We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish restaurant with a view”
Review of Cafe Fish

Cafe Fish
Ranked #4 of 27 Restaurants in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: This small inauspicious fish restaurant is fast gaining nationwide recognition as one of the best and most exciting places to eat in Scotland. With a superb location & stunning sea views on the upper floor of the Calmac building on Tobermory pier, and their own fishing boat landing fresh local shellfish - its an experience not to be missed. Just turn up unannounced for lunch, but book in advance for dinner. Lots on offer for non fish eaters too.
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

Cosy and friendly small restaurant on the pier queue near the ferry in Tobermory Mull. Fantastic place for a fishy lunch. Delicious fish. Good service. We had hake and seabass .

Great though food - takes a while to prepare and serve, as one course and a drink took well over an hour, so cut short our sightseeing opportunity on a short day visit to Mull (so better not to get ferry on a Sunday as it goes back too early on last boat and go early to give time for looking around Tobermory and lunch plus time to see a bit of the island unless staying overnight.

Would recommend and return for a two or three course relaxed meal if staying overnight!

Comfortable with simple seaside decor. We enjoyed it.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Letenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 2,272 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

Cafe Fish generally has two fully subscribed sittings in the evening. This alone should tell you how good the food is. The restaurant itself is quaint and situated right on the harbour. We had dinner but it would be fab sitting on the deck enjoying the veiws at lunch. The seafood is super fresh, right off the boat and the menu is really innovative and delicious. My husband rated the seafood platter as the best he’s had and he’s had a few!!! Would definitely recommend this little gem but don’t forget to book!

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank Jacky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

Wasn't sure if it was a good move coming to a fish resteraunt when I am allergic to fish! However after an excellent coffee I decided to try the "Super Salad", and it lived up to its name! There were so many ingredients, each one original and delicious. While enjoying this meal, I could look out at the marvellous view of Tobermory bay and watch the ferry and many small boats coming and going. Although the place was busy and bustling the staff were excellent, being friendly, helpful and quick to explain the ingredients of any dish. The next time we are in Tobermory, I have promised my partner a return visit as she is a sea food lover,.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank v_marcinkiewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

We went over by boat from the mainland for supper at Cafe Fish in Tobermory. You MUST book as only small and very popular getting booked weeks in advance. The fish stew is a must! By far the best one I have ever had, so tasty, huge choice of fish in it.
Been going for years and never fails to disappoint!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AliceBF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

Café Fish has a relaxed informal atmosphere but with great food. We had some bloody Mary's which were great. I had the thai fish broth (can't remember exactly what it was called) and my partner had the warm platter for one but it was huge so we shared it. Both were very fresh and tasty. It isn't cheap but if you're a fish lover (or even if not) it was definitely worth it.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RTBALV23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Fish also viewed

Tobermory, Isle of Mull
Tobermory, Isle of Mull
 
Tobermory, Isle of Mull
Dervaig, Isle of Mull
 
Tobermory, Isle of Mull
 

Been to Cafe Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing