We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bluestone Church

Charming cottage, warm and comfortable, perfect home-from-home, scenic location
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Charming cottage, warm and comfortable, perfect home-from-home, scenic location
Lovely square lounge, great views out over the river to the hills beyond. Cosy corner of the Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Charming cottage, warm and comfortable, perfect home-from-home, scenic location
Lovely square lounge, great views out over the river to the hills beyond.
Cosy corner of the Lounge
Sunroom  & Wood burning Fire - great feature of the open plan kitchen and dining area
Well equipped kitchen, with ample glassware, crockery, cookware, and all appliances.
Dining area - all set out with welcome tea tray
Front Bedroom - comfortable beds, with fresh white cotton beddiing
En-suite, Bath, Basin and Toilet to Front Bedroom
Picture post card perfect in winter with a cosy wood-burner
Loch Earn, on the doorstep -  glorious scenery in an area of outstanding beauty
Sunset on Loch Earn
Beautiful Loch Earn on your doorstep - water sports, walks and wildlife
Sculpture in the Loch glows in the Sunshire
Bluebell woods - this area is known as big tree country.  Stunning in all the seasons
Summer on Loch Earn
Winter wonderland on Loch Earn
Glorious sunset
Walk through the woods
Oban Harbour on the West Coast
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
St Fillans, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
exiledinc...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This is a very well equipped and comfortable cottage in a pleasant, quiet location. The owner takes a particular interest in making sure that you have a great stay. We would highly recommend Bluestone Church and would certainly return for a future visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2017
Thank you again for coming to stay at Bluestone Church, and for your generous review. We are delighted to hear that you found the welcome warm, and the cottage so well-equipped and comfortable. Scotland is renowned for its hospitality, and we take pride in offering our guests that experience. We strive to provide our visitors with their own 'home from home' in the Scottish Highlands, and do all that we can to ensure a happy holiday experience. There can be little doubt that Bluestone Church is a unique cottage, in a beautiful loch-side location, and it is great to know that you enjoyed its charm. Thank you again for highly recommending Bluestone Church. It is lovely to hear you say that you would definitely think about coming to stay on another occasion. For our part you would both be most welcome. 'Haste ye Back'

All the Best
Grace (and Jo)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrVictorM...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pure Bliss”
Reviewed 31 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful building in a beautiful location, everything about this accommodation is blissful. The owners are extremely friendly, interesting and warm. not a fault to be found inside or out. If you are planning on experiencing Scotland you would be hard pressed to find a better base to do so. I would happily live in the shed! cant wait to visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2017
Thank you very much for coming to visit and for your charming review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed a warm Scottish welcome, and had a great first experience of our homely Bluestone Church. We agree the building is very special and unique, the perfect romantic Highland hideaway. It was our pleasure to share it, and this very beautiful area of Perthshire with you. We are so pleased to know that you had a happy and comfortable stay. It is a privilege to have breath-taking and ever-changing scenery all around us, and beautiful Loch Earn so easily accessible right outside the front door. St Fillans lies within the Loch Lomand and Trossachs National Park and is recognised as the geographical centre of Scotland, and is indeed an ideal location to explore locally and further afield all that spectacular Scotland has to offer. We hope you may come again to enjoy this special place in the World.
All our Best Wishes, Chris and Grace
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowena D
1 review
“A wonderful fairytale holiday accommodation”
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We absolutely loved our stay in the Bluestone Church in St Fillans. The location is just fabulous. St. Fillans is a beautiful little town right at Loch Earn. A good spot to start exploring the surroundings (Perthshire, Loch Lomond area, etc). The church itself is transformed into a beautiful comfortable 4-person accommodation, that was very well equiped. There was nothing we couldn't find in the house. We even used the BBQ in the garden. It lies at the main road but it is very quiet over there.
Grace is a perfect host. We truly felt welcome by her and enjoyed all the tips she and Jo and Liam gave us. We traveled with a 3 year old and got lots of good childfriendly tips to enjoy ourselves in the area. Thank you for this warm welcome! We'll definitely be back some day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2017
Thank you Rowena and family for coming to stay, and for your really lovely review. How great that you found the cottage to be 'a wonderful fairytale holiday accommodation' We think it is a romantic and unique little place with its own charm, so we are so pleased to hear you say that you absolutely loved your stay ar Bluestone Church. Yes, please come back again - you would be more than welcome anytime. Delighted to hear you enjoyed our warm welcome and found the house to be generously equipped with all you needed, as well as being child friendly. It remains our prime concern that our valued guest enjoy a happy and comfortable stay and a great experience of Scottish hospitality - glad you found it so.
With all good wishes, Grace, and Jo.
(We will let Liam at the Village Shop know that you mentioned him, and appreciated his kind help too).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dragonbab...
Liverpool. Uk
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 25 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

I knew when I booked the Blue Stone Church that it would be something special and I wasn't disappointed.
After a lovely week here with my partner and two teens I am already contemplating our next visit.
If you are after a quiet and relaxing break then this is the place to stay.
If you are after a base to return to after a hard day exploring Scotland then this is the place to stay.
The church is beautiful, modern, spacious and spotlessly clean and tidy.
It felt like a home from home and I would happily live there. There is everything on site required for a perfect stay. All the kitchen equipment and appliances you need, an abundance of towels and even a BBQ although we didn't have the pleasure of using it as we were out and about on the sunniest days. We did however manage to catch a couple of evenings of late sun and had a few relaxing drinks in the lovely garden.
The wifi is good and necessary if you need to be able to check in with dog sitters for example as there is no reception in the whole area.
St Fillians is a quiet, off the beaten track, picturesque village with a beautiful Loch, great walks and lots of places to discover.
The village shop next door which is also a coffee shop stocks all the basics but don't leave it too late in the day for items like bread as they sell out quite quickly.
The nearest village of Comrie has a lovely bakery which we visited first through the week then again on our way home to stock up on some curry pies to take home.
Delicious.
The village of Killin is nearby where you will find Dochart falls and we accidentally stumbled upon their Highland games day which was fun.
Rob Roy's grave was a short drive away so we decided on a visit. Well worth it for the history and a look at the original church ruins. Behind the newer church you will find a waterfall and some lovely walks. Wear walking shoes.
A car is essential if you want to make the most of your visit. We wanted somewhere fairly remote and quiet with access to something noiser if we fancied it. Although they were a decent drive away we visited Edinburgh, Inverness and Loch Ness.
There are limited places to eat within walking distance but we had done our research before hand and were prepared for a few home cooked meals. We had Sunday lunch at The Four Seasons which was delicious. We weren't as impressed with our second meal there through the week but it was ok. We also tried the only takeaway that would deliver to us, a Tandoori, hefty delivery charge but the food was lovely.
The village would benefit from a nice pub.
All in all we loved our time spent at the Blue Stone church, it was all the peace and tranquility we were after and we hope to return.



Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for your fulsome and generous review. How gratifying to hear you describe Bluestone Church as a very special place in a wonderful location. Indeed we are very lucky to enjoy such beautiful picture postcard surroundings on the banks of Loch Earn. Thank you for enjoying Bluestone Church as your 'perfect home from home', and for noticing the attention we pay to the smallest of details to ensure our guests enjoy a warm welcome and great Scottish holiday experience. We very much hope to welcome you back again soon. Each of the four seasons of the year has its own distinct charm up here in St Fillans with ever changing scenery. 'Haste ye back' as we say in Scotland. With all good wishes, Grace, and Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
will_p_ry...
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just as good as we remember”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This was our second time in Bluestone Church and it was every bit as enjoyable as we remembered. The house is incredibly comfortable. No detail, however small, is overlooked. It is really in a different league from most holiday rentals! The area is beautiful with lots to see and plenty of opportunities for walks. It's also within driving distance of Edinburgh for a day trip and a visit to the Castle. Highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: This house is well stocked
Liked least: We were not there long enough!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2016
Thank you Bill for your generous review, and for choosing to come back to stay for a second time. We are so pleased that you found we are maintaining our very high standards. The comfort and enjoyment of our guests is really very important to us, so thank you for noticing the attention we give to the smallest detail to ensure that your stay was a memorable one. It is very pleasing that you rate The Bluestone Church to be in the top league of holiday homes, thank you very much, it means a lot. We very much hope to welcome you back again sometime again.
Best Wishes - Grace, and Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$174
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing