We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of The Commodore

The Commodore
Ranked #10 of 67 Restaurants in Helensburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Embracing the rural charm of its tranquil, scenic setting, The Commodore offers a modern twist on traditional country pub dining. As well as offering a beer garden for enjoying summertime dining, the cosy dining room is filled with rustic original features and toasty fires for warming winter dining. Championing favourite British recipes, guests can enjoy evenings devoted to the inn's freshly-baked pies, as well as gourmet roast dinners and seasonal cocktail mixes.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Really good place. Nice staff, good location. :) one of my fave places in Helensburgh to go to. Love it

Thank Storm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Commodore, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Hi Storm, thank you for your 5 star rating and review. We are delighted to here we are one of your favourites! Looking forward to seeing you again, from all the team at The Commodore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

We met friends here while visiting the area. We had a lovely meal served by a really good waiter called Justin. We were surprised to learn he had only been there 3 weeks because he was so good.

The only negative was the lukewarm coffee, which we did mention, but we were still charged for it with no offer to give us replacements.

Thank PWILBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Commodore, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Hi Pwilby, thank you for your review. Thank you for your kind comments on our new addition to the team. He will be chuffed to read this! I can only apoligise that nothing was done to resolve your coffees which were not up to standard, as usually we would resolve it straight away. Thanks again and hope to see you soon. From all at the Commodore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

My wife and I were staying at the Travel Lodge at The Commodore to visit our daughter who is based in Helensburgh. When we first arrived we enjoyed a few drinks in the bar and were made to feel very welcome. Having dined at Vintage Inns before we felt confident we would enjoy a meal here too. It was Friday evening and quite busy but were still able to be offered a table of our choice. The waitress was friendly and efficient and looked after us really well all night. I have to mention the duck supper special and the sea bream special that we ordered. Both of these dishes were excellent. The steak was also cooked really well and we had clean plates all round. The pudding taster platter was great and just enough to share and we particularly enjoyed Fizz Friday with discounted Prosecco. As we were chatting and catching up we enjoyed a few more drinks and really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere at the pub and did not feel rushed or pressured by staff. Added to this the great 20% discount with my AA membership code made the bill very reasonable too. We enjoyed a few more drinks on the Saturday and again all the staff were friendly and said hello. A great place to eat and drink and I am sure we will be back again !!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johnm7ue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Commodore, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hi John. Thank you for taking the time to leave your detailed, positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed the specials that were on offer. They seem to be extremely popular! Hope to see both yourself and your wife back here very soon. Kind regards, Team Commodore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

It's a good overall place to come, it's cozy, clean and usually has quite a good atmosphere.

So we came in for food, it was pretty quite at the time and as you do; we got a seat went to the bar and ordered some drinks then back to the restaurant side where your suppose to get service, 'key word the is "suppose too" get service'.

They told us if we ordered that the typical waiting time would be about half an hour, good stuff, we can deal with that.

So in the mean time we had a drink, obviously had to keep going to the bar as the waitress was obviously to busy either on her or playing candy crush as her eyes didn't seem to break contact with the phone.

So about an hour had passed, obviously by this point we was about 3 pints in, plenty of exercise but no food, so we went up again; and I'm not sure that our order was ever passed to the kitchen, it came out within 20 minute of me asking. The food was great as always, but service is definitely heading down hill.

How can this be resolved??

Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Commodore, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

We regret that you weren't satisfied with your experience. We hope you will give us another chance. Please call us at 01436 676924 so we can work towards a solution. Thank you and have a great day.
Kind Regards
Robert Paterson
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

Visited last weekend just for a couple of drinks and although quite expensive the place is fantastic. Great friendly staff, rural style pub that seems to do great food although we did not have any. Would definitely recommend it.

Thank bigsteve2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Commodore, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Hi Bigsteve2017, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience!
Kind Regards
Robert and the team at the Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Commodore also viewed

Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Commodore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing