We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Hideaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
90 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 90 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

LWLJP
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Hideaway”
Reviewed 13 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fabulous stay at The Strone and wished it had been available for longer. Collette personally welcomed us and had gone to a great deal of trouble lighting beautifully scented candles and putting a bottle of fizz on ice beside the bath - very nice touches. The place was spotless and the decor is beautiful. One immediately feels at home and able to relax and even our 2 dogs were made to feel welcome. There were no "rules" which was nice as most doggie owners take great care to respect holiday homes but often find a list of "dos and don'ts" which can be off-putting. Our dogs were relaxed right from the word go so that's a sign of a good vibe! We had no trouble finding everything we needed including the wine cooler, a good size fridge,separate freezer, top of the range coffee machine and a lovely welcome pack too. The other fabulous thing is the heating is so comfortable - none of the usual finding it going off early evening and the temperature plummeting. This is left on for your comfort and you just adjust the thermostat accordingly. We've stayed in some really lovely self catering properties but the welcome here really gives it the edge. The owners have clearly tried to think of everything. 5 stars from us. We didn't want to leave. Thank you.

Date of stay: March 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and welcome, home from home
Liked least: Having to leave early!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda R
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous house in a great location - ideal for exploring Loch Lomond”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The house is in a lovely position within the village of Luss and yet affords you privacy with garden and off street parking. It is beautifully furnished providing every comfort and so well equipped - it exceeded our expectations.
Don't hesitate - book it!

Date of stay: February 2014
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhomacek
Bologna, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best weekend accommodation ever!”
Reviewed 20 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous weekend at the Strone. We are a group of 4 couples who meet very year in January. As this is our 16th year, we have experienced the highs and lows of the self catering market in central Scotland. The Strone is the best house we have stayed in. We were welcomed by Collette who went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed. There was a welcome hamper and a bottle of pink bubbly. Each room is sumptuously furnished but with a very homely feel. The master bedroom is nothing short of amazing, with its 4 poster bed and en suite which has to be seen to be believed.
The kitchen is incredibly well equipped -it even has a wine cooler.
The weather wasn't very kind to us but we were more than happy to dig in and enjoy our lovely surroundings.
We think we have, at last, found our perfect place.

Date of stay: January 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The quality of the furnishings and fittings
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim_Thoms...
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pride of Scotland”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Truly outstanding accommodation at one of the most picturesque places in Scotland. Welcoming second to none, and nothing too much trouble. Felt at home straight away (incuding the dogs! ). Defininitely plan to come back again.

Date of stay: November 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of facilities and warmth of welcome
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chellbobs
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic stay at the strone!!!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Thank you for sharing such a beautiful home with us! Everything was perfect from the moment we arrived, finding a complimentary food hamper and champagne on ice waiting for us! The house is extremely spacious and well designed! The decor and furnishings are finished to a luxurious standard and are a perfect mix of old meets new, making it a true home from home! The kitchen has every appliance and gadget imaginable! The lounge was relaxing and inviting with a log burning fire, huge tv and lots of comfirtable sofa's! The social areas are all centrally located and great for spending time with family and friends! There are 4 bedrooms all well decorated and spotlessly clean located away from the social areas ensuribg privacy! The master bedroom is the icing on the cake and was truly amazing!

The outside area is spacious and secure and is great for children and pets! Unfortunately the weather wasn't great during our stay so we couldn't enjoy the BBQ area or use the provided equipment! There is extensive private parking, which could easily fit 5 cars!

Local amenities are great, with a quaint and inviting cafe just a minute walk away and the local pub practically on the door step! Both well worth a visit! There are various walks and activities all in the local area!

I would highly recommend staying at the strone and guarentee you'll be in for a treat:-) happy holidays!!!

Date of stay: October 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.