We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Glenapp Castle(Ballantrae)
US$415
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balkissock Lodge(Ballantrae)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
4
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
3
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 7 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Mrs Drummond made us very welcome in her charming house at the best end of town with its fine view (two front bedrooms) across the Stinchar estuary. The bedrooms are not en suite, but the shared bathroom is spacious and comfortable. All rooms are nicely appointed, especially the dining room.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the two front bedrooms to get view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Marti Drummond was a brilliant host, full of helpful knowledge and ready for a chat. Also helpful with some personal matters. Comfortable rooms with everything you need. The bathroom is shared and ginormous but no one else was there when we were so we took full advantage of the space.

Thanks Marti!

Room Tip: Walking distance to the town pub
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAMO58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We arrived without booking so chose the place on the basis of the view which is great. Able to walk to the pub for a meal. Room spacious and well appointed. Bed very comfortable. Breakfast fine with the view over the fields and river. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: See if you can get the larger front room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HAMACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I recently took a trip to Scotland, and stayed in Ballantrae, Ayrshire for 3 nights at the Ardstinchar Cottage. I would highly recommend this B&B, as it is truly a great place to stay with wonderful service. The room was done up beautifully, and the view from from the room just cannot be beat. Marti and her family were really great and friendly hosts, offering lots of tips about what to see and do in Ayrshire, and it was a real pleasure to meet them. The breakfast was outstanding, with lots of food, and perfectly prepared. The location is unbeliveable. The Ardstinchar Cottage is located right beside the river Stinchar, where you can take a walk down a really nice Riverside path, and see some incredible scenery. If you are considering staying in South Ayrshire, I would highly recommend you stay in Ballantrae at the Ardstinchar Cottage, as the rooms are perfect, and you have everything within walking distance (ATM, Great store, Pub, Restaurant), as well as outstanding service.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

My brother and I stayed here during the Turnberry Open 2009 and had a fantastic time. It's a real hidden gem. Marti is a great host and the rooms are clean and quiet, the view from our room was a great way to shake off a hangover as well as the breakfast which is top notch.

I'd highly recommend staying here if you are visiting this part of the world. You need a car too get around but it's a lovely village with a good local hotel/pub.

Hope to be back again some time for the British Open in Turnberry again.

Kevin (London)

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kgannon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews