We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Homestay in Islay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ellister Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Port Charlotte, Islay, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Melville...
Bellevue, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Homestay in Islay”
Reviewed 24 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

I am a native of Islay who left the island 60 years ago. My American wife and I returned for a three-week vacation and chose Ellister Lodge through TripAdvisor. We also had three other family members spend time with us.
The house was the best furnished and best equipped of any home-stay we have ever experienced. It is located five miles south of Port Charlotte, two miles from Portnahaven and is located on a working farm. We thoroughly enjoyed that aspect, especially the fresh eggs from the free-range chickens, and waking to highland cows grazing in the fields outside. The house was spotless, quiet, the beds comfortable, the showers all worked, and the washer AND tumble dryer were much appreciated. There is plenty parking for several cars. A comprehensive instruction manual for most appliances was provided. The large kitchen was perfect for our home-cooked meals. When we had minor problems with equipment, they were quickly resolved by a phone call to Ian, the owner. The sheets and towels were changed for us once a week - thanks Rebecca. We appreciated the food basics that were provided when we arrived late in the day, milk, eggs, tea, coffee. sugar, butter, oatcakes, etc. The two bicycles provided were in good shape and tools were available for normal adjustments.
This house contributed enormously to a lovely vacation. I highly recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2018
Hi Mel, Many thanks for a very thoughtful (and positive!) review - much appreciated. We're glad you had a good stay, we do try to keep it nice - well, it's our home for some of the time! I'll let Rebecca know, too. Best regards, Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile777...
1 review
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed 4 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Stayed in this wonderful place for a week during the Feis Ile 2018. Had lovely weather, so the use of the decking, barbque and bikes was highly appreciated. This is a fantastic house with a comforting feel and amazing views. Would recommend to anyone, especially if wanting to go to the Whisky Festival.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2018
Hi Sue, it sounded like you were having a good time, but very good to see if confirmed! Many thanks for a lovely review. Cheers, Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 16 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Just returned from another lovely week at Ellister Lodge... wonderful time was had by all.. can't wait to go back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2017
Thank you very much, glad you enjoyed it. Come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mckieeile...
Alloa, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb stay with fantastic views”
Reviewed 26 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Stunning views from a beautiful lodge. Home from home well stocked with everything you need and more. Very spacious even for six adults that like their own room. Will return in the future.
Very satisfied with all aspects of booking and information supplied by Ian the owner.

Thanks again for a perfect stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2017
Eileen, thanks so much for this and for your kind email. So glad you liked things, that means everything to us as we do our limited best! We're here just now to do the odd bit of maintenance and have to agree with you! Do come back, although can't promise the hare next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee B
1 review
“Excellent views inside and out”
Reviewed 26 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Spent a week in Ellister using it as a base for a cycling trip with two friends. The house is beautifully located, spacious and comfortable with amazing views. We particularly enjoyed cooking in the well-equipped and amazing kitchen, enjoying the late afternoon sun on the extensive decking, watching the inquisitive local wildlife (stoats, deer, birds) and relaxing in the lounge next to a warm fire. Ian was a great host responding to any requests immediately and providing clear directions & instructions. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2017
Thanks Richard, most kind! Glas you liked it too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing