We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food fine but too busy for staff to cope”

East Neuk Hotel Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Crail
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
Description: Boutique hotel with 5 gorgeous rooms and a brilliant Bar/Restaurant with a growing reputation for quality live music. Best description is from customers "Took my sister and brother in law in for a Friday night meal when they were visiting (also my son). Received a very warm welcome from the young girl who was serving she was pleasant, attentive and informative throughout. There was a great atmosphere and the whole place was spotless. Toilets impressive very clean and well stocked lovely hand soap and hand lotion. THE FOOD WAS EXCELLENT all locally produced, home made and cooked to order. My brother in law was very impressed with the fish and chips, extremely fresh fish cooked in a light fluffy batter and hand cut fresh chips brilliant. My sister had the sea bass and loved the explosion of flavours which all complimented each other. All in all brilliant meal, brilliant staff and brilliant establishment will definitely be back. We now have our rooms up and running.
Restaurant details
Description: Boutique hotel with 5 gorgeous rooms and a brilliant Bar/Restaurant with a growing reputation for quality live music. Best description is from customers "Took my sister and brother in law in for a Friday night meal when they were visiting (also my son). Received a very warm welcome from the young girl who was serving she was pleasant, attentive and informative throughout. There was a great atmosphere and the whole place was spotless. Toilets impressive very clean and well stocked lovely hand soap and hand lotion. THE FOOD WAS EXCELLENT all locally produced, home made and cooked to order. My brother in law was very impressed with the fish and chips, extremely fresh fish cooked in a light fluffy batter and hand cut fresh chips brilliant. My sister had the sea bass and loved the explosion of flavours which all complimented each other. All in all brilliant meal, brilliant staff and brilliant establishment will definitely be back. We now have our rooms up and running.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We had friends visiting from England and had suggested here after we had a lovely meal here ourselves a few months back. It was all a bit of a disappointment really. The bar was very understaffed to the point that people with tables for dinner were spending more time at the bar than at their tables. In fact, the customers were trying to recruit bar staff to help - obviously more hacked off than us. Felt sorry for staff as just not able to cope with holiday weekend rush. Don’t get me wrong the food was all ok when it eventually came but the serving staff didn’t seem to be trained about the food and the bar staff didn’t know about the drinks. We are still left unsure about whether or not you can get a liqueur coffee? Another comment is that there are dogs everywhere and one that is latched on to the chef which we weren’t too keen on. It’s a shame as the food seems pretty good but service isn’t - we had to help ourselves to menus, cutlery and condiments which for that we were paying isn’t really what we would expect. Shortage of glasses at bar meant we got an assortment of mismatched efforts for wine which was a bit bizarre. Unfortunately we won’t be rushing back and certainly not taking guests. Wished we had just got a chippy and taken it home. Shame..... think management needs get themselves in gear as could, and has been, so much better.

Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owenyzone, Owner at East Neuk Hotel Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hi Paula, thanks for your frank comments. As will be obvious to all, we had a bit of a staff meltdown over Easter, with some staff unavailable with holidays. It is extremely hard to find staff in the area, but we tried to run as normal and were just flattened by the numbers for the weekend. The options we had were to run with very limited bookings for food, or try and get by, feeding as many people as possible, so we tried the latter, and were overwhelmed. Crail is not a place where you can easily find extra staff, and after Easter it will go quiet again until the end of June, so permanent staff is not an answer either. We are very sorry you had a dissapointing evening, something we take very seriously and we will try to make sure it doesnt happen again. We try hard to make the place welcoming and a good experience for our customers, so feel it keenly when we get it wrong.
As far as the dogs are concerned, you either have dogs or you don't, and our policy is to allow them. Sometimes there are none and sometimes there can be a few, but banning them would be a difficult decision.
I hope you will revisit us again in the future, and find things improved on all fronts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Once again, another lovely meal at the east neuk hotel. All staff attentive to detail. We both enjoyed a relaxing meal followed by some live music. Many thanks to all staff.

1  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPTheNeuk, Owner at East Neuk Hotel Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

So Kind, Thank you
Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Had a lovely meal and a few drinks ,great atmosphere and very friendly and attentive staff,will be back again soon

1  Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPTheNeuk, Owner at East Neuk Hotel Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Thanks, Kenny M. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

What a great bar this is, perfect pub for the village and always welcoming. Food isn't the cheapest but always great and cooked to perfection. Music nights are an added bonus.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jonscott76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPTheNeuk, Owner at East Neuk Hotel Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Yer very kind. Our team are dedicated to your enjoyment of the place!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

Stranded in Crail for four days it was a welcome treat to discover the East Neuk Hotel was serving food.

Hunger drove us out of our cosy lodgings, we left the bitter east wind at our heels and a received a warm, friendly welcome as we arrived at the East Neuk.

Despite the chef being snowed in, a valiant team of Sous Chef, KP and the most charming waitress, Megan made us feel more than welcome.

Due to the weather the menu was limited however the kitchen delivered a remarkable variety from Homemade pies to Lasagne and Thai Curry. Not to mention Fish and Chips. We finished our meal with the tastiest Banana Fritters I have had since my father used to spoil us as children. His batter recepie remains a secret but these were a close second.

The speed of food and drink service was timely considering the staff levels. And under pressure, Megan was fantastic and the whole team are a credit to the East Neuk Hotel and indeed Crail.

On my next visit to Crail, the East Neuk Hotel shall be top of my list.

2  Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPTheNeuk, Owner at East Neuk Hotel Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you so much for your high praise indeed. we really love it when a guest shows such an appreciation of the dedication of the team at the Neuk.
martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed East Neuk Hotel Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to East Neuk Hotel Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing