We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star food 5 star venue 5 star service”

The Boat House at Cameron House
Ranked #10 of 26 Restaurants in Balloch
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 2 April 2018

just back today full meal experience setting service total top notch burger mussels kids burger fantastic

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank alanlivy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CameronHouseLL, Manager at The Boat House at Cameron House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for your post. It is wonderful to read that all aspects of your visit to The Boathouse were enjoyable.
We look forward to welcoming you back for more great memories in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,015)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

Superb views over Loch Lomond in this spacious Boat House Restaurant by the Marina in the grounds of Cameron House. Staff were attentive and ensured we were served quickly. Good choice for Sunday lunch and lovely wines. We will definitely come again and highly recommend this lovely restaurant. At the moment the road past the front of Cameron House is closed because of recent fire but there is a diversion diversion behind and well worth the rather narrow road which only takes a moment to traverse and opens out into spacious grounds with beautiful walks and views.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GlasgowPoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CameronHouseLL, Manager at The Boat House at Cameron House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read that you had such a enjoyable Easter Sunday Lunch in the Boathouse. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Visited tonight and expected a much better service than received. As the venue is in the grounds of Cameron House we expected a high standard of service and food. We can honestly say this was not what we received. Service was average, jackets not taken napkins left on table not place on lap, asked for lemon for water which took more than 15 mins to arrive after water and drinks arrived. Ordered pizza and fish tacos. Fish tacos consisted of two fish gourgons and a little salad at £19 wasn't at all special in fact I could have made it better myself for a lot less. The pizza was not even supermarket quality toppings minimal and base thin and too crispy. We ordered hand cut chips and although the quality was fair the price at £4 was a disgrace for approx 10 chips in a silver dish. Visited the toilets of which 4 of the ladies toilet cubical where dirty.

I understand that Cameron House is closed at this time however the signage to get to the restaurant was extremely poor for arrival and departure.

Don't see us returning.

Thank kjraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CameronHouseLL, Manager at The Boat House at Cameron House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your recent visit to The Boathouse.
I am most disheartened to read that you had such a poor experience, we usually pride ourselves on a far higher standard of service, food and cleanliness. I have ensured these shortfalls are highlighted to both the Head Chef and Restaurant Manager , your comment surrounding the signage has also been noted and will be reviewed.

I do hope we might be able to welcome you back in the future and provide you with an experience far more in keeping with our usual offering.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

Visited on a recent trip seeing family in Glasgow.

The setting is superb - right on the shores of Loch Lomond. I imagine sitting outside in the summer months would be fab.

The restaurant itself is lovely. Well decorated and comfortable. Staff were pleasant and attentive and the food was good too.

They have a wood fired pizza oven which made good pizzas and all the food was freshly made.

Very inexpensive also. Would recommend.

Thank Warren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CameronHouseLL, Manager at The Boat House at Cameron House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your visit to the Boathouse where we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

We booked a 1hr cruise on the Celtic Warrior followed by lunch in the boat House. As usual in Scotland the weather didn't oblige but we thoroughly enjoyed our day. Great views of the loch and surrounding countryside.
Followed it up with lunch in the Boathouse afterwards. We had the prix fixe menu and were absolutely stuffed. Quality food, pleasant staff, relaxed atmosphere and a window seat with loch view. We'll be back!

Thank DREW R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CameronHouseLL, Manager at The Boat House at Cameron House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a TripAdvisor Review. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your cruise and lunch, despite the typical Scottish weather! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boat House at Cameron House also viewed

Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Boat House at Cameron House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing