We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Highlands retreat.”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Foyers, Loch Ness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Debbie T
Chester
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect Highlands retreat.”
Reviewed 6 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Where to begin! We've just had the most wonderful week at Hazelgrove with our two dogs, there are so many positives to share I don't know where to start!

To say Hazelgrove is a home from home really is an understatement, I actually think it's far better equipped than our home and definitely prefer its stunning location, perfect for exploring Loch Ness and beyond. We were amazed by the thought and consideration that has obviously been put into Hazelgrove and think it is this that makes it so special. Everything you could conceivably want or need is provided and to the highest of standards.

There's a computer, puzzles, games, books, maps, leaflets and a wealth of information on the immediate and wider area. There's also a folder of useful information about nearest shops, places to eat out etc. The owners, who live next door, provided a very generous welcome basket on arrival (sausage, bacon, jam, fruit, butter, cereal, eggs, milk, biscuits, local beer and even a tasty biscuit treat for our dogs). Fiona popped round after we had settled in to check all was well.

You could create a banquet in the kitchen with the variety of utensils, pots, pans and dishes. Nothing has been forgotten. Not yet cold enough for the Aga, but the electric oven and hob served us well. Washing up liquid, washing powder, dishwasher tablets, cleaning materials, cling film, food, bags, foil are all provided, and more besides. You name it, it's there. Even the dogs were catered for with treats, and temporary dog tags with the Hazelgrove telephone number.

The L shape lounge is warm and cosy, logs for the wood burner are in plentiful supply, together with a helpful guide on how to light a fire. (We were pretty rubbish to begin with, but improved as the week went on!)
To the back of the cottage is the utility room and a great area for coming and going with dogs or muddy boots. The heat from the boiler dries everything out really quickly and the hoover and dustpan and brush make cleaning any mess quick and easy.
There is plenty of storage in the bedrooms and we slept well in an extremely comfortable bed! An extra blanket and hot water bottle are provided, although we didn't need these during our stay.
In the bathroom, you have the choice of either a bath or an invigorating and powerful shower, and guess what? Bath soak and hand soap are provided!

We absolutely loved the garden, so relaxing and tranquil with the colours and sounds of nature literally on the doorstep. The back garden is safe and secure for dogs and the forest is immediately behind it. A perfect spot to watch red squirrels high in the treetops and in the evenings we could hear deer calling in the forest. (This really confused our dogs!) Whichever window you look out of, the view is stunning . From the picture windows in both the kitchen and dining area of the lounge, you are treated to spectacular views of Loch Ness, the colours and landscape seem to change each time you look out. I miss that view already.

Out and about, driving in any direction provides spectacular views at every turn and there are walks galore, both locally and further afield. Foyers Falls via Inverfarigaig Forest and back along the shores of the Loch to Hazelgrove was a favourite for us, as was the Three Lochs walk. Fort Augustus with the Caledonian Canal Locks is well worth a visit and although the drive over to Skye is long (about 2 hours) it's well worth it. Inverness is only about 20 miles away and we did a lovely walk along the river to the point where it meets the sea, then followed the Caledonian Canal back to the town.

A weeks stay was no where near long enough to fully appreciate everything this beautiful area of the country has to offer and already we are longing to return. Thank you Fiona and Graeme for sharing Hazelgrove, we hope to be back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roy_forbe...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 4 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We were a party of four adults and three dogs. Hazelgrove has a lovely secure garden which was ideal for our dogs. The cottage was a real home from home. There are lovely walks nearby for dog owners who do not want to venture far but the area also offers plenty of choices for days out in every direction. We especially enjoyed the wood burning fire and quite honestly cannot think of anything we would change about Hazelgrove. We would have no hesitation in recommending Hazelgrove and hope to return for another relaxing break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieSp...
Muhldorf am Inn, Germany
2 reviews
“The perfect place for our first holiday in Scotland with 3 adults, 1 child and 2 dogs”
Reviewed 17 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Hazelgrove Cottage was a great "homebase" for us. The location was just perfect for our trips to different directions and it was like coming home every evening.

We can confirm every positive statement of prevoius reviews about the cottage and the location so I just want to add a fiew points:

The equipment of the cottage was the very best I ever had in a holiday home. Everything you need (and usual you have to buy on the first days to save space in the baggage) was there - and in a very good Quality. So after travelling 3 days by car and ferry our vacation just started when we arrived at Hazelgrove.

The meal, that Fiona and Graeme provide for the evening of the arrival was delicious and very comfortable!

The garden is perfect for dogs and the fence is secure, except for our male Husky due to his great passion to chase and ability to jump very high. So to avoid every risk, he had to stay on lead. Nevertheless the garden was excellent for the dogs!

The very very best of Hazelgrove are the landlords Fiona and Graeme! If you need them, they are available. If you dont need them, you dont recognize, that they are living next door. Even as we caused a damage in the cottage, Fiona and Graeme seem to care more about my upset mind than the damage itself.

We loved our stay in Hazelgrove - the absolutely perfect place for us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fiona and Graeme
Liked least: leaving the cottage at the end of the holiday
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanneme...
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Great!”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

It is a great place for relaxing and coming down. The landlords are very kind and our family enjoyed it very much. Thanks a lot!

Best wishes from Berlin!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol K
1 review
“A welcome escape!”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A fabulous place to stay to get away from it all and enjoy the silence and stunning scenery. The cottage has been well thought out and provides comfortable and spacious accommodation . With beautiful woodland walks on the doorstep there is no need to venture far to enjoy this totally unspoilt area. The facilities in the cottage make it a real home from home. We loved having the wood burner lit in the evening it gave the lounge area such a cosy and homely feel. Would recommend Hazelgrove cottage to anyone wanting to escape from their busy lives. A special mention for Janet the Reiki therapist, her treatment set me up for the week and gave me the opportunity to experience something I have wanted to try for a while.
Fiona and Graeme have done a great job with their comprehensive website and information folders, cannot think of anything negative to say.
Would love to return for another visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing