We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Seamill Hydro
Nearby Hotels
The Waterside Hotel(West Kilbride)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$109
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lauriston Hotel(Ardrossan)
US$97
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
US$101
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Elvoline
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,657)
Filter reviews
1,657 results
Traveller rating
868
428
199
93
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
868
428
199
93
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorangery restaurantsea viewaura barbuilding workrefurbished roomleisure facilitiesfirst classsauna and steam roomthe main hotelkids clubparty nightlovely hotelrelaxing stayisle of arrangreat nightan overnight staywedding venue
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 1,657 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

Stayed with my wife on an itison deal, and found the hotel to be beautiful, comfortable, and having very friendly helpful staff. We have stayed in rooms in other hotels at two or three times the price, and not had such a nice experience. One or two minor observations in the orangerie restaurant over portion size of the lamb, that will be fed back to chef, and i am sure will be sorted out going forward. It must be stressed however that the quality of the food could not be faulted and was very flavoursome. Had a great stay, and would thoroughly recommend for a romantic getaway , but would be even better with some nice weather, which is probably the only thing the staff couldnt fix.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HydroManager, Guest Relations Manager at Seamill Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Hi Colin, thank you for your feedback and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. It is lovely hear that you found the hotel beautiful, comfortable and definitely good value for money. We will pass on your comments to the kitchen regarding the portion sizes, but good to hear you found the food flavoursome. Thank you for the recommendation and we would love to see you return to the hotel in the future, and yes hopefully with nicer weather. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

We arrived on Monday 29th. January, on a house hunting trip. The two ladies on reception when we arrived couldn’t have been more friendly and helpful ( worth their weight in gold ) the receptionist when we left on the Wednesday was also great. When we went to our mini suit room 115 we couldn’t have been more pleased spacey, spotlessly clean and what a view from both sitting room and bedroom,altogher very comfortable and quiet. We ate both nights in the bar , the food was excellent and the staff were all very friendly and attententive absolutely excellent. Breakfasts were as good as every with a wide variety of fruit , cereals and plenty of choice from the cooked menu.
All in all an excellent visit and great value for money, and great staff.
Thanks to all, we will be back again before long.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank j0hnsellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HydroManager, Guest Relations Manager at Seamill Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Hi, thank you for your wonderful feedback and welcome back to the hotel. We are absolutely delighted to hear that our wonderful reception team looked after you well on check in and on check out, they are always highly praised for their professionalism. It is good to hear you enjoyed the spacious and comfortable room and enjoyed the restaurants. We hope the house hunting is going well and we would definitely love to see you back at the hotel in the future. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

We were greeted by Alison on arrival (after a 10 hour trip) she was delightful and really helpful. We then needed to use the electric point for the car and John came to our rescue. In the wind and rain he helped us sort everything out. The staff here could not be kinder or more helpful. The room was lovely and clean and although we were to late for dinner the breakfast was amazing the staff were so attentive even though they were really busy we had 5* star service and food. Thank you all very much. Look forward to seeing you soon. We will definitely be back. A note to the managers - you have superb staff. Thank You All

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Jaspersmummy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HydroManager, Guest Relations Manager at Seamill Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Hi, thank you for your amazing feedback and we are delighted to hear you had a fabulous time at the hotel. We will pass on your lovely comments about Alison, John and the rest of our team. We would love to see you back at the hotel soon and once again, many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

Went for an overnight stay with dinner and breakfast. SUPERB....room, food and wonderful staff. Go and spoil yourselves at the wonderful Seamill Hydro plus beautiful views if Arran. What more could you ask for. Thank you everyone!!!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HydroManager, Guest Relations Manager at Seamill Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Hi Maureen, we are delighted to hear you had a superb time at the hotel and we love your feedback. The Seamill Hydro is definitely the ideal place to spoil yourself and enjoy a relaxing break. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

We stayed here for the first time last night, so we could attend a family party locally. We have used the hotel in the past for lunches and dinners, so wanted to take the opportunity to stay.
I booked a Junior suite with a sea view, which we had between two buildings, not quite what was advertised in the hotel pictures. The room was comfortable if a bit dated but being on the top floor, trying to fill a bath was a waste of time and the shower lacked power. Check-in was easy and attentive, everybody seemed focussed on the customer, so no complaints there.
Breakfast is good but it would be helpful to think that a couple without children, may be taking a break and have left children behind, so why sit us in the middle of lots of families and lots of young children. We love kids but we all need a break sometimes, so think about using different parts of the restaurant.
So overall, not quite as good as we wished for but passable but paying the extra for a partial sea view, felt a bit of a rip off

Room Tip: If you go for a sea view ask for the Cumbrae building
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HydroManager, Guest Relations Manager at Seamill Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Hi, thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and feedback your comments. We are disappointed to hear your stay at the hotel was not as expected and that you did not find the room to your liking. With an old building, the rooms in the hotel are unique and slightly different from one another, that it is impossible for us to advertise every room on the website.

It is good to hear you were checked in efficiently, our reception team always get fabulous feedback about their friendly and efficient service.

We are disappointed to read your comments about the breakfast service and if you had requested to be sat away from families in the Aura restaurant, our team would have been more than accommodating to meet your request.

We do hope that your experience does not deter you from returning in the future and we would love to see you back.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews