We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Winnock Hotel(Drymen)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$187
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$88
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Churches House Hotel(Dunblane)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lochend Chalets(Port of Menteith)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (720)
Filter reviews
720 results
Traveller rating
416
201
66
21
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
416
201
66
21
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar areadining roomsconeslovely hotelgreat foodlambmain coursemusselstroutbeautiful settingan overnight stayon arrivaldressing roomclassic roomcooked breakfastfirst classburger
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 720 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Were here for 2 Nights in may, Lake menteith is a quiet place, charming room and friendly staff. We rented a car, and drove to Ben Lommond National park, using the hotel as a base. Can only recommend this Place.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Signe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

My group stopped for two nights at this most lovely hotel. The amenities are first-class. The room was so comfortable, and the staff was wonderfully accommodating. We had great meals at the restaurant, including a group dinner for 25 that they handled with ease. It's peaceful and beautiful, and you can walk mere feeet to grab a boat to Inchmahome to see the priory ruins and walk the beautiful grounds. A true treat.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room, lakeside, and sit out on the patio at sunset.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KRoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

Starter: West Coast Mussel and Clam Chowder with fresh Baked Bread £8
Main:Fish ‘n’ Chips”
Battered sustainable Icelandic Haddock with Garden Peas, Tartare Sauce and Skinny Fries £13

Chowder was tasteless.

Fish n chips batter was SO greasy. Fish inside succulent.

Great staff and beautiful views in a cosy setting.

Only let down was the food unfortunately.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Metravels2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our two-night stay in Room #1, which has views of the Lake and more room than one could imagine. Think "His-and-hers closets" each with their own shelves, a gargantuan bathroom with two sink areas, a dressing room, and an enormous bedroom with King Bed (side-by-side twins) overlooking Lake Menteith. Although we stayed next to water every night in Scotland (rivers, a Loch and a Firth), this was the most beautiful/most peaceful of all. Their common areas are large and the service so very friendly, great bar. Their dinner menu looks fine, but the dishes tend to disappoint. Also at breakfast, we ordered waffles and they were wonderfully crispy, with syrup on side. The next morning we repeated the order, and they came with the syrup already poured on them, soggy. In defence of the hotel, they have a 'captive audience' for meals and charge extremely reasonable prices; they are not trying to take advantage of their guests. One more thing: some reviews lament the backroads necessary to reach the Hotel, but we drove hundreds of miles on Scottish roads, and the roads to Menteith are quite easy and safe by Scottish standards.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColoTraveler2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Stayed in the hotel for 2 nights but were surprised to discover the dinner menu was almost the same as the lunch menu and not the dinner menu we had seen advertised. One dinner was OK but the other - a lamb dish consisting of loin of lamb and belly came with only belly . I queried this as soon as I realised that neither my husband nor I had any loin to be assured that the dish was as it should be. Puzzled I finished the dish - neither of us enjoying the very fatty belly lamb. I then rechecked the menu and realised that we should have had both loin and belly cut of meat . Again I queried to be told eventually that the chef thought he had served slices of loin. This is not good enough. and certainly neither of us enjoyed the dish as it was served. Breakfast should have the fruit salad prepared - not left with skins of melon and pineapple on The bedroom was comfortable but would have preferred a kettle instead of the fancy coffee machine so that other drinks such as herbal teas could have been made.
Prices high compared to other similar hotels. Certainly I could not recommend this hotel and will not return

Room Tip: room with loch views
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank brodgarDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews