We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing & unique location with everything catered...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Skye Croft

Skye Croft with unspoilt views over Loch Snizort and beyond to the Minch and the mountains of Harris
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Skye Croft with unspoilt views over Loch Snizort and beyond to the Minch and the mountains of Harris
Inside your Skye Croft The cosy bedroom area, complete with alarm clock (should you need one) and MP3 attachment so you can
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Skye Croft with unspoilt views over Loch Snizort and beyond to the Minch and the mountains of Harris
Inside your Skye Croft
The cosy bedroom area, complete with alarm clock (should you need one) and MP3 attachment so you can
Modern kitchen area with everything you should need if eating in
Dining with a view of the garden and shorefront
A clean contemporary bathroom complete with underfloor heating
Snuggle up by the log burner in our cosy livingroom
Private parking and entrance to your holiday croft
A great little getaway
Stunning nature
Grill Kota BBQ Hut at Skye Croft
Seals and cormorants enjoying some summer sunshine
A Heron feeding on the shorefront
Even stormy clouds bring photo opportunities
Make sure your camera batteries are ready for stunning sunsets at the croft
Red skies at sunset
Kilt Rock and the Mealt Falls
Portree only a short drive away
The Old Man of Storr
Uig Harbour with ferry links to the outer isles
Gail - your holiday accommodation owner
Guest photo on the waterfront at Skye Croft
Guest photo of sunset skies from Skye Croft
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Portree, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Denise W
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing & unique location with everything catered for”
Reviewed 4 April 2012 for a stay in November 2011

We just loved our stay at Skye Croft. The croft and its location are a unique mix of the cosy and the spectacular, ideal for a break which really allows you to get away from things! This wee crofters cottage is set comfortably though discretely in a small crofting community with iconic Scottish highland views from its front door of North Uist to the left and the Cuillins to the right with tides carrying the sea to and fro within yards of the back door. How close can you get to nature and have all the essential comforts of a home where everything has been thought of! We will certainly be returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & wildlife
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Waking up to the most gorgeous views of the Loch
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DrKWills
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 30 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Our first contact with the owner of this property was the sad conversation that the house was already booked for the time we hoped to stay. The owner was kind enough to try to find us somewhere else to stay on the island, which is really beyond the call of duty. However, due to a last minute cancellation, we ended up bagging the Skye Croft anyway and enjoyed Hogmanay 2011 and the first few days of 2012 there.
It was a long drive there, with some hairy weather moments. We arrived in the dark, but it was still pretty easy to find. The windows were little glowing beacons welcoming us in from the cold. The dinner table was set for us, even with some festive crackers to pull. Once the log burner was up and running, our travel stress melted away.
The house was spotlessly clean with modern decor and all the mod cons. There is a nice balance of the old and new. It is really clear how much care and attention has gone into renovating this house. The weather was as you might expect in winter, with lots of wind, but none of this was felt inside - lovely and warm and safe.
The location is just gorgeous! It is really remote feeling, yet it is only a 10 minute drive to Portree and all it's amenities. It did feel like we were the only people around for miles, but there are neighbours nearby, so really you are not isolated at all. Brilliant!
What I liked least - poor/zero mobile phone signal. Probably a good thing on a break away from the city. Our folks had to wait a few days for us to wish them Happy New Year, but this was no biggie.
What I liked best - oooh, really hard to say. Skye itself, the scenery, the wildlife, the stars at night....and that we have found a great place to stay when we visit again. And we will.....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No phone
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dietmar G
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier C
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
Google Translation

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$106
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing