We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Homely in a pleasingly grand way”
other traveller has booked this property
We have amazing views from the deck.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
We have amazing views from the deck.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
294 reviews
We have amazing views from the deck.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Rothesay, Isle of Bute, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 294 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Couplecul...
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Thinking a bottle of wine will solve all problems”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
4
people found this review helpful

We booked a sea view room chosen of their website to be told on arrival that the room was un available due to a leak in the shower tray( which the owner informed us happened 3 days ago ) We were given a small room overlooking the messy garden and flat felt roof.
After some thought suggested that could we use the sea view room to sleep but shower in the other room. Only to be told that this was impossible because of the hole in the floor. We came to terms with this and accepted the second room. Then another contact from the owners offering a bottle of wine along with £ 15 compensation, we refused the wine. We settled in to the second room and went out for dinner. Whilst having our meal & trying to forget the disappointment of the room we received a text from the owners saying that they had covered the whole up & we could use the second room to shower in as previously suggested. However to our total shock & horror they had gone into our room and moved all our personal belongings and put them into the sea view room. We were only 10 mins away as they knew so we could of easily done this ourselves.
In all our years of travelling we have never experienced this before and when we mentioned this to other b&b owners & hoteliers they also were absolutely horrified.
The owners apologised however seemed oblivious to the total invasion of our privacy.

Value Rooms
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2016
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We had hoped to have had the shower room fixed by the time you arrived but in fact it is only just finished today because of the complexity of the fault.
Our only aim taking you up on your suggestion and putting you in the room you had booked was to remedy the situation. You were obviously very disappointed by not getting the seaview room so we went into overdrive to reverse our earlier decision.
We are sorry that we offended you by moving your suitcases but felt that this would smooth the transition to the new room. When we do room tidies for guests staying more than a single night we obviously have access and we tidy up belongings. This has never been an issue before. However we acknowledge your distress and we obviously made a bad judgement call in an effort to do our best for you.
Good luck with your property prospecting on Bute.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanhanbb
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Homely in a pleasingly grand way”
Reviewed 16 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Stayed 4 nights in my perfect type of room - a small one with a double bed and sea view. The real draw are the big sitting room with real fire, and for me particularly the conservatory breakfast room and the breakfasts. The room is a light filled oasis with a jaw dropping view of the sea laid out before you, the position of the house on a hill making it breathtaking. Delicious fresh fruit and yogurt each day then cooked breakfast. The owners could not be nicer. Will definitely come again.

Visit was for: Business
Travelling group: Business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Outliving
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Return visit with Family - Easter 2016.”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Another very nice, friendly, relaxing return visit to a special family place. As always, great personal service from Andy & Joan, non intrusive, but always available if required.
For peace & quiet with a view, this is hard to beat.
To eat, it's a short walk or readily available taxi into town to choose from a variety of good restaurants.
We'll return again.

Rooms Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gavin h
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Long weekend away”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Fantastic warm welcome, beautiful surroundings, accommodation and breakfast second to none. Can't wait to come back and visit. House was stunning as were the sea views. Home made bread at breakfast was the icing on the cake. Andy and Joan were very attentive, friendly and professional hosts. We will be back for the bread making cook school soon! Highly recommended.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margo G
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hosts”
Reviewed 26 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A warm welcome from Andy and Joan awaits you at Munros. We booked 1 nigh whilst over on the Island visiting friends.

Room 6 on the ground floor has amazing views across the bay as well as a large ensuite.

Wifi is available the breakfast was plentiful with cereals juices home made bread and fresh cooked breakfast.

Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing