We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice day trip”

Anstruther Pleasure Cruises-Boat Day Tours
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Anstruther
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2018

The day we went the sun was out we got to go into the lighthouses and the pump room also one of the accommodation blocks all the staff on the island and the boat very knowledgeable and helpful

Thank david e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex G, Owner at Anstruther Pleasure Cruises-Boat Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to offer us a positive review. Your comments are much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"day trip"
in 25 reviews
"arctic terns"
in 22 reviews
"great trip"
in 22 reviews
"snack bar"
in 10 reviews
"on the rocks"
in 10 reviews
"on arrival"
in 12 reviews
"bird life"
in 15 reviews
"knowledgeable crew"
in 8 reviews
"beautiful island"
in 7 reviews
"recommend this trip"
in 11 reviews
"nesting birds"
in 10 reviews
"return journey"
in 11 reviews
"nature reserve"
in 4 reviews
"sick bags"
in 5 reviews
"great weather"
in 5 reviews
"wonderful wildlife"
in 5 reviews
"breeding season"
in 7 reviews
Filter

52 - 56 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2017

I've looked out to the Isle of May for about 14 years now, ever since I moved to Fife. It has always been one of those 'one day I'll go there' places. A few weeks ago a couple of friends arrived and on the spur of the moment I booked the trip for the next day. We were all so delighted I did. For one thing, the usual Scottish weather left us and we arrived in Anstruther on a lovely calm and sunny day.

The booking procedure had been so simple the night before and boarding process on the ship smooth and easy. I doubt anyone who has done this trip could fault the crew. They are so friendly, calm and quite amusing, Their customer care is second to none. One the way across they took great care (with no fuss) with a youngster upset by the slight pitch of the vessel. Hot drinks were carried to customers on the upper deck, the crew (correctly) judging the condition of the passengers’ sea legs. Throughout the trip the crew were informative about the wildlife, geography and topography seen from the ship

Disembarkation at the other side – once we reached the Isle of May – was again smooth. We enjoyed several hours of nature walking and historic enquiry among the numerous buildings and natural features of the island. This is really the subject of a different review. Suffice to say here that the destination is worth the journey.

The return trip was equally smooth. Overall, this makes for an excellent day out and it is in no small part down to the crew of this vessel that the route to and from the island is fun. There is a small café and bar on board the ship, and the facilities that go with that. The Head is small and not easy to get to for some disabled people, but I suppose there is little that can be done about that. Overall though, this is an excellent service which I not only strongly recommend, but will make use of again in the very near future.

1  Thank TentsmuirTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex G, Owner at Anstruther Pleasure Cruises-Boat Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

We are really glad that you have eventually ticked us off from your bucket list of "things to do" and you enjoyed the day out. Your comments about the boat, the staff, the Island itself and your strong recommendation are all much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

The knowledge and helpfulness of the Crew and Skipper of the "May Princess' made our trip for us. We felt safe in their hands.

1  Thank TomTAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex G, Owner at Anstruther Pleasure Cruises-Boat Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Thanks for taking the time to offer us a highly recommended review, and your comments about the staff are really appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

My wife and I decided to go on an intrepid voyage to the Isle of May after bottling it for about fifteen years. After our initial trip got cancelled due to a "northern swell", we finally stepped aboard ! We had the time of our lives and both absolutely loved it. The hour long trip to the island is quite choppy but nothing too bad on what is a very comfortable little boat with a highly professional, friendly and knowledgable crew. As a bird lover, I was in awe as gannets flew overhead, razorbills dived for fish and amusing cormorants and shags nonchalantly sunbathed on the rocks. We also saw lots of gorgeous seals though sadly the legions of acclaimed puffins had already flown off for the season - but we'll be back to see them next summer ! That probably saved us from getting deafened and dive-bombed mind you ! The island itself is of outstanding natural beauty and is lovely to explore - there are nice paths, amazing views and a fascinating lighthouse that you can climb right to the top of (careful on the spiral staircase, folks !). You have to be a bit sensible and careful on your visit so it's advisable to wear good shoes as well as warm, waterproof clothing and watch your footing both on the boat and on the island (as you don't want to twist your ankle down a puffin hole or a rabbit hole !). Overall, this is an absolutely fantastic experience that my wife and I would do again in a heartbeat - Scotland at its finest ! The crew work amazingly hard and, in my opinion, are well worth a tip at the end of the journey for making it all run so smoothly.

1  Thank TheGlobetrotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex G, Owner at Anstruther Pleasure Cruises-Boat Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

We are glad that after fifteen years thinking about it you finally made the trip, and we look forward to seeing you again a bit earlier in the season when the Puffins are still around the Island. Thank you for taking the time to prepare a very detailed review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2017

I took this trip alone. The weather was beautiful. The crew were well informed & ensured passengers were informed throughout the trip. The boat was comfortable and access was easy, although not suitable for wheelchair users or people with limited mobility. The ability to climb stairs is essential. The walk round the Island was easy & the paths ensured I didn't get lost. A map was provided. For £26 it provides a full 5 hours entertainment. Well worth the money.

2  Thank Eil3020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex G, Owner at Anstruther Pleasure Cruises-Boat Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Thanks for taking the time to post us a positive review. We are glad you enjoyed the trip and will hopefully see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anstruther Pleasure Cruises-Boat Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Anstruther Pleasure Cruises-Boat Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing