We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Seamill Hydro - step back in time.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seamill Hydro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seamill Hydro
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Kilbride
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Seamill Hydro - step back in time.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Recently stayed at the Hydro for an overnight stay with my husband.

Paid an extra £15 for a seaview room (which came with free scaffolding as the hotel is have a seaview extension on the groun floor).

The seaview room came complete with 1980's decor, very dated an very tired looking. Very old fashioned peach bathroom suite, very thin and worn towels.

On a positive note, the restaurant was lovely.

Would I stay here again, probably not unless I knew it had an internal makeover.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squeezy67_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    701
    347
    145
    71
    56
See reviews for
358
465
15
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
191 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Had 2 nights in the main building in a room which was a little bit tired but perfectly acceptable.
It was on the !st floor above the building works for the new Orangery - not a major problem. My husband said that men were working from 8am but they did not waken me.
Food and service excellent. Everywhere very clean. Massage at the Salon was excellent.
Certainly worth the extra for the seaview.
Not been there for a few years but will certainly be back again soon.

Room Tip: Seaview definitely worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank exzombaresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Nice welcome, had a beautiful sea view room exlarge bed with dvd,cd,fridge large bath and shower. Romantic dinner with my husband top class service our meal was so delicious scallops with blackpudding and salad,soup,mint chops with a red wine sauce carrots and roast potatoes,chicken with leek creamy sauce, raspberry bread and butter pudding,banoffee. top marks to the chief outstanding food. restaurant bar staff were so friendly and happy. other bar ok. pool area was clean. my only complaint was i was looking forward to a lie in banging started after 8.30 and only got louder due to the extention work this made me quiet angry felt like a hammer was being used in the room below had no warning. Breakfast was good staff were helpful and there was loads of choice. checkout was disappointing as we were not asked how our stay was although the man in front did. romantic walk down the beach was lovely before going home to our babies. will return again with family once all building works are complete.

Room Tip: sea view was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lin2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lanarkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Visited this hotel as a very last minute deal on the 19th February at an extremely good price.. Hotel has some renovations going on which according to the blueprints on display will look great when finished, The hotel is right at the beach with lovely grounds. The check in was quick and welcoming, We were shown direction to the elavator and some time later the staff member remembered our name which was a personal touch. Our room was a refurbished room above the swimming pool, overlooking the car park and service delivery area, no problems with noise. The room was lovely and a good size even though it was an attic room, the bathroom was nice and very little sighn of wear and tear, it also had a fridge. The pool area was nice and warm although the jaccuzzi was pool temperature so a bit on the cool side. The sauna and steam room were lovely. We didnt eat at the hotel other than breakfast, but the menu and dining room looked very nice. Breakfast was of a good choice and definately no complaints there. Staff were really nice and helpfull. Location was great with stunning views over to Arran. Lots of nice beach walks. We had a lovely time and would definatey return.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the car park to the main road, we were on the 2nd floor which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holly010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I've stayed here many times before and to be honest, I've never had a bad time, but it's never been great either. However, this last weekend was just brilliant so I felt it only fair to share my experience.

From the nicely refurbished room with huge bed, great tv and lovely bathroom facilities, overlooking the sea (what a view of Arran, the snow topped mountains were breathtaking) to the unbelievably helpful staff at our function, the weekend was just brilliant.

Having been to many weddings and parties and other functions here over the years, something drastic has changed in terms of the "function" food too. Previously we have had very poor experience with functions in terms of the food, with dry, bland, badly cooked items; but this weekend's was like night and day - the food was fresh, perfectly cooked (in most cases) and delicious. I hold back my praise for the desserts tho - the sticky toffee pudding had obviously been microwaved which was a disappointment - perhaps the people preparing the desserts are not putting as much effort in as the chefs preparing the mains and starters - this is something which you should look at, since the dessert is obviously the last thing people remember and should reflect the standard of the rest of the food.

The staff really deserve high praise for the organisation of the function too, since they had everything under control and well organised. Big thanks to Martin for being probably the most sensible, pragmatic and organised of managers! Without him, the function wouldn't have been half as good!

There are two other items of criticism I would have (apart from the desserts) which I think are constructive - 1. I did see some of the other un-refurbished rooms and while they're perfectly adequate, they really have seen better days. Interesting that the hotel is currently undergoing some renovation work at the moment to create a new Orangery (which will undoubtedly be lovely) but I wonder if the remaining bedrooms will get the makeover they so badly need? Surely this is where the majority of profit is made in the hotel industry?
and 2. My lovely room was right above the Pladda Lounge Bar and on Friday night when I went to have an early night (at 11.30pm, not so early really!) there was a pub quiz going on below, and with the power and volume of the sound system and music, I could hear everything far too clearly in my room. I could not sleep until it finished at 12 (which was a blessed relief from the booming bass notes and ridiculous commentary from the host), which I thought was far too late, when there are clearly sound-proofing issues with the rooms above.

Anyway, would highly recommend this hotel for an event, but ask for a refurbished room on the second floor, or away from the Pladda Bar if you're staying!

Room Tip: Second floor sea view rooms should be quieter if you want an early night. Ask for a refurbished roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Le_Clara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Kilbride
21.8 km away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
12.5 km away
Brisbane House Hotel
28.8 km away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.9 km away
Fairfield House Hotel
21.6 km away
Piersland House Hotel
6.3 km away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardrossan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seamill Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seamill Hydro

Property: Seamill Hydro
Address: 39 Ardrossan Road, West Kilbride KA23 9ND, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > West Kilbride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Kilbride
Price range (per night): RM420 - RM911
Hotel Class:4 star — Seamill Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Seamill Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seamill Hydro West Kilbride
Hydro Seamill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing