We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sundown Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

bonnikin1...
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Totally disagree with the previous review. The cottage was clean. Yes there was only one tea towel but who cares? There was ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING else. Very well equiped and with lots of extra things that wouldn't normally be provided. Even fresh flowers. The owner was there to welcome us and had lit the stove. She showed us how everthing worked. We found the cottage very comfortable. The surroundings are peaceful and the views are stunning. We had a lovely relaxing time. I really must thank the owner who was very accommodating after Trip Advisor made such a mess of our booking.

Date of stay: April 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
1 May 2016
Many thanks indeed for your kind words. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Sundown Cottage, having had issues with your booking administration via Trip Advisor. Regards Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
959marian...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Looked quirky on arrival, shown around by owner who left very quickly, after she left we started to to unpack, found downstairs toilet had not been cleaned, some toilet gel had been put down loo, but this did not clean pan that had been left in a disgusting mess, dust everywhere, owner pointed out log burning fire,this also had not been cleaned out, One dish cloth only, even although there was a dishwasher you still need to dry pots pans etc.. Bed Linen downstairs very washout and gray looking, also hot water had been turned off so family could not have showers until the owner had been contacted, some bulbs not working in lamps and overhead lights, owner did leave some goodies on dining table, but we would have preferred cleanliness above all else. The only plus plus was location. Have read great reviews 're Sundown Cottage, unfortunately I feel very let down.

Date of stay: April 2016
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Location and enjoyed our time as a family and overlooked our disappointment in the lack of cleanliness
Liked least: Really dirty toilet pans
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
20 Apr 2016
I am very sorry indeed to have read this review today on Sundown Cottage. This is clearly not the standard that we have excelled to achieve at Sundown Cottage with all our previous guests delighted with their holiday experience at the Cottage. I had used the services of a Cleaning Company very recently to service the cottages and on this particular weekend I was away and can only apologise sincerely for the obvious issues which you highlighted and which I am not happy with either. I will be in touch offline to discuss further your highlighted issues as this is not an experience we would like to repeat for guests. Christine MacKay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshir...
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great week”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic holiday in May with our 2 'older teen' daughters and feel very privileged to have stayed in such a lovely property. The standard of the accommodation is really good. All rooms are well appointed but it was the extra little touches like the fresh flowers and welcome 'supper board' which just made it so special.
The views are beautiful and though the weather was extremely changeable this added to the atmosphere and experience of the island.
We have friends in Stornoway and they joined us for supper one evening. There was ample crockery and the dishwasher was a blessing ...we do not have this luxury at home!
I would recommend Sundown to my friends and family. However I hope that it is not so popular that it is fully booked when we wish to return in the future!
Thank you so much for your hospitality Christine.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emlaw123
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views and a Very Comfortable House”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This house is very conveniently situated - not too far from Stornoway, but far enough to be completely out in the country. The accommodation was very comfortable and clean and we were very happy to receive a welcome pack when we arrived. There are no shops open on a Sunday and very few restaurants so it is vital to bring some food with you! The linen and plentiful towels were of a high quality and the kitchen contained all the cookware and equipment needed for creating meals for hungry people. The scenery is amazing and unspoiled with too many beautiful beaches to choose from! The food from the various restaurants we visited was excellent, and we were made welcome everywhere we went.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location and the view
Liked least: I would have liked warmer weather
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Back at Achmore for another wonderful week for the third time. This time we took both cottages as our family from Australia were with us (9 of us). The facilities are great and the cottages so welcoming and cosy, the views over the lochs towards the Harris hills are stunning. The cottages are so central for visiting the stunning beaches on Lewis and Harris. Thanks again to Christine and Calum Angus for making us feel so welcome. Cant wait to come back.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just everything about the cottages.
Liked least: Nothing wrong
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.