We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, quality accomodation, really approachable...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pydelspring

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chideock, Bridport, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lynn T
felixstowe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely, quality accomodation, really approachable owner.”
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This converted barn is set in a pretty village close to the Golden Cap ( highest point on this part of the south coast). It is a great base to explore some of the most beautiful countryside and amazing views of the Jurassic coastline. There are several walks but those of us from the flatter parts of the country be prepared for what we called 'extreme walking' especially if you climb the Golden Cap from the west side but honestly we loved the walks that we did.
The barn is split into two one bedroom cottages, it is decorated beautifully and the fixtures and fittings are top quality, everything we needed had been thought of and the welcome pack biscuits didn't last long after a six hour journey. There is a Morrisons supermarket in the little town of Bridport only three or four miles along the A35. We also discovered a lovely little place called West Bay, there had been a recent cliff fall and we found some great fossils, it has a great little harbour and quite a few little food outlets and shops.
We both fell in love with this part of Dorset and we were so grateful that we found such a beautiful holiday cottage. Would we recommend it? Would we return to this particular cottage again? 100% Yes and Yes! What an amazing holiday and we can't wait to repeat it again soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2017
Lynn, thank you so much for your review. I am very pleased you had a great time and enjoyed the cottage. Kind regards, Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas...
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stunning part of the country”
Reviewed 8 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Last minute getaway, the owner Chris emailed me personally to make sure I had everything needed due to my lack of organisational skills in booking so last minute. Easy check in and check out despite this, privacy given throughout although contact details always on hand if we had any questions. We took the walk to Seatown and Golden Cap from the back garden and it made for a fantastic day out, spent the rest of the time driving and exploring the Jurassic Coast in both directions.

The accommodation was modern, warm, and well thought out. All the necessities needed were there, parking was right outside. Thank you for saving me from a drab and eventless annual leave spent at home. We wish you all the best for the future and will definitely recommend to friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2017
Thank you Nicholas for your kind review. I am very pleased you had a great time and hope to see you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephenso...
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect immaculate and beautiful”
Reviewed 13 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
3
people found this review helpful

This is a fantastic location with great local amenities. The property is immaculate in every way. Everything is there that you could need and then some more. All the mod cons are spot on and the wifi is excellent. Fully equipped for cooking, relaxing and just generally having a wonderful time. Added extras include the wood pecker and pheasants. The farm shop opposite stocks great produce and really nice hot snacks, post office is handy for a paper and the buses are outside if you want to leave the car and have a really nice afternoon/evening in either Bridport or Lyme. I will be returning here and rate this at the top of any self catering we have ever experienced.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2017
What can I say after such a very kind review, but thank you. I look forward to your next visit. All the best, Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia H
Strongsville, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Classy Conversion”
Reviewed 29 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
4
people found this review helpful

If you are looking for classy, well prepared accommodation for 2 in the Bridport area look no further!
This newly converted property is perfect for a relaxing stay with all modern, luxury facilities.
The accommodation is spacious and well designed to offer a very comfortable vacation.
Visiting from overseas, yet a Brit accustomed to the
" Grotty Cotty ," of yesteryear, the experience can be hit or miss! However, Pydelspring is most definitely a HIT!!!
I absolutely recommend this property, and look forward to staying on future visits.
In addition, the owner was extremely helpful- arranging for the delivery of the key to a local relative, responding to questions and including a luxury hamper and Christmas decorations for our arrival.
I have stayed at several other properties in the area and this is the BEST!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2016
Julia, thank you so much for your very kind review. I very much hope to see you in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayZe...
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
4
people found this review helpful

The photographs just do not do it justice. I found Pydelspring at the last moment and I am so glad I did.

It is brand new and the design was perfect for us. We have stayed in many, many self catering places but this is so far from a small roomed, difficult to keep clean cottage. It is light and spacious and really did have everything we needed.

The weather was kind to us, having a large garden in front of us was tremendous. We enjoy walking the coast so the location was perfect. We only walked a short way on this occasion but were able to access the coastal footpath at Golden Cap within about 10 minutes.

The kitchen is very well stocked, so cooking was certainly not a chore. The shower was hot and powerful, which was greatly appreciated after our walks.

This is a great place if you want to find somewhere that is relaxing yet has everything you need whether the weather is good or not.

Looking forward to returning soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Many thanks for your very kind review. I look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$97
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing