We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A warm welcome and homely cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to Buzzards Swoop - sleeps 4
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Buzzards Swoop - sleeps 4
Beautiful West Bay beach 10 mins by car Play area and dog walk at cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Welcome to Buzzards Swoop - sleeps 4
Beautiful West Bay beach 10 mins by car
Play area and dog walk at cottage
Comfy lounge & wood burner
Sunny open plan
Kitchen with cloakroom off
Kingsize bed
Comfortable single...
...or twin
Upstairs bath with shower
Homemade welcome cakes
Enclosed garden with BBQ
Outdoor seating & garden room
Private parking for 2 cars
Quiet no through lane with gate straight to ...
... dog walk & field for games ...
... play area ...
... dedicated dog walk through our wood
Fabulous walking directly from the cottage
Lovely family beach at Burton Bradstock ...
... with award winning Hive Beach Cafe
West Bay - gateway to the Jurassic Coast ...
... our local beach ...
... with bustling kiosks ...
... and harbour
where TV Hit Broadchurch was filmed
Lively Bridport with cafes and market
plenty to eat & drink
Iconic Colmers Hill overlooking the town
Anchor Inn at nearby Seatown ...
... beautiful coastal walks
Our dog Tess catching the rays
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bridport, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michele G
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A warm welcome and homely cottage”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Well equipped cottage, very clean and a nice,homely feel to it. Very useful folder full of info on dog friendly beaches, local markets and pubs/restaurants etc provided by the owners. Hosts are friendly and helpful but leave you to get on with things unless you need them. Kids loved the trampoline and football pitch. Dog loved the walks! Already planning on going back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The fact that we had to come home!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Karl S
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable cottage in beautiful Dorset countryside”
Reviewed 6 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This is the third time we have chosen to stay at this comfortable cottage nestling in the beautiful Dorset countryside. The charming owners Lisa and Alistair Herbert are very personable and accommodating. If any enquiries or help required they are only next door. The cottage is well equipped and in a good location for a range of days out. Sandy beaches at Lyme Regis are only 20 minutes away and West Bay Harbour, with many good places to eat, is just down the road. We find the cottage clean, warm and welcoming. On arrival a tray was set out with tea and homemade cakes, just what was needed after our long drive. It is very relaxed and ideal for families with children and happily for dog owners, which we are, we find it wonderful too. The cottage garden is an enclosed patio area and then beyond the garden gate there is so much more. It has an extensive lawned area, and a children’s play area with trampoline and swings where children can safely run around and have fun not too far out of sight. There are lovely walks rambling down through a well maintained woodland to a river. In April the woodland area was filled with wild flowers, banks of bluebells, ramsons, primroses and violets and the air filled with bird song. There are further extended walks from the doorstep through the beautiful Dorset countryside. Happily there seems to be a welcoming village pub conveniently located just a few miles walk through the countryside in either direction.
This cottage suited our requirements admirably. We would recommend this as a place to stay and we hope to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing to report
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage and more than helpful owners”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed at Buzzards Swoop 3 times now. Every time the cottage has been found in a clean, welcoming condition. Always set out with homemade cakes and tea/milk etc on arrival.
Lisa and Alistair go out of their way to accommodate your needs prior to arrival and are so relaxed with dogs and our children on their land. The kids love it there, they can play safely on the farm on the trampoline and swings etc provided.
We always have a lovely, relaxing stay. Great for just getting away from it all.
I will no doubt return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan M
1 review
“Superb cottage in Idyllic location”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed at Buzzards Swoop for one week. The location of the cottage is ideal for visiting West Bay (10 mins), Lyme Regis (20 mins) and Weymouth (30 mins). It was wonderful for our kids who had plenty of space on the playground and in the nearby forest with a little river. The cottage is well equipped, the garden is ideal for outside activities as a barbeque is provided. Our Labrador had a wonderful time. We will definitely be booking again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$105
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing