We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything you might wish for and more!”

Review of The Slap Cottage

The Cottage where you can stay, overlooking  Scapa Flow
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage where you can stay, overlooking  Scapa Flow
The kitchen in the restored crofters cottage The sitting room with fire place and TV & DVD
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
The Cottage where you can stay, overlooking  Scapa Flow
The kitchen in the restored crofters cottage
The sitting room with fire place and TV & DVD
One of the stunning views from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Burray Village, Burray, Orkney Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tish C
Eddleston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything you might wish for and more!”
Reviewed 24 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Arrived by car ferry from Gull's Bay to St Margaret's Hope (hour's crossing) and then 15 minutes later we arrived at Slap Cottage. Beautifully renovated Orcadian cottage with absolutely everything to make sure your stay is comfortable. Nothing is too much trouble and Catherine and Neil are very welcoming and a fountain of knowledge. Fresh flowers are arranged in every room and a welcome pack is waiting on the kitchen table. As Catherine said to me, "you just need to bring yourselves" as towels, sheets etc are all there.
Outside the cottage, if you like animals you will be very happy. Pygmy goats and pigs, lambs, chickens, ducks, geese, dogs, cats - the list goes on, all very happy to be fed by you and great to open the door to in the morning. My favourites were the goats and kids - very sweet.
About a 15 minute walk away is the Sands Hotel where we ate most nights. Delicious menu with great variety and friendly staff. Best to book.
Loads to see and do in Orkney. We completed the shortest commercial flight in the world from Westray to Pappa Westray (got the certificate!!) super airport and very cheap flight but books up very quickly. Suffice to say this was one of the best holidays and I look forward to returning to Slap Cottage in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2017
thankyou for your lovely review of The Slap cottage, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, the animals also say thankyou for all their tit bits, we look forward to welcoming you back, catherine x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corsie309
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Orkney Holiday ”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had a brilliant week’s holiday based at “The Slap” cottage and in late September too thanks to the outstanding comfort and cosiness of the accommodation. The cottage is a masterpiece which cleverly superimposes modern living standards onto an incredibly well renovated early 19 century building. Stone walls 21/2 feet thick, flagstone floors and work surfaces combine well with all the mod-cons including underfloor heating and a walk in shower-room. These features are highlighted by Catherine’s lavish attention to decor and produce a fascinating and wonderfully comfortable holiday retreat. We were made to feel genuinely welcome by our hosts and though we arrived as strangers we left having made lovely friends who we look forward to seeing when we next visit Orkney. Being based on Burray allows full exploration of the Orkney Mainland . Orkney’s excellent roads give easy access to all the best locations . Amongst the “Must See” destinations are the Tomb of the Eagles, the Italian Chapel, the Fossil /Heritage Museum and the Beaches at Churchill Barriers No. 2 and 4. All are truly excellent features which are close to Burray village. We haven’t stopped talking about our fantastic Orkney holiday since our return home and are already planning a return visit next year to “The Slap”.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2016
thankyou for our lovely review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday at The Slap cottage, you are are now booked in for May 2017,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massuser
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cosy and peaceful”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We really enjoyed our time at The Slap cottage. It was our first (but hopefully not last) visit to Orkney, and this was the perfect base from which to explore. Catherine was a friendly, knowledgeable host and her enthusiasm for the islands was infectious. It's also really quiet -- if you don't mind the occasional quack, cluck, whinnie and bleat (we like them).

Some of the highlights for us:

- Well equipped, from the kitchenware to the washer and dryer, and the books and tv
- Really peaceful and super-cosy on a windy and rainy night
- The cottage was obviously refurbished with love and dedication
- The animals - it's fun being greeted by goats, ponies, chickens, ducks, ducklings, dogs (and a mischievous cat -- don't leave your car boot open and unattended if he's around -- he'll find his way in!)
- The half-hour walk to the pub at the Sands Hotel in Burray village over a quiet country road was beautiful
- The pub itself! Friendly staff, good food and drink

Note that internet access is intermittent, and my mobile network didn't always have a signal. You don't have to go far for a mobile signal, and it's not difficult to find WiFi to check in every day: In Burray, you can use the pub and the Fossil and Heritage Centre cafe, and various places in Kirkwall, including the library. If you really need constant access to the internet, you may want to stay in a town. But if, as I found out, you only *think* you need constant access to the internet, The Slap could be just the place for you to unwind and genuinely get away from it all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2016
thankyou very much for the lovely review of your stay in The Slap cottage, we welcome you back anytime, the animals are all missing you x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mwestwood...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb place to stay and explore Orkney”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The Slap is an original place to stay, a genuine restored Crofter's Cottage with a real homely feel. It is surrounded by a working Croft, it is special to wake up to the hens, goats and ponies looking over the fence at you, waiting to be fed! The personal touches with fresh flowers in every room, gifts of wine, fudge and wine on arrival make it extra special.
The cottage is well equipped for all your needs when staying and really comfortable to relax in after a day of exploring the Islands.
The Slap is easy to access just off the main road from St Margaret's Hope to Kirkwall. It has wonderful views across the Churchill Barriers and Scapa Flow.
We will be returning again in the future.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2016
thankyou for your lovely review of The Slap cottage, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the animals are missing you, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marionsmi...
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent - everything we wanted, and more.”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Lovely cottage with a really homely feel - the renovation was obviously a labour of love. Extremely well equipped, spotless, and very comfortable. Catherine was very accommodating and welcoming, as were the extras such as wild flowers in lovely old jugs, eggs, wine, sweeties ... and paddocks right by the cottage with goats, sheep, ducks, chickens, etc. to feed and have a chat to in the mornings. Well, it works for me.

She also made our dogs very welcome. It made a big difference that the area around the cottage is completely dog-proof, so we could have the front door open and not worry about escape attempts.

We enjoyed our stay very much, and will definitely stay again. Highly recommended. Thank you, Catherine.

ps We noticed how accessible the cottage would be for somebody with mobility issues, including using a wheelchair (though probably only if transferable).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pretty much everything. Catherine's attention to detail is excellent.
Liked least: All was good.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2016
thankyou for your lovely review of our cottage, glad you enjoyed your stay with us also the dogs, we welcome you all back anytime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$334
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing