We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A model of what a holiday let should be”

Review of Linum Barn

Linum Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Linum Barn
Yondover Mill Stable Door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Linum Barn
Yondover Mill
Stable Door
View from Stable Door
Kitchen and Dining Area
Living Room
Master Bedroorm
Master Bedroom Ensuite Shower Room
Twin Room
Bunk Bedroorm
Garden
The Stream
Welcome to Netherbury
Walk to the pub
Lyme Bay
Cliffs at West Bay
The Brit Valley
On The Walk to Beaminster
Christmas at The Barn
Steps from Living Area to Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bridport, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BeardieWe...
Bristol UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A model of what a holiday let should be”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

It is hard to add to (or disagree with) what has been put in the preceding reviews. A previous comment in the Visitors’ Book suggested that the owners should consider running courses in how to run a holiday let, and we concur – the communications beforehand were rapid, helpful & comprehensive, with a phone check-up when we arrived, and the whole feel is of a holiday home equipped for family & friends. Ample cutlery and crockery - even enough mugs for inveterate tea & coffee drinkers like us.

Another example: as well as several OS maps and walking books for the area, there are laminated map sheets for footpath walks to Beaminster and to local pubs, annotated with photos of stiles, path junctions etc. There were also umbrellas and wind-up torches (fortunately in mid-summer we did not need either.)

If we were to nit-pick, the only wardrobe for hanging clothes was in the twin-bed room – but as we did not use the bunk-bed room, the bunk rails did service for the excess of clothes that we brought (memo to selves: dress down, it’s a holiday.) On the plus side, as well as the listed ensuite & family bathroom, there is also a downstairs loo – and all had useful hooks and shelves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The detailed touches that made it feel like home - only better.
Liked least: Poor mobile phone reception (but there is internet access, and landline for incoming calls with free evening & weekend calls.)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m1n1munch...
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything you could ask for and more!”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage was a superb find and Carole was extremely helpful, clear and concise. We travelled with a 4 year old and an 8 month old. The cottage was spotless and we had all the necessities we could ask for. We were welcomed by a bottle of wine, some chocolates for our son and some biccies for us, very much appreciated! Linum Barn is in a great location and we came away feeling there was so much we did not see.

An online shop for groceries is a great idea, Sainsbury's helped us with that one!

The bedrooms were ideal for the children, and an ensuite a real treat for us.
The blackout blinds were amazing, we forgot where we were. Beds were very comfy indeed. Our son loved the secret doors in his bedroom along with a choice of which bunk to sleep on.

There is a beautiful sound of a babbling brook outside the cottage which can be shut off if you wish. I imagine eating outside in the summer is wonderful.

The abundance of games and DVDs came in handy. Such a choice.

A great day out was had a Lyme Regis, especially the rather musty old Dinosaur Museum, great fun! Crabbing at West Bay, oh and a few fish and chip suppers. A visit to Swanage brought a rather fun steam train ride to Corfe Castle.

If there was one thing I would add to the cottage for a young family, it would be one more stair gate as there is only one. Our 8 month old picked up speed while we were there and as you know you cannot have eyes everywhere.

We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our ensite
Liked least: We couldnt make much noise downstairs in the evening as the kids could hear us.....there is nothing blocking the noise. Still, we managed 2 DVD's!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Home”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This barn is an absolute gem of a place to stay. Thank you so much for letting my friends and I stay. It was homely, had everything we needed and I would definitely love to stay again one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarethW11...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An all-round perfect holiday”
Reviewed 13 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The owners are a delight to deal with, and have taken every possible consideration to make Linum Barn the most comfortable, beautifully and fully equipped holiday home. Everything is cared for to the highest standard from the welcoming gifts to the home from home comforts. The surrounding area is wonderful, and there is something to do for everyone.
Apart from having to leave at the end of our stay, I cannot find any fault with Linum barn. A true credit to the owners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home feel
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse B
Sittingbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal Accommodation”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The barn conversion was done to a very high standard. The fittings, fixtures and extras were all there - everything we needed. The location was ideal, just a short drive from an A road, but very rural. The village itself and the surrounding countryside were ideal for walks. A really great base for a lovely holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was home from home but in a much better setting.
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing