We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Located in a small town”
Review of Winnock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Winnock Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Winnock Hotel is in the center of a little town called Drymen, located just outside Glasgow. We stayed for two nights as part of a CIE Tour of Scotland. The hotel is decorated with plaid through out. We had a nice room but closed our window when we could hear the noise from the kitchen. Comfortable bed, pillows and a nice hot shower.
We had a buffet breakfast each morning which had a nice selection of items.
Service and food at dinner was good.

Room Tip: Do not get one over the bar or dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trainbook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 1,114 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2017

Just home after a lovely break at the Winnock Hotel who fitted us in at short notice due to a shambolic experience at another hotel. Linda who we thought must be the manager was a godsend and nothing was to much bother for her, she later informed us she was just a receptionist trust me she is much more, excellent customer service skills and nothing is too much bother. The team who work here are a credit to the owners, always smiling and keen to help and certainly not short-staffed which was another thing that stood out.
The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable and although at the back of the property the noise never bothered us at all.
The evening meals were superb, compliments to the chef but sadly my only little gripe was the breakfasts were not as good,,,, potato scones were rock hard and bacon overdone although I did ask on 2nd day for them to cook both directly before serving which they did, it did however take a lot longer than others to get breakfast but was worth the wait,
There was entertainment on the Friday which was great and never a queue at the bar.
Would I stay here again..... definitely .... thank you Linda and team x

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

We arrived at this beautiful 18th century coaching inn.
Checkin was very quick and we were shown to our ground floor room, we did walk outside to get there quicker.
Our evening meal was very good, breakfast also good.
The beds were very comfortable.
The problems arrived when we wanted to open a window because the radiator wouldn't turn off.
They were both mouldy and very dirty, covered with secondary glazing. It was impossible to let fresh air into the room.
The bathroom floor was permanently wet because the expel air was broken, it had no working inside it.
It was a very uncomfortable 4days.
The staff were all very friendly and worked extremely hard.
It really is such a shame to have a lovely hotel with such terrible accommodation.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

We stayed here on a tour and found the hotel to be a bit quirky but definitely Scotland quaint. We came in late due to a road detour but the staff could not have been nicer. Our original room was a bit noisy due to the loud music in the bar area so we were given another room farther away, The room was much quieter, comfortable and very clean. The first day we needed a road map to get to the dining room but other than that we found the hotel very nice. The staff was so sweet and very helpful. They greeted us each time we passed the desk and were always there if we needed help. The food in the dining room was very good and the wait staff tried their best to accommodate our needs.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ntflady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

The coach trip from South Wales was long, not brilliant, but when we eventually arrived at the Winnock Hotel it was great. Very helpful and pleasant staff. Food was good and plentiful and entertainment excellent. It was warm and very comfortable. We would love to visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HL007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drymen
0.3 km away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
13.9 km away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
11.2 km away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
12.3 km away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
24.8 km away
Kilcreggan Hotel
Kilcreggan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilcreggan
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winnock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winnock Hotel

Address: The Square, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0BL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
Price Range: RM339 - RM918 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Winnock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winnock Hotel dates back to the late 1700’s and throughout history has always offered lodging to weary travelers passing through by Loch Lomond and the Trossachs areas.Formerly a coaching inn, The Winnock hotel has been lovingly restored and tastefully extended to its present day form. Offering 73 bedrooms, cosy lounges; many with open log fires, a characterful restaurant, function room and public lounge bar, the hotel has many things in common with its historic counterpart with one striking similarity - friendly, welcoming service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winnock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winnock Hotel Drymen, Loch Lomond And The Trossachs National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing