We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, rubbish service”
Review of Raven's Cliff

Raven's Cliff
Ranked #13 of 67 Restaurants in Motherwell
Price range: US$8 - US$24
Description: We believe food and drink should make you feel good. That’s why we prepare food with love and pride. And serve carefully chosen drinks in warm, bright, places that make people feel relaxed and comfortable as soon as they come in. Attention to detail and thoughtful touches make eating and drinking with us something you’ll want to do whenever you can. Our steaks are dry-aged for 35 days. Pizzas are hand-stretched and hand-finished. Our wine list is well balanced, with crisp whites and robust reds. And we do fizz on tap: by the glass or in a carafe to share with friends. Smooth cask ales, craft beers, and spirits sit alongside soft options that make tastebuds jump around. Pop in on the fly for a quick bite or settle into one of our comfy chairs and unwind over a meal that can last as long as you like.
Restaurant details
Description: We believe food and drink should make you feel good. That’s why we prepare food with love and pride. And serve carefully chosen drinks in warm, bright, places that make people feel relaxed and comfortable as soon as they come in. Attention to detail and thoughtful touches make eating and drinking with us something you’ll want to do whenever you can. Our steaks are dry-aged for 35 days. Pizzas are hand-stretched and hand-finished. Our wine list is well balanced, with crisp whites and robust reds. And we do fizz on tap: by the glass or in a carafe to share with friends. Smooth cask ales, craft beers, and spirits sit alongside soft options that make tastebuds jump around. Pop in on the fly for a quick bite or settle into one of our comfy chairs and unwind over a meal that can last as long as you like.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Visited twice over Easter weekend for food and drinks. Menu extensive, good choice, quality food - but service was atrocious. Not enough staff and they were just not aware - although new manager trying hard.

Thank snowyshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2018

Glad to see the steak nights deal is still there. Was at Ravenscliff last night for dinner with my son. Only ‘gripe’ I have is the food is still taking too long to being served. Still, it was excellent anyway.

Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan L, Manager at Raven's Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hi Patricia,

We love our steak night deal and know our guests do too so we had to keep it after the refurb. We've recently added back into our menu choice more Curries and our Scottish Specials are back!

We will continue to look at ways to improve our service speed.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018 via mobile

Another very enjoyable meal, the food, staff and service was it's usual high standard. We eat here every week, not just on occasions.
We call it ( Our Local ) as we feel so comfortable and relaxed there. My second home...almost!

Thank Alicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan L, Manager at Raven's Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hi Alicia,

Delighted to read your review and the team were over the moon to read it too.

See back in your second home soon.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

Early evening meal with friends, staff are lovely, food is good, but, place lacks atmosphere and is often quite empty and cold. It is above average but there's no button for that and I didn't feel it warranted a very good. Parking is easy and getting a table is rarely a problem. Worth a visit if you're just looking for pub grub at a reasonable price.

Thank Shona106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan L, Manager at Raven's Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hi Shona106,

Thank you for taking time to review your recent visit.

We hope that on your next visit we can wow you with service and get a very good.

See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

The new refurbishment at the Ravenscliff has been completed and it is looking great.Still doing two steaks & a bottle of wine for £20 and as usual they were delicious.They are however still using plastic straws but the managaress said they working with Marstons to try and cut them out.We will definitely be back again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank beezer67_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan L, Manager at Raven's Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Hi beezer67_12,

Thank you for taking time to review your visit. We have kept our Steak Night Offer of 2 steaks and a bottle of Hardys wine for £20 from 5pm on Thursdays as it was one of our most popular offers. We are working on reducing our use of plastic straw use

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Raven's Cliff also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Motherwell, North Lanarkshire
 

Been to Raven's Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing