We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful weekend”
other travellers have booked this property
High Wards
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
High Wards
Parking Back Lawn!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
High Wards
Parking
Back Lawn!
Gazebo
Bridge to Gazebo
Tennis Courts
Indoor Heated Swimming Pool
Great Room
Great Room Picture Window
Great Room Games Area
Hallway
Kitchen
Kitchen Table
Conservatory Dining Table
Conservatory with Log Burner
TV Room
Laundry Room
Boot Room
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom Bath
Shiny Tap!
Master Raindance Shower
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 2/3 Ensuite
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 4 Ensuite
Bedroom 5
Bedroom 5 Ensuite
Bedroom 6
Family Bathroom
Bedroom 7
Bedroom 7 Ensuite
Bedroom 8
Bedroom 9
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 21
Gartocharn, Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laura P
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I have just returned from a 2 night stay at high wards for my friends hen weekend. The house is absolutely stunning. The bedrooms are all very spacious and the living rooms and kitchen are also amazing. The house is so well equipt. The swimming pool was fantastic and we were able to make good use of this. Unfortunately the weather was terrible when we were there so we didn't get a chance to play tennis or use the grounds but this didn't spoil our weekend in the slightest the house was so comfortable and the views were amazing that everyone was more than happy to stay in the house. Emily was so helpful from the initial booking right through to our departure, I would definitely recommend High Wards to anyone, it is a stunning house in a beautiful location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
934oved
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“No money back but a nice apology”
Reviewed 29 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015
5
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the High Wards for a week in August to celebrate the wedding of our oldest son.

The High Wards is indeed a fabulous house with a nice setting close to the Loch Lomond.
Upon recommendation from the owner of the Ward Estate it was arranged so that Jam Jar Kitchen in Cardross was to supply the dinner at the wedding. Everything sounded terrific and very customer focused during the planning phase. We were a small wedding party of only 36 guests so it should be no problem to cater for any individual need. In our party we had some guests having various food allergies. They charged us 150£ extra to guarantee a perfect handling of those guests special demand.

As the main course we agreed upon Beef Wellington, being a spectacular composition that we expected would enlighten our wedding dinner. However when served the meat inside the pastry was extremely overcooked and with a structure more close to charcoal than the soft meat you expect to find inside the pastry – the beef was killed! Regarding the allergies another catastrophe was avoided thanks to one of the guests being observant of what was served. A plate containing gluten was given to the guest being highly intolerant for gluten.

High Wards charged us 150£ extra for perfect handling of the allergies and another 5£ extra/person for the spectacular beef. Despite all this extra money the staff provided was not up to handle such important tasks. Shame! We tried several times to contact both with the High Wards and directly with Jam Jar Kitchens to discuss their performance. However none of them wanted to discuss these matters with us. To collect performance opinions or care for a satisfied customer is apparently not on the agenda of these two companies.

To rent the High Wards using an intermediate agency might be something you can consider, however I strongly advise against doing any business directly with the Wards Estate. The main problem is the Wards Estate’s way of acting. In all meetings face to face they are nice and customer focused, very willing to find solutions to improve your stay at the house. The problems come if you involve yourselves in any direct business with them, like catering, entertainment etc. In mail conversations it starts sweet and nice but later change style like Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde to suddenly become penny-focused to get any extra they can from the customer. They will require you to pay 100% in advance or hence they refuse to do anything. Should something go wrong with any of their deliveries they will never give you a refund. When requesting some money compensation they will tell you it’s not due as they already have given you a nice apology for the inconvenience occurred to you. When trying to argue with them they start to write mails in an American lawyer style with arguments that a glance looks very solid. However when analyzing the basis for the arguments you realize that many of them are merely white lies given to support their case. Moreover we later got copies of mail from them sent to suppliers were we as a customer was described in a rather rude wording.

To summarize I can’t recommend you to rent the High Wards. The place is great in a beautiful location however with the attitude of the present management you take the risk to end up in troublesome American law style conversation. To get compensation or many back if something goes wrong you just can forget, but indeed you get a nice apology.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2015
We were and still are extremely sympathetic with this situation where the guest had booked High Wards for accommodation only to attend his son?s wedding at Boturich Castle. However, due to circumstances, the bride?s family pulled out of the wedding and did not attend the wedding. We were asked at short notice to organize a much smaller wedding on an extremely tight budget. Turning to the specific complaints, we have the following comments for the readers of our reviews. The guest requested beef wellington against our caterer?s recommendation due to the precise cooking and serving requirement. After many toasts, the guest?s speech went way beyond the allotted time, and the caterer?s staff was dismissed from the room despite being told they could serve during speeches. Of course the rare beef had to be returned to the oven to keep the pastry crisp resulting in medium/well done beef. The guest had almost finished his meal before raising a comment, and indeed went on to finish the beef. All guests cleared their plates and we received some lovely feedback. We did not think it fair for the caterer to refund a supplement for beef fillet as the food had been eaten, enjoyed and complimented on. We apologized for error of the incorrect dessert being placed with one of the allergy guests, which was swiftly removed before being tasted and the correct dessert was served to the guest in question. As there was a lot of work involved with 7 guests having allergies, we also did not think it was fair for the caterer to refund the additional chef required on the day given the spread of canapes, starter, main, dessert and evening buffet requirements. We spent a lot of time in trying to please the guest, and did not charge for many of the extra costs he requested to host a small wedding at High Wards. There was confusion over payment of the deposit as the guest had advised that he had paid the agent whilst also claiming he had paid High Wards direct, neither of which were true, and had also tried to withhold 10% of the additional third party supplier costs. There were numerous emails sent regarding payment, costs and the menu including 250 pounds of silk chair sashes that went missing on check-out ? allegedly having blown away in the wind ? and found by CCTV to have been collected and taken to Sweden ?by error?. In this case we were not able to satisfy all of this guest?s demands. We take customer service extremely seriously as shown by our other reviews.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry W
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding House, Outstanding Location !!”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We rented Highwards for Dian's 40th with a group of close friends and family. Had the best time ever. Emily was a great help when we arrived, checked on us over the weekend to ensure everything was to our liking and even handed in some extra ice after a supermarket run.

The house itself is furbished to an incredibly high spec and has everything you will need to enjoy a great break. The grounds are huge, fantastic and well kept.

Cant praise Highwards enough and we will be back !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loveluxur...
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wedding week at Highward”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had this property at the end of August 2015 for a wedding celebration. The property is absolutely fantastic with spectacular views across Loch Lomond. The house has everything you could possibly need including a great pool. The owners are friendly, courteous and nothing was too much hassle for them. I have no hesitation recommending this property which gave us one of the most memorable weeks for a special occasion.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan B
Lesmahagow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“What a Brilliant Place”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Our daughter booked High Wards to mark the end of a difficult year. The estate is beautiful with plenty to do. The house is absolutely wonderful and finished to a very high quality standard. All your needs are provided for and Emily and her husband were truly remarkable in the help they gave us. We will certainly look to return in the future. Every one of our friends said they had a wonderful time and we all have great magical memories of our stay. Thanks Emily.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: there was nothing that we felt disappointed us.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$855
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing