We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden gem on Bute”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Isle of Bute, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

David T
1 review
“Hidden gem on Bute”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying in the cottage with our 2 young sons recently and we all had a great time. Even though the cottage only has the one bedroom the pull out bed in the lounge meant that we weren't pushed for space. We've been to Bute a number of times but only recently came across this cottage but with the lovely scenic views, closeness to Scalpsie Bay and welcoming hosts, we plan to return again.

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adsailor1
Hyannis, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“The perfect place--quiet, spectacular views, wonderful hikes-- to visit with a mate, partner, or in my case, sister!”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Great, quiet location, a few minutes' drive from the shops. Terrific hikes, especially along the southern rim. Friendly owners, fresh flowers and eggs, spectacular sunsets. We'll be back.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sunsets, wildflowers.
Liked least: Impossible to think of anything.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
29 Jul 2016
Thanks for the great review. Hope to see you both again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion M
1 review
“A Real Gem of a Cottage”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Excellent cottage. Although only one bedroom all of the rooms are spacious and beautifully presented. Cathy and Robert the owners are exceptionally helpful but don't intrude. In a quiet spot but less then 4 miles from Rothesay the cottage is surrounded by farmland and is close to the excellent beach at Scalpsay which is one mile away. There is also a Bird Hide within walking distance and some excellent walks generally

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefull location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
14 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review and we are so glad that you enjoyed staying at the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“warm comfortable cottage in lovely surroundings”
Reviewed 7 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Many thanks to Cathy (and Splodge!) for your hospitality. The cottage was so welcoming when we arrived (warm, with flowers and fresh eggs on the table). It was perfect for a couple of nights resting, going for long walks to the wonderful beach(es), and having family time together. We hope that we can come back again.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything!
Liked least: The cutlery was very restricted, so we kept on having to wash up to cope for four people. A few rugs would have been good, we like to snuggle up under a rug when watching TV, and also put a rug over a duvet.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
8 May 2016
Thanks for your lovely review and I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dgc451
Newport-on-Tay, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warmest cottage in Scotland”
Reviewed 29 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Ambrisbeg cottage more than deserves its 5-star rating. It is very warm, we stayed for 3 nights in April with a strong North wind blowing and appreciated the efficient heating, there was also a warm welcome from the owners. It provides comfortable spacious rooms and is very clean with all the comforts of home and with views across the rolling countryside that include fields, trees and bright yellow gorse. It is well positioned for trips to see wildlife and archaeology as well as the beautiful surrounding countryside. Well worth a return visit.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warmth on a cold windy but sunny weekend
Liked least: Stay was too short!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
30 Apr 2016
What a lovely review thank you so much and we're so glad you enjoyed the island.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.