We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy Cottage 3 day stay"”
other travellers have booked this property
Ballat Smithy Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ballat Smithy Cottage
Cottage front Sitting room, kitchen behind.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Ballat Smithy Cottage
Cottage front
Sitting room, kitchen behind.
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bathroom
Sitting room
Campsie Fells viewed from the cottage
Cottage in foreground left, Loch Lomond at the top
Loch Lomond looking north
The 'Carse of Stirling', the Trossachs behind
Loch Lomond from Duncryne Hill
Sunlight catches the Endrick Water
Winter landscape from behind the cottage
Always welcoming
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
62deborah...
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy Cottage 3 day stay"”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We used Ballat Smithy Cottage as a base for the first 3 days of the West Highland Way (which we completed - yes all 97 miles on foot!!!) It was very convenient to all our stops and starts( we did use a car for that) and absolutely wonderful to return to after a long days hike - plenty of hot water and a comfy bed to sink into. It is also very well placed to visit Glasgow /Edinburgh/ Perth or Stirling for the day too and does not lack anything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: cosy livingroom
Liked least: toilet valve but it was fixed!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasia X
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

What a wonderful place to stay:) the cottage is beautiful, cozy, well equipped and has a very homely feel to it. Very comfortable beds too:) Anne has kindly left us a "welcome pack" in the fridge which we enjoyed a lot:) fabulous place to stay and do little trips during the daytime to nearby lake and castles. The scenery is truly breathtaking and the drive a very pleasant one. Board games for the relaxing evenings were definitely a hit with us:) It was our first but definitely not the last trip to Scotland. We highly recommend the Ballat Smithy Cottage!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
“Perfect cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just returned home from a lovely week staying in ballast smithy cottage. Very good value for money . We found the cottage very comfortable and were surprised at all the little extras :- eg welcome food pack, wifi, DVDs and books, charger adapter plug, vanity unit in the main bedroom., washing machine and detergent..
We found the beds very comfortable, the bathroom very clean and instant hot water whenever we wanted it.
The cottage is situated in an ideal position for exploring Loch Lomond and the Trossachs and also in easy reach for Stirling, Glasgow and the Highlands. We enjoyed exploring the little villages nearby and recommend Drymen for eating out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely clean,cosy and well equipped
Liked least: Nothing -perfect
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2015
Thank you very much for your comments, we're very glad you enjoyed your stay. We like to think it's all the little extras that make this cottage special!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunobean...
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fab cottage and a great, midge free location, for serious mountain walking!”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Great cottage with very tasty welcome pack and a great location for mountain walking with many peaks less than an hours drive away. Stirling also v close for a day out if it's wet! Also good pubs in Drymen and Balmaha less than 15 mins drive. Only criticism is the patchy wifi! We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2015
Thank you for your comments, we're very glad you enjoyed your stay. Our WiFi provision has now been improved, and it's now available throughout the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne W
1 review
“Lovely little place”
Reviewed 6 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Just had 2 weeks while working close
The cottage is a little gem everything you need while away from home the area is stunning and the owner is a lovely women Anne
Will deffo return if I'm up in that area again might just have a family holiday up there just too stay in the cottage

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing