We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical”
other travellers have booked this property
Private, sheltered sun terrace with stunning views over the Strathearn Valley and beyond.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private, sheltered sun terrace with stunning views over the Strathearn Valley and beyond.
The cottage is close to the River Earn with open views over the Strathearn Valley to Ochil Hills. Enjoy an atmospheric open Log Fire in the Lounge area. with solid oak floors and underfloor heating.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
Private, sheltered sun terrace with stunning views over the Strathearn Valley and beyond.
The cottage is close to the River Earn with open views over the Strathearn Valley to Ochil Hills.
Enjoy an atmospheric open Log Fire in the Lounge area. with solid oak floors and underfloor heating.
Beautiful bright Bedroom with Superking sized Bed with crisp Egyptian linen, views over Crieff Hills
bright and very spacious twin room with three windows showing stunning views South, East and West
Stylish and spacious open plan Kitchen with Caithness stone worktop and dining for 6 people
Enjoy al fresco dining on the sheltered sun terrace with amazing views over the Strathearn Valley.
Open views from the large fenced in lawn garden to the River Earn, across the valley to the Ochils.
See stunning sunsets over Ben Vorlich and the Crieff Hills in the West.
A winter wonderland at the Retreat - the location is stunning at anytime of the year.
This beautiful photo was taken by a guest at New Year!
A shot taken from the garden by a guest during the Christmas week.
Enjoy being surrounded by a winter wonderland and super cosy inside with underfloor heating/log fire
The large open plan living area with part of the sitting room and kitchen in the background
Raymond Blanc came to visit with his right hand man, Steve, Jamie and Lisa (owners)
There are stunning views from each window.
Extremely spacious, high ceilinged Living area with beautiful solid oak floors & lovely furnishings.
New astro/artificial grass Tennis Court for guests to enjoy.
The most private and secluded location with total privacy on all sides of the house.
This stunning shot of the hills was taken from the cottage by a guest.
A wonderful sunset taken by a guest from the Retreat garden.
A guest enjoys watching the sun going down from the Retreat.
A guest takes a photo through the window of the Retreat of the sun going down.
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Auchterarder, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
paulinecl...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed 19 October 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A total "retreat" as described. A rural setting, with peace and quiet, watched the stars on Christmas eve with a glass of champers and the twinkling fairy lights that adorned the cottage.

Christmas day, tried repeatedly to rise from bed, but the luxury white Egyptian bedlinen kept pulling us back to a cosy slumber. Everything I wished for a roaring fire, open plan living allowed laughter and chat while preparing dinner. The kitchen had all the utensils to enable a festive meal to be prepared.
Plenty of recommended dining experiences in nearby villages of which were spot on.
Everything about the cottage was first class. "The Retreat" is just a delightful, magical,cosy,chilled out place to be. "Go for it"

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2016
Thank you for the kind review - we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Retreat and Christmas was made extra special!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Twiste...
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A peaceful haven”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We absolutely loved this place! Super hosts, well stocked, clean, beautifully located and so very quiet. Lovely big enclosed garden meant the kids could run around safely, lots of amenities nearby, great walks on the doorstep and we even had deer and hares pop by for a visit. We'll be back, hopefully soon and I think we'll book the cottage with the hot-tub next. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Retreat and will look forward to welcoming you back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S
Lower Plenty, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fabulous place to stay in a fabulous luxurious cottage.”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We booked this place from Australia online and were not disappointed. We were met at the property on arrival and were shown through the cottage and given a run through on how things worked. Eggs, bread, butter, jam, milk, tea, coffee and other cooking essentials were all provided along with delicious chocolates. The kitchen was fabulous and had everything you needed. The location was perfect with beautiful views and only just over an hour's drive from Edinburgh and Glasgow. Being from Australia we wanted to see as much of Scotland as we could in the week we were there but we could have easily spent the whole time relaxing around the property. A fantastic farm shop and cafe was just down the road. Thoroughly enjoyed our time there and will certainly recommend this vacation rental to our friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to pick out any one thing.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2016
It is always a pleasure to welcome guests from Australia! Delighted to hear how much you enjoyed The Retreat and managed to see so much of our beautiful country .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oscar&Mil...
Colchester,England
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We spent a lovely week at The Retreat at Trinity Gask. We had high expectations as the photographs looked fabulous and we were not disappointed. Fantastic attention to detail meant that we had everything we needed and the extra touches were very much appreciated. The cottage was very clean and remote enough that the views were spectacular but not so remote you felt isolated. A very handy binder had excellent recommendations for daytrips and places to eat both locally and a little further afield.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2016
It was a pleasure to welcome you both to The Retreat and we were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny M
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven!”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We booked the Retreat as an 'end of term' de-stress and we couldn't have asked for a more appropriate cottage than the Retreat! The views (from every window) were just spectacular and although they made us feel the remoteness we wanted, the cottage is not too far from Auchterader where there are some lovely little shops and eateries. Being able to sit in bed with a morning cup of tea watching deer graze and herons fly by is pretty special! The cottage was beautifully clean (even by my standards - I'm pretty OCD with cleaning!!!) and so comfortable. The children loved the gardens where they could play without fear of disturbing any one and they felt very grown up at being able to walk by themselves down the track to say hello to the horse in the paddock at the end. They also appreciated the use of the tennis court. It was wonderful to be able to throw on some walking shoes and have walks on our doorstep. We received a warm welcome from Pam (the housekeeper) who had a tea tray set out for us along with hot cross buns and Easter chocolate for the children. Lisa, the owner, although on holiday herself was very attentive in that she text at the beginning of our stay to check we were happy and then again at the end of the stay to wish us a safe journey home. Perth and Stirling were both easily accessible as was the glorious countryside in and around Loch Tay. Now that we are back, we are genuinely 'missing' the peace and quiet that the cottage gave us and will be looking to book again. A beautiful cottage in a beautiful part of the world.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for the lovely review - we were so glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stay and will look forward to welcoming you back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$175
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing