We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Primrose Cottage

Bedroom with en-suite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom with en-suite
Primrose Cottage Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Bedroom with en-suite
Primrose Cottage
Sitting Room
Inglenook
Roll top bath
Dressing Area
Hand painted kitchen
Secluded back garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Sturminster Newton, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AndieBeee
France
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed 7 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We've now stayed at Primrose cottage several times and are totally in love with it! Rachel (the owner) sorted out a last minute reservation for us and we arrived very late in the day to find a welcoming basket of local essentials (plus a treat of locally made biscuits!). Primrose Cottage has been beautifully renovated and is furnished and decorated to a very high standard - by an owner with an excellent eye for cottage-style interior design.

The cottage is close to a local butcher and small village store...and with two pubs in the village, there's no need to travel far for good food or a nicely chilled glass of wine.

Sturminster Newton and the hilltop town of Shaftesbury are a short drive away - for those who enjoy country-style shopping. Plenty of local walking for those who enjoy a hike and many National Trust attractions are within easy reach too.

With a wood burner for cosy evenings and a beautiful roll-top slipper bath for indulgent bubblebaths, what more could a couple ask for?!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo P
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 30 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Primrose cottage was a perfect getaway for my husband and I. A very cute, traditional cottage within easy reach of a local village shop and butcher and perfectly located for both walks around the village or to travel further afield by car. Rachel was very easy to contact and left us a great hamper of essentials for our arrival (which was great as we arrived on Sunday when all shops were closed!) A gorgeous mini break - we didn't want to leave!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizYBirmi...
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage for two”
Reviewed 2 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Lovely cottage for two, great location for exploring the area with good walking and cycling too. Wood burning stove great for chilly evenings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of cottage and furnishings
Liked least: Staircase was bit steep
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjsmith20...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic cottage for a relaxing weekend break”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a brilliant 3 night stay at Primrose Cottage. Looking for a place to spend a weekend relaxing we wanted somewhere comfortable and with everything we would need to have a good time - Primrose Cottage did not disappoint!

Although we never met her in person as we arrived late on Thursday evening, Rachel made us feel very welcome and provided a lovely welcome basket with all the essentials in from local producers. The cottage itself is done up to a high standard and has beautiful wooden beams throughout which add to the charm.

The weather was fantastic so we spent a lot of time in the garden which was very peaceful. The village itself is very pretty and has 2 pubs, one a 2 minute walk away and the other a nice 15 minute walk away through the village.

Thanks for a great stay!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshac68
Hatfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fabulous retreat in the heart of North Dorset”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My wife and I were simply blown away by this charming little cottage in a quaint village. Would recommend the very short walk to the local Blackmore Vale Arms for a lovely meal in comfy surroundings. The owners of this cottage do everything to make your stay most welcoming including a delightful welcome pack.

Would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage
Liked least: The power of the shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;