We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding House, Outstanding Location !!”
other travellers have booked this property
High Wards
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
High Wards
Parking Back Lawn!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
High Wards
Parking
Back Lawn!
Gazebo
Bridge to Gazebo
Tennis Courts
Indoor Heated Swimming Pool
Great Room
Great Room Picture Window
Great Room Games Area
Hallway
Kitchen
Kitchen Table
Conservatory Dining Table
Conservatory with Log Burner
TV Room
Laundry Room
Boot Room
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom Bath
Shiny Tap!
Master Raindance Shower
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 2/3 Ensuite
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 4 Ensuite
Bedroom 5
Bedroom 5 Ensuite
Bedroom 6
Family Bathroom
Bedroom 7
Bedroom 7 Ensuite
Bedroom 8
Bedroom 9
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 21
Gartocharn, Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Barry W
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding House, Outstanding Location !!”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We rented Highwards for Dian's 40th with a group of close friends and family. Had the best time ever. Emily was a great help when we arrived, checked on us over the weekend to ensure everything was to our liking and even handed in some extra ice after a supermarket run.

The house itself is furbished to an incredibly high spec and has everything you will need to enjoy a great break. The grounds are huge, fantastic and well kept.

Cant praise Highwards enough and we will be back !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loveluxur...
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wedding week at Highward”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had this property at the end of August 2015 for a wedding celebration. The property is absolutely fantastic with spectacular views across Loch Lomond. The house has everything you could possibly need including a great pool. The owners are friendly, courteous and nothing was too much hassle for them. I have no hesitation recommending this property which gave us one of the most memorable weeks for a special occasion.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan B
Lesmahagow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“What a Brilliant Place”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Our daughter booked High Wards to mark the end of a difficult year. The estate is beautiful with plenty to do. The house is absolutely wonderful and finished to a very high quality standard. All your needs are provided for and Emily and her husband were truly remarkable in the help they gave us. We will certainly look to return in the future. Every one of our friends said they had a wonderful time and we all have great magical memories of our stay. Thanks Emily.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: there was nothing that we felt disappointed us.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoon14
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“MAGIC SCOTTISH WEEK END”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We were 19 friends for my husband 50th anniversary, and we spent a fantastic stay in Highwards. The bedrooms, beddings and mattresses are wonderfull. The estate itself was beautiful, great views and lots of space to relax and Emily, the owner, was very friendly, helpful and accommodating to us. We have all left High Wards with memories that will last a lifetime, and many of will hope to return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanb2120...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful weekend”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I were celebrating our seventieth birthdays and chose High Wards as it was close to Edinburgh in term time for school age grandchildren and seemed to provide luxury for adults while being child friendly.It was everything we could have hoped for - spacious, comfortable and well-equipped with spectacular views of the Conic Hill and Ben Lomond. We all enjoyed the pool while the children were delighted to find a well-stocked playroom, an outdoor adventure playground with Wendy House, a tennis court and a garage full of ride-on cars, bikes and scooters. We sailed on the mailboat round the islands on Loch Lomond on Saturday morning but otherwise enjoyed our beautiful holiday home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious,comfortable beds, lovely bathrooms, well appointed public rooms.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;