We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
The view from the cottage
The cottage in an elevated position overlooking the bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Portree, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Mathias K
Loerzweiler, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 20 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed over Christmas and well into the New Year and I can not express enough how much wie enjoyed our stay. The cottage is accessed directly from the sidewalk, but the little traffic did bot bother us at all, besides the cottage has fairly new windows, it is really not loud. The views from the living room and the bedrooms are simply breathtaking (if you are an early morning Jogger: jogg through town to stand at the top of the hill behind the cottage - marvellous! And on the way back you can get fresh Rolls from the co-op for your Family!).
The cottage itself is well equipped and has this homey feeling that prevents you from worrying about touching anything in case you might break something (especially those travelling with small children know what I mean ).
The location is ideal for short strolls into town, hiking trips or to get to anywhere else on the Island by car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, view, very good beds, open fire !
Liked least: Kitchen is very cold in the morning, as it has no heating, but heats up fairly quickly.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thewhisky...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Cottage & Amazing Views!”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We really enjoyed our stay in Brightwater Cottage, the house is well equipped and in an ideal location. Every window has a beautiful view over looking the sea and mountains, we were very fortunate with the weather too which made our stay even more perfect! In the evenings when it turned colder outside, we enjoyed curling up on the sofa's with a glass of wine, in front of the fabulous wood burning stove, a real treat! from the moment we booked to the end of our stay Sue and Pauline were very helpful, friendly and professional. We have already booked to stay again next year & can't wait :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing views, the location and cosy nights beside the fire!
Liked least: Nothing... Everything was great!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helenHull
hull
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in great location with amazing views”
Reviewed 16 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at Brightwater for a week at the beginning of September this year, this was our second visit to the cottage where we also spent a week last year. We returned to the cottage because it has a fantastic location it is very clean, comfortable and has everything needed to make it a 'home from home'.

It is a cottage that we would have no hesitation returning to on our next trip to Skye. Sue has always been really helpful and always able to answer any queries either by phone or e mail.

We will definitely choose Brightwater again as a base for Skye which is such a beautiful island that we have fallen in love with there are so many places to visit our favourite places so far have been Fearie Pools, Fearie Glen, The Old Man of Storr, Staffin Bay, Dunvegan Castle to name but a few ! This year we also enjoyed a day on Harris & Lewis visiting the Callanish Standing Stones, Stornoway and Luskintyre Beach.

We would recommend this cottage to others and definitely will be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margare19...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage with s tunning views”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed in this cottage for the second time in October and once again had a lovely relaxing week.. The cottage is very clean and a real home form home being very warm and cozy. The weather was very good for autumn. The wifi is a great addition this year and we are lokking forward to returning again soon. The views from the windows are stunning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The eaee of booking and access to the property. Owner very easy to conatct and replied to out emails immediately
Liked least: The week passd too quickly!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lithgow20...
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“left for home 4 days early because the cottage was dull and very uncomfortable”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Booked this cottage for seven days . Friday 9th October to Friday 16th October 2015. On arrival in darkness, the door had been left open for us . no contact from the key holder. When we turned on the lights fuses blew, and we had to search in the dark for fuse box, then find replacement light bulbs. The storage heaters had to be turned on to heat the place. There was a log fire place ,but it would have been helpful to have a some fuel supplied to light the fire on the the night of arrival. The sitting room was dull, uncomfortable ,and depressing . Two very old, worn and stained couches, and battered old table and wooden chairs. The couches too uncomfortable to sit on, which left only the wooden chairs which were also uncomfortable to sit on all evening.. The carpet in the sitting room was old , stained and needed hovered There was a flat screen television in the sitting room
The bed rooms were comfortable . The small kitchen, though dull, was well enough equipped . Portree and Skye did not disappoint. . The location of Brightwater Cottage was good . .:Local people friendly and helpful, good shops and amenities :; and beautiful places to drive to and enjoy the wonderful scenery.
We have visited the area many times before, and we look forward to return visits , but we would not stay at this cottage again. . We were so uncomfortable and disappointed with depressing accommodation, we stayed only 3 nights of the 7 booked and paid for. On leaving the cottage on Mon , we couldn't contact the owner or key holder to advise them we were vacating the cottage. We knocked on the neighbour's door.to ask him if he had a land line phone no for th keyholder {mobiles no signal}. The neighbour didn't have contact no , We advised him that we were leaving and house would be unoccupied . We locked door and put key through letter box. We called at the local police station to advise that the house was empty and we had been unable to contact the owner to advise of this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: the interior of the property was dull and uninviting
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2015
All phone numbers were supplied by both email at time of booking and also in welcome folder at cottage...my home phone number is also displayed outside on cottage sign. The cottage has free wifi so an email would have been an option if no mobile signal. Key holder attempted contact several times on arrival night but received no reply so had no option but to leave door unlocked as no arrival time had been given. very unfortunate about fuses blowing but fuse box is directly by front door which is well lit by street lighting.

Storage heaters are on at all times but some heat overnight so instant heaters could have been used if extra heat needed.

Refute claims that furniture is old and uncomfortable...please see previous reviews from very satisfied guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$112
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing