We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$256
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveller rating
247
25
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
247
25
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstawny lodgehot tubcherry blossom cottagecopper beechst andrewsdecking areamountain ashworking farmdouglas firlaundry roomduck pondamazing viewsgames roomunderfloor heatinghigh standardwithin an hoursecond visit
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 276 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018

The lodge was very high standard, with everything you could possibly think of or need. Unbelievably relaxed chilled break, with no stress to get there. Only a short journey away but could have been in the middle of nowhere. Sheer bliss.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank ljljlj-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolidLuxury176, Manager at Balmeadowside Country Lodges and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, it's lovely to hear you had such a relaxing stay with us and took full advantage of our location. We hope to welcome you back to Balmeadowside soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Woodoecker Lodge was clean, very roomy, warm and really well equiped. Yes the cows in the shed were a bit smelly but you got used to it and after the initial whiff, you got used to it. Enjoyed great privacy on the decking and hot tub. Didn't want to leave!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Gillysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolidLuxury176, Manager at Balmeadowside Country Lodges and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we're delighted you enjoyed your stay so much you didn't want to leave! We hope to welcome you back to Balmeadowside soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

Wonderful experience, beautifully kitted out with everything you could need for a relaxing break . Beautiful scenery in an ideal setting. Hot tub amazing lovely farm with all the interesting animals, beautiful woodland walks .

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank marshyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolidLuxury176, Manager at Balmeadowside Country Lodges and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we're delighted you have enjoyed your stay with us at Balmeadowside and you took full advantage of the setting. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Second time we have stayed on site, first time in a cottage, this time in the Farmhouse as there were 7 of us.

The Farmhouse is great, fantastic kitchen and bedrooms.

The only thing I would say is the "Games Room" is a bit of a wasted space. The pool cue was broken so could not use the pool table, and we felt that a full size pool table would be a fantastic addition and possibly a dart board for some evening entertainment. Would make such a difference.

Overall though, still had a lovely time.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank HeatherHarper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolidLuxury176, Manager at Balmeadowside Country Lodges and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, it's lovely to hear you chose to come back and stay with us at Balmeadowside and that we didn't disappoint. If you choose to come back for a 3rd stay please remember no matter how small a matter may seem just give us a phone and we'll be sure to try and rectify your problem as soon as possible, our maintenance team would have been happy to fix the pool cues so you could have enjoyed a game :) Unfortunately a dart board has been tried and tested and not everyone is as careful with the darts as others. We hope to welcome you back to Balmeadowside in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

We decided to book six nights at the lodge as my wife had bought me a driving experience at Knockhill and this fitted perfectly for it. We arrived during a period of extremely poor weather; with heavy snow. Despite this, the roads had been very well cleared and the lodge was fairly clean. The lodge was spacious, warm and freshly decorated. The heating goes off late at night time and it did start to get cold during the night but to be fair this was fairly extreme weather, and warm duvets were provided. The farm buildings shown on the site plan were in fact cattle sheds that housed numerous steer/ bullocks that could be a little noisy, and the smell during the day that they were mucked out was less than pleasant. This has to be expected if you are staying on a working farm but is worthy of mention. We did use the laundry room, and the washer and dryer worked fine without any problems. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful despite them clearly being very busy with snow clearing activities etc. Do bring wellies as the walks can be muddy during wet spells, but it is worth the effort as it is a lovely location.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rikki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolidLuxury176, Manager at Balmeadowside Country Lodges and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we're delighted you enjoyed your stay at Balmeadowside and managed to get here is the adverse weather! We hope to welcome you back to Balmeadowside for future getaways.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews