We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“fantastic”

Review of Axen Lodge

Axen Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Axen Lodge
Sitting Room Snug Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Axen Lodge
Sitting Room
Snug Room
Dining Area
Kitchen
View of Cabin from Kitchen
Bedroom
Bedroom
The cabin
Inside the cabin
Inside the cabin
Hot tub
Views from the decked area
Axen Lodge
Axen Lodge
Views from Axen Lodge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bridport, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Travel673...
1 review
“fantastic”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had a great holiday. Perfect rural location, perfect for all ages and dogs !! Secure garden walking distance to a super pub , great hot tub. We are all looking forward to our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and a secure garden
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Axen Lodge and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freekazoi...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We will be back”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had the most wonderful holiday staying at axen lodge last week! We will be back. The lodge caters to everyone's needs and symondsbury estate have thought of every little detail that you experience the most comfortable and luxurious stay. It was immaculately clean and spacious with views to die for!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for writing this review. So glad you enjoyed your stay. It is a rather lovely property and the views are out of this world!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannahlei...
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Beautiful :)”
Reviewed 15 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Perfect bolthole for a group of friends to catch up, bbq and relax in the hot tub. Finished gorgeously and with incredible views, and the lodge in the garden is such a bonus! Can't speak highly enough.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2016
Dear Hannah, thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Axen Lodge, the views are incredible, probably on of the best in Symondsbury. We hope to welcome you again to Symondsbury Estate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara G
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
“Total Bliss”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Axen Lodge is perfect for those who truly wish to get away from "the madding crowd" for rest and relaxation. Symondsbury Estate is beautiful and they have done a wonderful job converting Manor Yard into an interesting mix of outlets showcasing local artists, local produce etc. The Lodge is well equipped and extremely comfortable. A lovely place to stay whatever the weather. Dog walking from your front door. Hot tub with an incredible view. What more could anyone want.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Poor wifi/internet access
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J_mummy73
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful house”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is a well-equipped secluded house in a peaceful location with views of farmland in all directions.
The house has everything you need. It was extremely easy to cook/barbecue/ prepare food/entertain due to to the wide array of utensils and crockery. The fridge is full size and having a washing machine, dryer and washing line make life easy.
We had another family to stay and the cabin came into it's own providing a separate and private addition.I had not even realised that it ask contained a camp-style bed meaning the whole house can sleep 9.All of visitors were impressed and tempted to re-book.
The hot tub was very popular .
I had not realised quite how remote the house is, it is a good mile from the nearest shop but there is a very pleasant walk down a farm lane to the village centre which was easily done in sandals.
Symondsbury village centre is amazing, the cafe had lovely food with an organic emphasis and there is a very reasonably priced bike shop.My children enjoyed the pottery studio.
Loads to do in the surrounding area, we made use of Bridport Leisure Centre for swimming on wet days and loved the sandy strip at Lyme Regis when it was sunny.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peaceful location
Liked least: poor wifi
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Axen Lodge and that you enjoyed your time in Symondsbury village.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing