Day. I am very happy that you were able to enjoy our Keith Floyd room, a particular favourite of ours. Thank you for your kind words about the staff and the food, we look forward to seeing you once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely Boxing Day meal at the Maltsters. We had pre-booked and pre-ordered our food for the family gathering of 11. The staff were very welcoming and organized and the food was really good. Starters were enjoyed, particularly the walnut and goat cheese and vegetable soup. For the mains, the Turkey was good and the Lamb "Wellington" was first class. Vegetables were properly cooked and all food was well presented and very tasty. It was a tremendous evening and people really loved it.

Thank 1805bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D, General Manager at The Maltsters Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

This is fabulous news, I am very glad you were able to enjoy your Boxing Day meal at our restaurant. I am happy to hear that the service was efficient and friendly. We look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Maltsters Arms also viewed

 
Stoke Gabriel, Totnes
 

Been to The Maltsters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;