We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (586)
Filter reviews
586 results
Traveller rating
337
149
56
28
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
337
149
56
28
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub garden house art gallery isle of skye bar food the main hotel building venison burger whisky shop beautiful location charming hotel lovely spot hotel bar both nights dining room fabulous views sleat peninsula open fire
Filter
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 586 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

A brilliant stay end of April-beginning of May this year. Staff were warm, welcoming and extremely helpful from the off. Ambience of the hotel spot on with the gorgeous Skye Candles burning around the hall/reception area. Dinners were classy, fresh, plentiful and delicious with a very friendly waitress. The room was perfect - warm and well equipped for a hotel of this size. No tv but wifi there if you could not be without it (we could!). Will definitely be back.

Stayed: April 2016
1  Thank 736Holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EIleanIarmain, Manager at Hotel Eilean Iarmain, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted you had a beautiful stay with us here at Hotel Eilean Iarmain. One of the joys we have here is that you can disconnect from the outside world and take in all of the glorious views.
We love to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and hope to see you back again soon.
An dòchas gum faic sinn a dh’aithghearr sibh!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016

My family of four stayed for two nights. The upside is that the location is amazing, the room and suite we had were fine (although we couldn't get some things to work, and no WiFi in the suite - useful for a 2 year old) and the breakfast service was good.

The downside is perhaps that the hotel tries to be all things for all people. Dinner in the restaurant is from a nice set menu but not suitable for young children. The alternative is the bar. The bar seems to be managed as a separate operation. It caters food for residents as well as locals. It is pricey and the food is OK. There are also music nights so it gets busy with some interesting characters, dogs etc. Some guests eat and drink in the adjacent residents lounge which is fine. After a meal on the second night (no children's menu on Sunday) my son and I went to the lounge with our drinks as the bar was very loud. After a while we were confronted by a bar staff who accused us - very directly - as having 'skipped' as we had not yet settled out tab. This confrontation was in front of several hotel guests who were eating and drinking from the pub menu. Up until this point we had paid a king's ransom for our rooms and also for some meals, and it was known that we were residents.

As far as we are concerned this is inexcusable. Leaving without paying is a criminal offence, and we had no intention of doing that. We might have gone back for another drink. The staff member was not really bothered about this and came back with the bill which I paid. We had further conversations with managers who could only say that they would speak with the person concerned. Surely staff can be trained to enquire if residents would like anything else, or would like to settle up, charge to the room etc. As other reviewers have said the bar gets busy and noisy, so sitting in the lounge seemed a good option to us. The hotel manager turned up when we were checking out and was much more concerned that we had got annoyed with his staff member (it was us who were accused by him and in no uncertain terms).

Hotel accommodation in Skye can be difficult to find especially in the holiday period, and it is not inexpensive. There is no point in paying many hundred pounds for bad treatment. We would recommend giving this place a miss - book early for somewhere else. Skye is great.

Room Tip: Suites if you don't mind paying much more. Can be a bit noisy in the main building
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
17  Thank Kuching1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2016

tucked away in a corner of this beautiful isle, this property is an absolutely gem. Took a suite that transported us to a gracious era gone past. Loved the wooden set up. perfectly set up, with views of the sea from every window.
Staff was very friendly. sometimes the breakfast seemed a little cramped, vis-a-vis space but there was so much going right, you don't feel like complaining.
the little bar adjoining was quite delightful - very friendly locals.
Internet sucked, but in such a place, it was a good excuse to disconnect anyways.
Overall loved staying there. would like to go back for sure.

Room Tip: suites facing the lighthouse are the best
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mschats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EIleanIarmain, Manager at Hotel Eilean Iarmain, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2016

Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted you had a wonderful stay with us here at Eilean Iarmain. Given our remote area our wifi access can be a little temperamental however one of the joys we have here is that you can disconnect from the outside world and take in all the glorious views.
We love to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and hope to see you back again soon!
An dòchas gum faic sinn a dh’aithghearr sibh!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2016

The setting is idyllic, and the outside appearance is charming. Inside, the staff are very friendly and efficient, and the rooms very well fitted out, and spotlessly clean. Breakfasts were excellent, with an ample choice. We had evening meals in the bar 2 nights and the restaurant once. The bar is so busy, lively, and with a big choice of good food - a great place to be in the evening. Very sorry when our time to leave came round.

Room Tip: Room 7 was a little bit compact, but there won't be a bad one!
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EIleanIarmain, Manager at Hotel Eilean Iarmain, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2016

Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted you had a wonderful stay with us here at Eilean Iarmain. We certainly do have an idyllic setting with stunning views out to Isle Ornsay lighthouse and the distant hills of Knoydart. We love to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and hope to see you back again soon!
An dòchas gum faic sinn a dh’aithghearr sibh!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Nice ambience, very friendly staff. Room a little dated, but added to the experience. Food was excellent, served by courteous and friendly staff, made for an enjoyable experience. The adjacent bar was well stocked with the palatable local whisky, whilst colourful locals were also very friendly. My room had a lovely uninterrupted view over the loch.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icats2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EIleanIarmain, Manager at Hotel Eilean Iarmain, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2016

Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted you had a great stay with us here at Eilean Iarmain. The hotel was built in 1888 and we have retained the traditional and appealing character of Eilean Iarmain, it has highland charm and an old world atmosphere. We love to hear that you had an overall enjoyable experience and hope to see you back again soon!
An dòchas gum faic sinn a dh’aithghearr sibh!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews