We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't regret staying here!”
Review of Sandhill House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandhill House
Ranked #2 of 11 Troon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Its taken me a few months to share my stay at this gorgeous boutique hotel, we (Mr and Me and the Son) had two rooms here over a summer weekend, what a gorgeous person the owner is, filled with lovely stories about the area, great tips on what to see, we felt like we had dropped in on friends, In my mind, I'd imagined one of those chintzy B&B's you see in House & Garden run by old ladies of a certain vintage, I guess I had watched too many BBC shows, this is a surprise, nicely decorated, huge garden, view of Royal Troon, and I loved seeing the train pass, the alpaca had only eyes for my son, and I guess she has good taste...Thank you we loved our little visit, amazing breakfast by the way!!!

Room Tip: Each room has its own charm, both the rooms we had were lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wendyinafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Travelling with my family to Rome via Prestwick Airport we were looking for somewhere local to stay after arriving home due to the late flight arrival time along with a place to leave the car for the 4 days city break duration.

So glad I came across this place as it turned out to be a Great Find and an exceptional standard B&B

After arriving on the Saturday afternoon we were greeted warmly by the owners who showed us which rooms we would be staying in and explained where to retrieve the keys after our late arrival.

They then let us park and took us to the nearby airport for our flight all at no cost.

On arrival back in the U.K. After midnight we got a cab back to the hotel and arrived to 2 beautifully presented rooms that had been heated prior to our arrival to compensate for the cold autumnal weather.

1 room for the kids and one room for us.

Both beautifully decorated and with some lovely touches. Beds were super comfy and linens / towels are all excellent quality.

Tea and coffee facilities were available along with bottled water.

A great nights sleep was had by all and having showered and dressed we went down for breakfast at 9am

What a lovely venue were a warm welcome was only surpassed by the fabulous array on offer.

Cereals, breads, pastries, fruit, yoghurts, preserves, juices etc were all there for your delight and then you had the choice of a fabulous Scottish breakfast or a selection of eggs and sides.

Wonderful start to the day and set us up for the 3 hour journey back to Newcastle.

Would have no hesitation in recommending this place and would hope to stay there again be it for a family stay or on business.

Thanks to you all for a lovely stay and for all your help.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank TheGasMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

Family of 5 and a dog, all welcome! Lovely big room with a king bed and 3 singles, one of which is in a little separate room. All very clean and tidy. Lovely to see the alpaca and ponies out of the window, all very friendly too, the children now want an alpaca!! Breakfast plentiful and delicious. Highly recommend.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Sacha428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

What a fabulous place to stay, great location, fantastic views, loads of space inside and out. We were made to feel so incredibly welcome, fabulous hosts. As a family of 6 (with a wee dog too) it's often difficult for us to find somewhere to stay which can accommodate us all for a couple of nights with no hassles. We were so fortunate to stay in the annex attached to the large house (The Mews) ideal for us with 3 bedrooms (enough beds for all), a kitchen and our own living room. Only one bathroom which required the teenagers to develop the skill of thinking of others when taking a shower - great learning for them! In all seriousness having 1 bathroom was no drama at all for us. Having our breakfasts in the morning in the main guest house worked perfectly, literally a 1 minute walk to the front door of the main house. The breakfasts were sensational, cooked to perfection, I can highly recommend the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon - delicious!!! We also enjoyed relaxing in the main sitting room of the guesthouse and enjoying the views from their too. The kids loved all the animals, meeting the alpaca was a real treat. Loads of space inside and out and if you do have kids heaps of space to run about and kick a football without bothering anyone else. Great location, close to Troon town centre (not too far to walk but simple to take the car too). A very short walk to the cycle path which goes for miles in either direction, ideal if you like to run in the morning. Royal Troon golf course is right in your view and very accessible by foot (off the cycle path) which was good fun for us when we were out walking, a great experience for us all to walk part of the course and onto South beach. We would highly recommend Sandhill House, great location, gorgeous setting and fabulous hosts - we will definitely be back for another stay.

Room Tip: If you are a family of 4 or more I would recommend staying in the Mews
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bizzymum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Our stay at Sandhill House was a highlight in our vacation. Although we arrived late, we were warmly welcomed by Elaine who enquired whether we had eaten. Our first impression of the house itself was of awe and of cleanliness. Built by the Duke of Portland in 1890 and now thoroughly modernized Sandhill House is the most elegant B&B we have ever stayed at. Since it is situated on 9 acres of secluded property the night was completely quiet. Breakfast was excellent and served with friendliness and warmth. We were encouraged to visit the stables and friendly animals. If we ever again return from Canada, Sandhill House would definitely be on our itinerary and we would try to arrange to stay more than one night. A word of caution: because it is at the end of a lane either bring directions or have a GPS.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
1.8 km away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,122 reviews
1.9 km away
Piersland House Hotel
3.2 km away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Parkstone
Parkstone
#1 of 5 in Prestwick
638 reviews
0.9 km away
Lochgreen House Hotel
2.6 km away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandhill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandhill House

Address: Southwood Road, Troon KA10 7EL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Troon
Price Range: RM370 - RM490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SANDHILL HOUSE ... Bed and Breakfast with style ...A huge Victorian red sandstone house with a warm heart, set in 9 acres of glorious gardens and woodland with spectacular seaviews. Sandhill House is an ideal location for visitors who want to explore this beautiful part of Scotland. Golfers find this a first class location, as it is a few minutes from Royal Troon Golf Course. Several other fine golf courses, including Prestwick & Turnberry being a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sandhill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing