We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eating at Cook's in The Queen's Hotel”
Review of The Queen's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Queen's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bridge of Allan
Reviewed 4 July 2016

My overall rating is severely impacted by the appearance of the property and this review is mainly for the restauirant; I was entertained to lunch here today and it was very, very good. We've been to the Cook's in Stirling and they suggested we try the BOA too. We went for the special lunch menu and it was most impressive; Perfect Parfait, Prawn Cocktail, Stonking Slow Cooked Beef, Brilliant Burger and good coffee! Regrettably today's ice cream was walnut so I cannot comment. Maybe next time. Other visitors had the afternoon tea and it looked really good so we'll be back. All in all, I'd recommend Cook's to all the ladies in my activity classes, we are all "Ladies Who Lunch" and enjoy trying new places whenever we can. That said, the facade of the Hotel itself is very tired and kerb appeal is low. We were invited to lunch, or I'm not sure we would have gone in and there is no shortage of eating establishments in BOA. Menu sheet just thrust haphazardously into the frame, Wallace monument flyer tacked up like an afterthought and peeling paint does not make for an attractive frontage. In short, the property is letting down an exceptional restaurant. We'll return and hopefully the welcome of the fabric will be warmer, apart from that, well done chef, keep up the good work.

Room Tip: We haven't used the hotel accomodation, only Cook's and it is there that I have rated for se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grouchylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2016

In the last week I have had dinner and a prosecco afternoon tea in the Queens Hotel but did not stay there. The food was excellent and very reasonably priced; the service was very good from a young charming attentive waiter who,gave us a free drink because our afternoon tea was a little delayed. My husband and I intend to go back soon for dinner

Stayed: June 2016
2  Thank claremonts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

We had a voucher off group on for afternoon tea. We were greeted with bubbly on arrival and a choice of cocktails. The cakes were lovely,more cakes than sandwiches but plenty to go around. Toilets are upstairs and seemed nice and clean too. Lovely afternoon out with friends.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Loganbrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

I stay here when I have my exams at the university. The staff always look after me, always had a nice room.

My only gripe was I couldn't open the window in room 2 and the room was very warm.

Rooms are modern and always clean.

Great breakfast, very high quality food they are using.

I will stay here again.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank 2016CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016

ownership changes may take time to bed in, but there is a lot to do at the queens hotel. List of issues

1. roof top / terrace was filthy. bird droppings crystalising and not cleaning up, dusty, needs a wash from top to bottom.

2. with a wheelchair user, locked out of the rooftop bar, which whilst my own fault, resulted in my carrying my son down the stairs and back in through the front. tried to call to get them to answer, but no answer. not ideal

3. Drinks / cocktails inconsistent. some prepared properly, some just lazy. inconsistency equates to laziness, which seems to be a theme from the reviews

overall, i have been going ot the queens in bridge of allan for 10 years. its a great location and building, and has a lot of potential.

hoping the new management get the chance to turn it around

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
4  Thank Kellyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridge of Allan
0.2 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
773 reviews
2.1 km away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
577 reviews
5.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
4.0 km away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
4.2 km away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen's Hotel

Address: 24 Henderson Street, Bridge of Allan, Stirling FK9 4HP, Scotland (Formerly Adamo Bridge of Allan)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling > Bridge of Allan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bridge of Allan
Price Range: RM558 - RM1,396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queen's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the up-market village of Bridge of Allan, 2 miles from Stirling Town Centre, the Queen's hotel, Bridge of Allan is a luxury boutique hotel with a range of contemporary designed rooms from doubles to suites and a Penthouse available. With a great Restaurant, Cocktail and Lounge bar it caters for all tastes and for the more energetic its very own late night venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Queen's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adamo Bridge Of Allan Hotel Bridge Of Allan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing