We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
Reviewed 31 October 2017

Recently stayed at the hotel for my 50th birthday; we had a great time, the staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were good size and clean, the Salmon Leap restaurant was fantastic and the lounge area very relaxing. We definitely look forward to another stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 1,276 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

Booked this hotel for my brothers wedding. My brother and his new wife also along with serval other family members, friends and bridal party. Prior to arrival serval of us had called to ask about early check in, in order to get dressed and ready for wedding. We had been told to call back as they where unsure of what rooms they would have available. We called the day before and they where still unable to help or tell us if we could check in early or even have access to a temporary room to get changed. On arrival to the hotel another wedding guest was trying to check in early in order to get ready for wedding. The receptionist was very unprofessional and unhelpful with her tone. She told the guest he could get changed in the gents toilets. Furthermore the receptionist assured us she would pass on the information to the night receptionist that all of us where at the wedding and would be late check ins. Arriving at the hotel after wedding night receptionist said at handover we had been marked as ‘ no shows’ and hadn’t been passed on any information about us being at a wedding. Thankfully they hadn’t given our rooms away which could of happened. The staff where very unhelpful or professional. The receptionist we spoke to in the morning was unwilling to pass on the complaint to the manager. Which has resulted in my brother sending an email. There where several unhappy customers with the service of hotel complaining in the morning some wedding guests and some not. They definitely need to train their staff on basic manners and customer service. Very poor service.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ssarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Had booked this hotel via .myhotelbreak.com for myself and my husband, and when we arrived were told they had no booking for us and that .myhotelbreak.com must have forgotten to send confirmation but they we see what they could do, they then handed us a key and said they would have to get room ready, fair enough we thought however we sat watching others check in and go directly to rooms for over an hour it was at this time we noticed others sitting with cases like ourselves only to find out they were in the exact same position no room booked and they had been there for over 2 hours 'waiting for a room to be cleaned'. By then alarm bells were ringing so I phoned .myhotelbreak.com and spoke to Holly directly who sent me the confirmation email and phoned hotel for them to say' oh we do have the booking.' certainly not what we or any other couple where told. Anyway after over an hour sitting my husband asked 'will room be ready soon' for reception to say 'yes they are ready' What! so no one could tell us or anyone else this. We preceded down to basement level (they put us all there) and no amount of bleach or air fresheners could cover the smell of dampness. Returning to the reception I asked to be moved.... they did show us another room which had leather pealed of chairs rickety windows and no way to hold the two single together because catch was broken (we booked a double) As I went back to inform husband of my worries... my worries were increased by the queue of people at reception complaining.... no hot water, broken light fitments... TV not working... no heating (they offered one couple a blow heater). It was like a scene from Fawlty Towers.... Stayed here a year ago and certainly was not like this..... How could this fall in standards occur in one year?
We decided at this point there was no way we were staying here, and Holly at .myhotelbreak.com arranged another hotel nearby and a world of difference... would we stay here again.. short answer is No.

Room Tip: Go Elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

Prior to arriving at hotel, I tried to book a table in the restaurant for dinner and it took a few days - had a problem getting through but eventually did on 3rd day! On arrival, we were greeted well and facilities etc were explained to us. On our way to our room we could see that the hotel was needing some decor and maintenance as the fire door was sticking and there were bits of decor not looking great! In our room the curtains were hanging off the rail and ;eft a big gap, I managed to use a hair clip to keep them together and hold the bits up onto the pelmet. There were various bits of decor issues in the room too but the bathroom was the best feature as it had been recently decorated and had a blind that closed! The only issue was the shower went hot and cold all the time. Dinner and breakfast was nice, however the staff clearly hadn't had any proper waitress training and one in particular, seemed to be really stressed but the restaurant only had 5 tables of people. I didn't use the leisure facilities so I couldn't comment on those. A little bit of customer service training, maintenance and some proper management should sort these issues out as it wasn't a bad hotel, just needing some improvements.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Two nights of a wonderful stay.. I read other reviews RE midgies on curtains.. Your in Scotland..it's the local bug! Room was lovely I think on booking though you'll have to specify double bed as we had a twin. However had butterfly chicken for dinner yummy! Tottie scones bit tough though at breakfast but well organised staff. Even the cleaners in the wee pink tunics bent over backwards for us. There was a wedding on and we were warned about noise but dj didn't show so couldn't comment on noise we would've joined in anyway. Barman is a character. Made everyone smile. Plenty of shampoo etc in toilet amazing view of back of hotel room 12. Our room wasn't ready till 2 so if you are booking in I would check to see what time it will be ready for you. We just went to the bar and had lunch soup n sandwich lovely. Pool amazing it was very quiet so we made most of steam room and jacuzzi. Towels are provided and gym looks well equipped. Will Def be back here to stay. Lovely hotel and lovely quaint wee village

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank carolannemcdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drymen
0.3 km away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,114 reviews
14.1 km away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
11.1 km away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 km away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
12.5 km away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
14.6 km away
The Abbotsford Hotel
The Abbotsford Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dumbarton
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: 22 Main Street | Loch Lomond, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0BG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
Price Range: RM258 - RM692 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel Drymen
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel And Spa
Buchanan Arms Hotel Leisure
Buchanan Arms Drymen
Buchanan Arms Hotel Drymen
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club Drymen, Loch Lomond And The Trossachs National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing