We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,548)
Filter reviews
1,548 results
Traveller rating
816
495
147
48
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
816
495
147
48
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesburgerhaggisloch lomondthe pubwest highland wayaber cottagecullen skinkfish and chipsmain buildingconic hilllovely roomgreat foodbar areabuffet styleopen firesuperior room
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 1,548 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed one night here and it was lovely. When we arrived we were met by a very friendly lady at reception and she very kindly gave us an upgrade on our room. Our room had its own area to sit out on looking out over Loch Lomond. The room was lovely including a tv at the end of the bath which was a nice touch. We had a meal at the restaurant and it was delicious! The portions were huge! Lovely place to stay for a relaxing trip.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Just spent 2 nights there. We have been a few times before, and it never disappoints. Room was beautiful. Food is excellent and the staff are top notch.
We usually go this time of year, and every year it gets better. My only small gripe, is the change to the bar area. They have put more tables in, obviously to accommodate more diners, but have removed the older tables. Now all the tables look exactly the same, like soldiers on parade. It has taken a little of the charm away. No big thing, but I did like the old style better.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gus m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

Tue 20 Mar 2018, 1230, x4

Beautiful sunny cloudless sky, perfect for a boat-trip out on the Loch, and a chance to use Oak Tree's new jetty... (before the taxis/ferries take over!!!)

Warm and sunny-enough to sit outside, with astro-turf grass, and excellent friendly service.

4 mains, a couple of coffees, and a couple of beers...

A great place for lunch, great service, great food - I'll be back!!!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

We were deeply disappointed with our visit to this hotel and will not be returning.

The family suite is located on the first floor of the cottage. Both windows in both rooms were extremely low down and not locked with no key to lock them. These windows also opened very wide with no catch to prevent them opening too much. My three year old could reach both windows and was able to open these himself. In the blink of an eye he could have fallen from either of these windows. The second room with the single beds also had access to the main door and again my three year old could easily reach and unlock the door, giving him access to a flight of stairs and the outside. With these serious safety concerns we had no choice but to bring him in to the bed with my husband and I to guarantee he would be safe that night. I do not feel this room is designed with families of young children in mind and should be called a family suite, merely because it is spacious. We paid extra for a room that is not suitable for young children and were greatly mislead.

In addition to this our stay was also ruined as a large group of adults were staying either below or in the room next to us. This large party returned at 11pm and continued to stay up partying into the small hours of the morning. We were subjected to shouting, singing and a vibrating room for many hours, waking, upsetting and distressing my young children throughout the night. This was highly inconsiderate of the hotel to place a family in such close proximity to a large party.

What should have been a relaxing overnight resulted in a miserable weekend for us all, with a lack of sleep all due to the poor management of the hotel. We paid £47.50 over the price of our itison voucher (a Christmas gift) and expected that the extra charge would result in a more comfortable stay, but this was not the case. I will not be returning.

These concerns were also emailed to the hotel with the promise of a response from the hotel owner and a month later we are still waiting for this response.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Emma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed just one night in one of the cottages. Great nights stay, but unless you are an avid walker not much else to do on this side of the loch. We had amazing views if the lake from our room. The layout if the cottage was lovely,very clean and modern ,we had a television in our bathroom which was very entertaining. We had a lovely walk all along side of the loch some great views. The restaurant was very busy and quite commercial, it was a nice stay but would have preferred a little more intimacy. Staff were really busy with dinner's and didn't pay much attention to residents.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews