We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely home from home cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to Bluebell Cottage - sleeps 5
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Bluebell Cottage - sleeps 5
Beautiful West Bay beach 10 mins by car Play area & dog walk
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Welcome to Bluebell Cottage - sleeps 5
Beautiful West Bay beach 10 mins by car
Play area & dog walk
Enjoy breakfast in the morning sun
Fully enclosed child and dog friendly garden
Fully equipped kitchen
Sunny stable door
Open plan
Comfy sofas & woodburner
Shower over bath
Quiet double
Double with views
Spacious single
Sunset patio for BBQ & drinks
Parking for 2 cars
Homemade welcome cakes
Dog walk & field for games ...
... play area ...
... dog walk through our bluebell wood
Fabulous walking directly from the cottage
Lovely family beach at Burton Bradstock
with award winning Hive Beach Cafe
West Bay - gateway to the Jurassic Coast
Our local beach at West Bay
with bustling kiosks ...
... and harbour
where TV hit Broadchurch was filmed
Anchor Inn at nearby Seatown
... beautiful coastal walks
Lively Bridport with cafes & market
Iconic Colmers Hill overlooking the town
plenty to eat & drink
Our dog Tess catching the rays
Enjoy your stay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bridport, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pauline T
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely home from home cottage”
Reviewed 4 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This is a lovely cottage in a rural location with plenty of outside space and ideal if you have dogs. It's ideally situated for some really beautiful countryside - e.g the Golden Cap Estate and miles of beautiful coastal paths. The sub tropical gardens at Abbotsbury are well worth a visit as is Hardy's cottage (National Trust) which also has extensive woodland walks. The cottage has everything you need and was so warm inside in March that unfortunately we. didnt need to light the wood burner! If you have children there are some fun looking things like trampolines and climbing frames in the adjoining field. The owners are lovely and friendly and we felt very much at home here. The cottage is well equipped and comfortable and we had a very relaxing stay. I would come again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was like being at home - but in lovely surroundings
Liked least: The mattresses were a little firm. Fine for some people and they were supportive but if you are used to a softer bed it might be worth thinking about bringing a mattress topper.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAD004
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay at Bluebell Cottage”
Reviewed 28 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Just back from a lovely week staying at Bluebell Cottage, the cottage is in a lovely location with plenty of room for the dog to run, a large enclosed garden and access across the orchard and down to the river, also plenty of walks all detailed in the brilliant cottage information book. Brideport is a short drive and has plenty of shops and we enjoyed the good Saturday market. The cottage itself is lovely, has all the comforts of home and we were reluctant to leave it when the time came to go home. It's the little touches that make it home from home, flowers on the table when we arrived, lovely home baked cake and a pot iof tea just waiting for us to add the hot water when we arrived. Lovely to have a radio and a TV in the bedroom as well as downstairs. The wood burner is fantastic and certainly keeps you really warm, plenty of logs,kindling etc provided. The owners are really friendly and happy to chat and answer questions, it was a lovely easy going, friendly community with the other people holidaying in the other two properties. Great location for days out we went to Sidmouth, Portland, West Bay and loved the views from the road that passes through Burton Bradstock and West Bexington A real gem and we will be returning

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved the peace and quiet yet easy access to Bridport, also loved how dog friendly Bluebell cottage is
Liked least: Can't think of anything I didn't like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie B
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“'The Best Holiday Rental We've Ever Stayed In'”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

This was our first visit and we were not to be disappointed. We arrived to a lovely welcome of mince pies, fresh flowers and milk in the fridge ready for that must needed cup of tea! Bluebell cottage is well equipped and was very much home from home. It was clean and tidy and very warm and cosy. We only lit the wood burner once as it was very hot throughout the cottage, (this comes from someone who always finds the cold!) We appreciated the little touches made by the proprietors Lisa and Alistair, like a good selection of DVD'S, Books, games, cooking oil and washing up liquid and dish cloth, the things we usually have to remember to bring!

Bluebell cottage sits in 6 acres of countryside and it is both peaceful and scenic. Along with our two small dogs we enjoyed the gentle strolls around the woodland area and fields surrounding the cottage. It also has a large secured garden making it safe for children and pets alike.

The nearest supermarket was less than five minutes away in the car and Bridport around ten minutes. We found many dog friendly places around the area where dogs were welcome. We explored West Bay, Lyme Regis and Weymouth and there are other places of interest around.

At the end of our week we felt relaxed and revitalised. We look forward to visiting Bluebell cottage again in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The country setting and sounds of nature.
Liked least: There was nothing to not like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam C
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 17 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Greeted by homemade muffins in a cosy cottage with picturesque surroundings!

The location is perfect for access to shops, the Jurassic Coast and some fabulous walks on the doorstep. The log burner was essential as the temperature plummeted the week of our stay, it was lovely to have the endless supply of wood too.

Highly recommend this cottage to anyone, thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and dog friendliness
Liked least: The rain!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing