We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy cottage with lovely rural surroundings”
Duck Street Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Duck Street Cottage
Kitchen Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Duck Street Cottage
Kitchen
Sitting Room
Sitting Room & Dining Area
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Back of Duck Street Cottage
Courtyard Garden
Seating area in garden
The village of Symondsbury
Duck Street and Colmers Hill
Symondsbury Village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bridport, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sharon C
Hailsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Cosy cottage with lovely rural surroundings”
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We spent a lovely few days in Duck Street Cottage, enjoying the local walks from the village and exploring the Jurassic coast nearby as well as Bridport street market. The cottage has everything you would need for a relaxing break including a massive, comfortable bed, lovely wood burner in a cosy lounge and decent sized bath and separate shower. It was a cold time of year but we were warm and snug once indoors. We tried the village pub which was friendly with a good range of menu choices and went further afield for more bistro-type food. The Symondsbury Kitchen served wonderful breakfast choices in a gorgeous setting complete with wood burner (a bit pricier than your average cafe) and if you fancy a massage, book ahead for The Shed treatments on site.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of bath and wood burner
Liked least: Kitchen pans were not very solid, or nonstick and handles were loose.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2016
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Duck Street Cottage. It sounds like you enjoyed some of the things available at Manor Yard as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Cosy cottage for two”
Reviewed 21 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We loved the cottage. It had everything we needed for two people. The bedroom was spacious and the bathroom beautifully tiled with a great shower. It rained most of the time we were there, but that didn't matter, as we dodged out between showers for great walks in the hills and on the coast. The local village pub served great food and the village shop was a treasure trove of great food and gifts. Bridport, nearby, also has good shops and restaurants. Symondsbury itself is a quiet village, off the beaten track, but near to lots of different and interesting places to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely cottage
Liked least: The rain
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Dec 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayne l
ilfracombe
1 review
“duck cotttage Symondsbuy ,refreshingly peaceful, a break in rural heaven”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

duck cottage was everything and more, spotlessly clean and so welcoming, we were greeted with a lovely basket of homemade marmalade,a fresh baked crusty cob,fresh coffee, local eggs and real butter, the rooms were spacious yet very cosy with its log burner. The whole cottage was just amazing. It felt like we were in the middle of tanquility yet only five minutes from all the Jurassic walks and beaches, our dogs enjoyed their holiday as much as us, Symondsbury itself was idyllic, a visit to the estate shop and café is a must the staff are very welcoming and friendly. I wanted a holiday that would recharge the batteries, time to escape the rush and duck cottage at Symondsbury estates was more then we could wish for , I didn't want to come home .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cottage and its peaceful location
Liked least: there wasnt anything you could dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Thank you also for your lovely comments, we're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you managed to recharge your batteries! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P
1 review
“Exactly what it says on the pot”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

An excellent place for a week's break. All mod cons supplied including a small hamper to start you off (although the orange juice was missing) and well equipped with all home comforts. We would certainly go again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alstuart1...
1 review
“Country retreat”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A lovely property in a perfect location. Symondsbury is the perfect tonic to busy life in london. Quiet and peaceful with the beach just a short drive away. The cottage was very well equipped with a large bedroom and bathroom. We ate in every night making the most of the quaint garden at the back of the property. The only downside being that the garden does not get much sun

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing