We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“little bute-y!”
We have amazing views from the deck.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
We have amazing views from the deck.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
294 reviews
We have amazing views from the deck.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Rothesay, Isle of Bute, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 294 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
misspickl...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“little bute-y!”
Reviewed 2 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012

We had a lovely short break on Bute and Monro's was a lovely place to stay. It is only a ten minute walk from Rothesay to Ardbeg or a fiver in a taxi if you're heading out for dinner. Buses ran surprisingly regularly from the bottom of the road taking you to town or the North of the Island (Ettrick Bay) or to the South (Kilchatten Bay). We were over doing the West Island Way so we really appreciated the whirlpool bathtub after doing 30 miles of walking. The morning breakfast was more than enough to set us up for the day, the home baked loaf being a real highlight! The B&B itself was very modern, light and airy and even had underfloor heating in the bathroom and big fluffy towels. Joan, Andy and Lizzie were lovely people who were happy to answer our questions and give us tips on where to go.
With beautiful views of the water, a hearty breakfast, a great expanse of a garden and welcoming hosts, Munro's was altogether a cracking wee place to stay!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2012
Thanks for the great review. Glad you enjoyed your stay...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacabean
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful hospitality in a beautiful setting- we'd go back no question!”
Reviewed 2 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Munro's B & B is just a short drive from Rothesay ferry port. There is plenty of parking, and we were warmly welcomed by Andy and three boisterous black labs! Room two is a mini suite, with a wee sitting area, large kingsize bed (two twins pushed together but not uncomfortably so, probably the most convincing of any makeshift kings we've slept in!) and a nice bathroom with overbath shower and spa bath. I should mention that although the website says the bathrooms have underfloor heating, this wasn't obvious during our stay but we didn't enquire about it due to the mild weekend weather.

There was a Tv and digi-box in the sitting area. We couldn't get a reception on the Tv, but it was idly done in passing and again, we didn't ask Andy or Joan about it because we were more than happy sitting in the communal living room downstairs with its wood burning fire and huge array of books (bring your own wine too, nice touch and glasses are provided!)

The views from our bedroom, and also from the conservatory eating area are unrivalled in Rothesay. I got up early to see the sun rising over Loch Striven and the Firth of Clyde and I have no regrets over my lack of long lie- you can't buy that view.

Andy gave some good tips for eating in Rothesay, and we took a walk along to the village. I think the estimate of "about a mile" was optimistic, to get into civilisation you're looking at about a mile and a half but it's a pretty walk along the shore so no great strain. There are taxis around if you didn't want to walk back after a heavy meal, or in the dark.

Breakfast at Munro's was of a very high standard. Per-ordering means your fry up is delivered to your table almost as soon as you arrive, with the options of cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt and home baked bread. There is fresh orange juice on hand, and hot tea or fresh coffee. Very, very enjoyable and both left clean plates both mornings!

Joan and Andy are more than happy to stop, chat, and make you feel very welcome. We wouldn't hesitate in returning to Munro's.

Travelling group: 11
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2012
Hi,
Thanks for the great review. Sorry about the underfloor heating issue. It's timed to come on automatically but the clock must have gone awry. We've sorted it.
We've found that switching the TV and digibox off and on at the plug resets it if there's a signal issue. Technology!
Look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Regards
Andy & Joan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlehne S
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First class B & B with superb views”
Reviewed 31 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Just spent two nights at this superb bed and breakfast. We had room 6 which was very large with a wet room and a bay window which overlooked the bay. Joan and Andy were very welcoming. Breakfast was served in the conservatory with amazing views out to the sea. Would definately recommend this to friends.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2012
Hi,

Thanks for the excellent review. A clean sweep of 5's is always gratifying. Come back anytime!

Best

Andy & Joan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine2...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“First Class and truely deserves it's No1 rating”
Reviewed 28 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Just back from an awesome 2 day stay at this wonderful B&B. We received a very warm welcome and were taken to our fabulous spacious room with a four poster bed and wonderful sea views. Breakfast was delicious and served in the huge conservatory taking in the amazing surroundings. The B&B was spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and in a wonderful elevated position overlooking the bay. The owners didnt seem to mind that we turned up on mountain bikes having left our car on the mainland and were most accomodating allowing us to leave our luggage to be pick up late afternoon enroute to the ferry. Would strongly recommend a visit ASAP.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2012
Hi,
What a lovely review. A 5/5 review is what we strive for. Look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best

Andy & Joan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wandering...
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B with friendly hospitable hosts”
Reviewed 26 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Stayed one night at this lovely B&B, and although it was very brief it was also very enjoyable.
Owners are very friendly and welcoming and the cooked breakfast (taken in an east facing conservatory with amazing views over the rooftops to the sea) was absolutely delicious. My egg had the most orange yolk I've ever seen, so I'm guessing it came from some happy, free roaming local hen.
Three beautiful big black labradors and a log burning stove complete the heaven. We were in room 1, which has no view except the car park, but is scrupulously clean, nicely furnished quiet and comfortable with a perfectly decent en suite shower and wc.
There's a pretty little garden with a sea facing deck, a fish pond, and enough off street parking for all the guests.
Good position just north of the town. In short a lovely pace with charming owners and highly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2012
Hi,

Thanks for the wonderful review. The egg was indeed a local free range chicken - she roams our garden with her 2 pals and they give us about 3 eggs a day at the moment.
Good to meet you. If you are ever back this way we'd love to offer you one of our sea view rooms. Larger and with added, erm.. sea views

Best,

Andy & Joan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$394
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing